Lion of the Blogosphere

Vainglory in the NY Times

On Sunday, the game Vainglory was featured in the NY Times Bits blog:

Touch-based games, said Jens Hilgers, the founder and chairman of ESL, which operates large e-sports tournaments around the world, have “the potential for being a broader e-sport because there’s a larger audience that wants to play games there.”

One of the first games to test that proposition is Vainglory, which came out late last year for iPhones and iPads and just recently for Android devices.

I’ve been playing Vainglory for months. Sadly, I’ve come to the conclusion that I suck at it. Maybe I’m too old.

Unlike with football, I bet that no Vainglory team has ever lost a player because another player punched him in the face and broke his jaw.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

August 12, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Posted in Nerdy stuff

69 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like Geno was trying to squirm his way out of the deal like a POS. Good for him that he got his jaw realigned. Pay your debt, dick, you make 1.4 mil a year.


    August 12, 2015 at 11:03 pm

  2. What is your typical day like, now that you are retired? More video games than before?

    Dave Pinsen

    August 13, 2015 at 5:13 am

  3. Vainglory sounds like a term that both SWPLs and proles could use to describe themselves, when reaching the apex of their status markers.


    August 13, 2015 at 10:28 am

  4. OT: Tiger Mom author’s daughter profiled in her college magazine:

    “Like many rising sophomores, Lulu is unsure about her career or even her concentration—art history, philosophy, and social studies are all potential choices.”

    Good bet she ends up going to law school.


    August 13, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    • Her older sister actually seems pretty normal.


      August 13, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    • Yes, law school or a masters degree in some fluff subject, where she then lands a lucrative, phony, Catherine Rampell, media position. But I think she lacks the verbosity, because she’s part Asian, which means, she will perform poorly either in the legal field or in the media.


      August 14, 2015 at 9:56 am

      • I wouldn’t say that law school is fluff.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        August 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

      • That was a very ignorant comment about law practice. There’s no reason an Asian woman wouldn’t do just fine, even if she lacks a certain alacrity with words. The reason is that so much of what gets billed for in law offices is stuff like, “objection, overbroad,” or, “objection, work product.” The notion that writing well is crucial to success in law practice is the greatest misconception in the industry. Of course, I’m assuming a pre-2008 landscape. Nowadays an asian woman would have a much better life as an optometrist, anyway.


        August 14, 2015 at 7:06 pm

      • Slightly O/T – It appears with the rate of multiculti that is happening in Meriprolestan, it it set to become an Elitist Turkey – 3rd World, Latin American, hybrid, nation, as if it was a sci-fi universe set in 2100.

        I look at these Mongolified Turkish guys, who could be the future sons/the new elites of White America, in the backdrop of the mulatto types, who represent the average commoner, with lower IQs, lower impulse control and lower incomes.


        August 15, 2015 at 10:34 am

      • Drubbed – Amy Chua with her credentials, is a bad researcher and a bad writer, hence the lack of East Asians in Academia, despite their over-representation in college attendance, especially at the more prestigious institutions.


        August 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

  5. Playing computer games is stupid. I mean, you can be working and making money, working out and building muscle or reading a book and getting smarter. Why waist time on stupid games and get a carpal tunnel? Totally stupid. I see niggers playing computer games all the time.


    August 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    • Yes, you are absolutely right.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

      • Actually, some video games are supposed to be good for your reflexes. But that’s probably more true of old school games like Millipede.

        Dave Pinsen

        August 15, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    • All life is absolutely pointless, so why not have fun doing things you enjoy?

      Biologists spend years classifying plants, and to what end? There are millions upon millions of ugly brown ferns that have latin names. That’s equally if not more pointless compared to playing video games if you ask me.

      Lots of young men playing video games means they aren’t out causing positive harm in their communities.

      I’m not unbiased here, I play video games a couple of hours a day, but I still find time to socialize, work out, succeed in graduate school, *and* reply to your comments.

      It’s no different than people watching boring baseball games all day.


      August 13, 2015 at 5:40 pm

      • There were a few, famous, womanizing, geniuses/intellectuals in the past. Albert Einstein and James Joyce come to mind. Scholarly and sexual pursuits, are 2 synchronous pastimes of high IQ individuals.

        One thing Lion forgot to mention, is that self actualization doesn’t happen without sex.


        August 13, 2015 at 10:09 pm

      • Sure, playing video games is better than robbing people. The point of life is to serve G-d and gain knowledge.


        August 13, 2015 at 10:31 pm

      • “Sure, playing video games is better than robbing people. The point of life is to serve G-d and gain knowledge”

        And THIS is why I said Yakov should be president. Since his primary allegiance is not to the USA, can we at least try to get him into Israeli politics so he can one day be prime minister? While I appreciate the value of having someone at intelligent as him in the trades, I have to say that it’s a shame someone with such solid values and a sharp intellect isn’t in a job where he could influence society more (ANY society!)


        August 14, 2015 at 9:21 am

      • JS, you are wrong. Not everything in life is connected to sex. Self actualization has nothing to do with it. It’s genius, in whatever field, that usually goes together with high sex drive.


        August 14, 2015 at 9:49 am

      • Also, Yakov, all video games are not created equally in terms of exercising the brain.

        Your argument against video games is pretty much identical to the argument against reading fiction that used to be trotted out back around when the novel was invented. People still do trot out that argument, in fact.


        August 14, 2015 at 11:10 am

      • @karlub

        Fine, I’m willing to modify my position and exclude smart games, but I just don’t see people play those.


        August 14, 2015 at 12:01 pm

      • @Maryk

        It stands to reason and actual facts that there are smart and good people in the trades. Your occupation affects your mind and a trade is a pretty straight forward, honest thing that gives you independence and doesn’t pervert your healthy thinking. This is good for a person, unlike accounting, law or politics which is bad for you. I was doing a job for a chap and I asked him:

        – What’s your trade?
        – I don’t like telling people my occupation. – he goes.
        – Why is that? You are a criminal?
        – No, I’m a lawer.

        Yep, he is rightly ashamed of himself. Shows that he still has some scruples.

        I know pretty serious Talmudic scholars that are also pretty serious tradesmen. People must have a very low feeling of self-worth to be ashamed of a trade.


        August 14, 2015 at 3:57 pm

      • Personally I’ve gained a lot of knowledge about european history by playing Paradox Interactive games like Crusader Kings 2, Europa Universalis 4 and Victoria 2.

        With the thoughts you'd be thinkin

        August 14, 2015 at 11:36 pm

      • @With the thoughts you’d be thinkin

        How do you know that is the real history? When discussing European history are you going to say : ‘I know it from Paradox Interactive’.


        August 16, 2015 at 12:46 am

    • Vhat is this decadent Vainglory of which you speak? In Soviet Russia, no worker is vain, and all glory is for the Motherland!


      August 13, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    • My ADHD kid prefers computer games and game-related videos to anything else — I think it lets him focus in on a clearly defined environment with clearly defined goals. I don’t feel that I have the moral authority to close off this option for him, because there’s nothing that one can strive for or commit oneself to in the real world today — even the religion of art and literature (my parents’ religion) is dead. All that’s left is crappy fake jobs that only women can pretend to care about, and crappy fake sexiness and crappy fake toughness. I think that we’re all expecting a general social collapse that will turn virtual factional violence into reality. Everyone’s semi-consciously preparing for this. Little kids are preparing for it with computer game simulations — even Minecraft is preparation for social collapse. Grownups are preparing for it with Crossfit and MMA training. Maybe it’s just everyone’s wishful thinking — if only we really could give ourselves wholeheartedly to violent struggle against the other tribe, then life would MEAN something. But everyone was doing a whole lot of analogous wishful thinking before WWI, too, and their wishes came true.


      August 13, 2015 at 10:18 pm

      • I have ADHD and boxing and running kept me sane when I was a kid. Same was true for my ADHD son. So instead of fantasizing about WW3, go fight in the ring. What goals mate? Video are stupid, they are a stupid fantasy for stupid or depressed or tired people.

        Tons of realy good jobs out there. Trump and I and millions of people in between have good jobs. I was working in East New York for a few days changing commercial package units and I felt how fortunate I am to have a great career, not even a job. You know, mate, a lot of niggers would have loved my job over there, but they don’t have any job and I felt sympathy for those poor niggers and spikes over there. And no woman can do my job, or at least I’ve never seen or heard of one. So why isn’t it a good job? I made around 2,500 clean in hand this week and I’m relaxed, my hyperactivity and aggression have been expended running and schlepping, I’m chilling with a glass of good wine. I wish all those niggers could have a job half as good.

        You should know that if you don’t have a purpose in life you hit an evolutionary dead end. You are in a bad way, mate.

        Look here, I have a crazy customer who is as crazy as I’m. So we together designed a crazy dehumidification system for his house. So we were sitting in his house on a hot and humid NYC evening eating stake, that he had prepared, with expensive wine, because the chap is rich, and the humidity was 29% and room temperature was 77. So we could turn his dining room into a nice evening somewhere in the Negev desert, if we wanted to. Mates, his house is the most comfortable house I’ve ever been to. I’m thinking of designing and patenting my own system, but the problem is I don’t have enough educaion and knowledge. This is a bad job?


        August 14, 2015 at 1:17 am

      • Liberals take note: Here’s another lucrative trade that NAMs could never perform effectively. Pest Control.

        Most and [] are rude, and they aren’t intelligent enough to engage in many of the trades, that require common sense thinking, which, surprisingly (or unsurprisingly in the HBD world) lack on their part. I have a friend who owns a pest control company, and he hired a few of these NAMs, who didn’t know how to get rid of pests, that remind them of themselves. Spraying a few crevices and throwing pellets on the floor aren’t enough to get rid of roaches and mices. These guys don’t have high future time orientation to know how to inspect and seal off any entry points, so these critters can’t come into the premise, which they did not do, or did a half ass job.


        August 14, 2015 at 9:48 am

      • Please stop using mean-spirited language in your comments. Also, while blacks are rude, Hispanics are a lot friendlier.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        August 14, 2015 at 11:26 am

      • * mice


        August 14, 2015 at 9:49 am

      • ‘ All that’s left is crappy fake jobs that only women can pretend to care about, and crappy fake sexiness and crappy fake toughness.’

        I’ve addressed the job already. Now the problem with sexiness is all this stupid male grooming. It’s fake and phony. The only time I look in the mirror is to shave my head bold and trim my mustache. A man should not be looking in the mirror too much unless he is a faggot. My bald head tells you: here I’m as I’m, no faking no pretending. You can like me the way I’m or not – it’s up to you and I don’t care.

        As for toughness, well yeah you know if you are for real. If you fight in the ring, there is a good chance that you can see for yourself if you are. I think joining the French foreign legion or the Israeli army for the Jewish chaps is an excellent thing to toughen yourself up. But boxing is always good.

        You go fight a nigger and you’ll be amazed how strong some of them are. When I was at Apex, we had a nigger that was Tyson’s sparring partner. Mates, like four or five of us couldn’t take that nigger down. That was one amazing nigger! I took the EPA test for him, hope he is doing well, was a really nice chap. Funny though, the guy was taken to the bookings for arguing with cops at the turnstile. He claimed he’d paid the fare and they said he had not. He missed class because of that anf his probation officer gave him hard time because of it. Niggers are funny this way, I mean a nice chap like this why he jumps over a turnstile? I think he just did it on an impulse. I used to lend him money, like $20, and he always paid back, so he is very good in my book.


        August 14, 2015 at 11:08 am

      • Also, while blacks are rude, Hispanics are a lot friendlier.

        Yes, but Caribbean Hispanics can be as rude as blacks.

        Side note: Please check your email in a few days, as I will be asking you about photo equipment.


        August 14, 2015 at 11:51 am

      • I recommend Olympus.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        August 14, 2015 at 12:07 pm

      • Yakov, thanks for your lengthy responses — it’s close to impossible for people from professional-class backgrounds to end up in jobs like yours, though; as for boxing, I addressed that — professional-class people are doing Crossfit and BJJ to train for a Mad Max future. Anyway, I’m constantly hassling my kid to work out with some of the lighter dumbbells I have in my house, and I’ve been lifting weights for forty years myself. As for goals — eccentric individuals can always devise mystical, theoretical, and fantastic goals for themselves (computer games provide some fantastic goals, and traditional Judaism is another deeply engaging multi-level virtual reality game); real societal goals, such as crushing the neighboring tribe (which requires having a lot of kids within a secure patriarchal family-structure, and making big machines that actually engage in visible smashing, chopping, and racing-around behavior), are lacking.


        August 14, 2015 at 12:30 pm

      • Pest control? Hahaha! I had bed bugs in my basement and obviously I’m not gonna pay money to anyone to get rid of them. It was a major job! I went to a do-it-yourself place goy instructions and supplies from a nice Spanish guy and lemme tell you this job is not for NAMs no way! These bugs are relentless you realy come to understand the expression don’t bug me or don’t be a pest. I got rid of them, but I would never give e this job to a NAM. However, like with any job there are things that a NAMS can do in this field. Nobody gets rid of the bugs in restaurants, for example, so the NAMs can come every week and spray all the corners and cracks just to keep the bugs from coming out till next week. This is what they do and it works for most part. Once it stops being a bug an becomes a feature, higher IQ NAMs can do it and it’s a good job for them, or at least that’s what I think.


        August 14, 2015 at 12:45 pm

      • Yes, pest control. Are you shocked? Many apartments in NYC are infested with vermin, including bed bugs. People need professional servicing, so their sacred living quarters are free of them, where they have a piece of mind. Buying mouse traps and bug sprays at the supermarket/hardware store, doesn’t solve the problem long term.


        August 14, 2015 at 1:29 pm

      • A follow-up thought — Men want to contribute to the survival of their societies when these are coherent societies, societies that make sense (as Puritan Anglo-American society did or traditional Jewish society still does) by participating in their easily identifiable rhythms and conforming to their easily recognizable patterns (a conformity that channels personal energy into the social organism). Traditional Judaism simultaneously provides individual people with satisfying fantasy-lives and operates as a program for social metabolism; a coherent society organizes itself around the playing of this deeply engaging virtual reality game. So, I don’t mean to suggest that the desire to work together with other members of our society to crush the neighboring tribe is the only thing that can motivate us. The idea of working together with other members of our society to perpetuate our society, when it is a coherent society, one that makes sense, can motivate us. But because we in fact live in an incoherent, nonsensical society, we flee into computer games.


        August 14, 2015 at 2:20 pm

      • @Garr
        ‘it’s close to impossible for people from professional-class backgrounds to end up in jobs like yours, though’.

        Fine, but than don’t complain that there are no jobs, no women and no meaning in life because you have a chip on your shoulders. There is plenty of all this for regular chaps who dont hold themselves to be something special because they think of themselves as being ‘professional class’.

        I will agree that my father, who was an hydrologist, had a better and a more interesting job than me, but I wouldn’t say it for every engineer out there. This whole’ professional class’ thing is nonsense. There is nothing special about most of them. I do admire and respect real engineers, though, and those are better type of chaps usually, at least that’s been my experience.


        August 14, 2015 at 3:19 pm

      • back @ Yakov — Read more carefully, “mate”. Don’t swagger so much. It’s just possible that you can’t beat up everyone in the room.


        August 14, 2015 at 7:02 pm

      • ‘The idea of working together with other members of our society to perpetuate our society, when it is a coherent society, one that makes sense, can motivate us. But because we in fact live in an incoherent, nonsensical society, we flee into computer games.’

        In general, this is a true thought, if there ever was one.


        August 14, 2015 at 7:40 pm

      • Fake toughness and Yakov go hand in hand, watch your mouth.

        Mad Hatter

        August 14, 2015 at 10:56 pm

    • I find it relieves anxiety and in that respect VGs are safer than drugs, alcohol, or other compulsive behaviors.

      slithy toves

      August 14, 2015 at 12:19 pm

  6. Trump at least knows his audience:


    August 13, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    • Trump at least knows his audience

      Didn’t Trump want to deport the Iron Sheik and Andre the Giant?


      August 13, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    • Another wank post: WWF is fake, as with all celebrity wrestling.


      August 14, 2015 at 9:50 am

    • And who watches wrestling, JS?

      As I said, Trump knows his audience.


      August 14, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    • Sanders gets it.

      Trump has obviously said a lot about open borders. And sure, he’s the tallest guy in a group of midgets….but he seems like a normal Republican in a lot of ways: cut taxes etc. So, it seems like Trump wants a moat around a shitpile. Sanders wants to make the pile into a thriving castle before he puts a moat around it.


      August 14, 2015 at 2:25 pm

      • Sanders seems sounder than Clinton, like most anyone actually except maybe El Jeb, but he gave an awful impression at that speech he never got to hold. A pushover.


        August 14, 2015 at 7:30 pm

      • Sanders wants to make the pile into a thriving castle before he puts a moat around it.

        Sanders has the sequence backward.

        So another 10-20 million is good to put on the health care, free college etc rolls?? Along with $12-15 minimum wage????.

        All this along with existing entitlements and debt???

        Good plan.


        August 14, 2015 at 10:04 pm

      • Good plan.

        You forgot raising taxes.

        That tends to raise revenue, ace.


        August 15, 2015 at 3:18 pm

  7. What about Scott Cawthon’s Five Night’s Freddy’s series? A lone programmer makes millions in software and, now, movie right’ copyright fees. Apparently Cawthon’s great marketing triumph debunks the Lion’s hypothesis programming is a road to nowhere.

    Is Lion’s advice still relevant to today’s value transference-creation environment?

    The Undiscovered Jew

    August 13, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    • My niece love love loves Five Night’s at Freddy’s. She’s 6 years old.

      I couldn’t comprehend it at all. It seems sort of like a peekaboo jumpscare game or something, but I’m not sure.

      The longer I watched her play the more confused I got.


      August 14, 2015 at 11:19 am

    • I couldn’t comprehend it at all. It seems sort of like a peekaboo jumpscare game or something, but I’m not sure.

      It’s a jumpscare game about killer Chuckie Cheese-like animatronics. Unless one is quite resistant to jumpscares it is suspenseful for most adults because where the animatronics attack is very random.

      The Undiscovered Jew

      August 15, 2015 at 8:05 pm

  8. O/T – Here some news about Staten Island, and this time a firefighter becomes a target of bullets, after responding to an arson set by an ex-con:

    One would assume a hot headed guido would be the perpetrator.

    Even SI’s guidos aren’t immune to NAM miscreants!


    August 14, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    • I thought the perp would be a guido, but it turns out that he is black.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 14, 2015 at 12:48 pm

      • Speaking as a “hot headed guido” myself, I’m sorry that both of you guys are disappointed. But I’m sure there will be a “guido crime story” for you to report on soon enough!

        (………just joking here!)


        August 14, 2015 at 2:19 pm

      • Has Lion watched The Strain at all? It is a Guillermo del Toro created TV series on FX about a virus (actually it ends up being a parasite) that kills people and turns them in to Vampires. It is a complicated and many respects absurd story with a conspiracy element thrown in to boot, but the ground zero of the outbreak and setting of the story is New York city and in S2 we find out the one place where the outbreak is successfully being fought is Staten Island, whose Guido led government (unlike the rest of the city, which is plagued by Politically Correct paralysis) is using authoritarian tactics to keep any potentially infected people from traveling in to their territory. They’ve even gone so far as to impale the corpses of dead victims on poles along the waterfront where the Ferry comes in as “warning” to any potential victims of how Staten Island treats anybody who tries to bring their sickness in to their turf. I found interesting that a mainstream TV show (especially one as otherwise ridiculous as The Strain- I mean, why is the Staten Island Ferry still providing regular service weeks in to a Vampire Apocalypse anyway?) would include an obvious nod to the real life ethnic attitudes that differentiate the various neighborhoods of NY. And one of the first times I’ve ever seen the out group hostility of a white ethnic community portrayed in a positive light on TV.

        Perez HBD

        August 14, 2015 at 3:23 pm

      • When was the last time a Guido did this in real life? You guys have warped view of reality.


        August 14, 2015 at 3:34 pm

      • Perez – Guidos are pretty much docile now. We aren’t living in the days, where Italians would start taking out their baseball bats, if a black steps an inch, into their territory.

        Everyone knows blacks need strict discipline, which are not required for others. Even Hispanics are no longer as troublesome. I’ve walked into some of the seedier areas of Manhattan (some of them do still exists), and the bulk of the idle losers that loiter around the playing grounds around sunset, when everyone else is dining, or out and about, are ~100% black.


        August 15, 2015 at 12:23 pm

  9. @Garr

    :oring tribe (which requires having a lot of kids within a secure patriarchal family-structure, and making big machines that actually engage in visible smashing, chopping, and racing-around behavior), are lacking.’

    And why is that? America is in danger, white race is in danger, if you want – Christianity is persecuted and in danger. What better causes do you need to galvanize you?


    August 14, 2015 at 3:32 pm

  10. Manhattan panhandler observation: black skells take a more aggressive approach, going up to people and asking for money. White skells use an indirect approach, sitting on the sidewalk with signs outlining their woes (“Starving and homeless”), but not going up to people.
    Any deep meaning to this?



    August 14, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • The White beggars are self actualizing panhandlers. Many of them, also have nice pets that look clean and well fed. You can’t say the same about the blacks asking for money, who are a nuisance, anywhere.

      This should freak you out:

      Black Beggar chokes 53-year-old man until he is UNCONSCIOUS and then steals his wallet and backpack in New York’s Central Park


      August 14, 2015 at 6:37 pm

      • Why should it freak out anybody living in this city? The poor are affected by their condition and are often not pleasant to deal with, but it’s our obligation to help them. I’m a beleiver in forced labor and flogging to make the lazy work, but until it’s done I’m not refusing to help anyone who says he is hungry. This is a very serious business because a man may die if he doesn’t eat. There is a story in the Talmud of a man who was approached by a hungry begggar, he told the beggar to wait until he would unload his animal and when he did the beggar had already died from hunger. So the Talmud teaches that if a man asks for food we don’t check if he needs it, but give him assistance without asking questions. I think the best thing is to go into a store and buy a sandwich and a drink, this way you know the money goes for food.


        August 16, 2015 at 12:40 am

      • Yakov, blacks brought all the problems to themselves. A HBD viewpoint is that blacks simply can’t adapt to a modern society, without any major hiccups. Not only do blacks have poor management skills, they can’t get along with others, because of the first reason.


        August 16, 2015 at 10:05 am

      • I agree with this view, but it has no relevance when dealing with a hungry person. We can’t let him starve. Also, someone brought them here, so you can’t blame the blacks for things they can’t help.


        August 16, 2015 at 12:03 pm

    • I dunno. In the kosher DD that I go to there is a elderly black chap sitting quietly outside and a crazy black lady with a shopping cart sitting inside. Very nice of DD not to drive them out. These folks usually don’t ask for anything, but many people give them change, I do. You can see them getting stuff for themselves. Maybe because that franchise is owned by Muslims and they are prohibited from driving beggars out? I dunno. I guess if there were 20 of them the place would go out of business, but with these two it’s OK. It’s reasonable to have a couple of beggars per DD, or at least this is what I think. Like you go buy a dozen donuts and give two to the beggars, this is good education for kids that come along.


      August 14, 2015 at 6:47 pm

      • What is a “DD”?


        August 15, 2015 at 10:37 am

      • Dunkin Donuts


        August 15, 2015 at 6:52 pm

      • Dunken Donuts.


        August 15, 2015 at 8:58 pm

    • Across the street from the Berkeley campus, I would often cross paths with an old black guy who would yell, “gimme a dolla!” After awhile, I started pre-empting him, yelling, “gimme fi dolla!” Once he laughed and said, “mr. Bush got all the money.” Later, I got polar bear hunted on the same block, and always wondered if the old guy put out a contract on me. Maybe if I’d just given him a few bucks, I’d still have my original central incisor.


      August 14, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Comments are closed.

