Lion of the Blogosphere

Morning Consult post-debate poll

This is a poll of voters who watched the debate, which is a subset of voters who will vote on election day, however I suspect the non-debate watchers are even more likely to support Trump than those who watched.

The results are good news for Trump, good news for Carly Fiorina, bad news for everyone else, including Ben Carson who people still like but whose support dropped after the debate.

The poll also has especially bad news for Christie, Paul and Bush who have the highest unfavorable ratings. No surprise about Paul. I’m sort of surprised that Christie is viewed so unfavorably—I like him—but I think that Christie should drop out at this point rather than push on. His day in the sun has passed.

Bush, who is supposed to be the frontrunner according to experts, doesn’t look like much of a frontrunner with high unfavorable ratings and support in the single digits.

If Fiorina polls above 10% in other polls, I predict that we will see the elites in the Republican Party and the elite donors throw their support to her in order to have a challenger to Trump. I think that’s a very bad thing if they do that, but I predict that’s what they will do.

* * *

I thought that Huckabee and Christie did well in the debate, but apparently no on else thought that. (Actually, a few pundits agreed with me about Christie, but Christie is not connecting with very many voters).

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

September 18, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Posted in Politics

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I liked Christie’s “shut up with what you’re talking about” style, too. I also thought Rubio came across pretty well. I mean, he’s one of my least favorite candidates and I would never vote for him in a million years, but his boyish charm comes across okay on TV. He feels like something of a cut-rate vice-presidential candidate, but to be honest all the rest of these chuckleheads have major negatives going against them, such that Rubio is starting to feel like the safe choice. If I were an establishment Republican élite type, I’d be trying to make Rubio/Kasich happen.

    Carly Fiorina is a good debater, but I find it impossible to imagine that anybody actually wants to vote for her for president of the United States. The Fiorina boomlet has me shaking my head.

    Greg Pandatshang

    September 18, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    • “his boyish charm ”

      That’s OK for a Senator, but President is a man’s job, not a job for a little boy.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      September 18, 2015 at 4:44 pm

      • I agree, but the rest of these candidates all suck at being presidential candidates. Except for Trump: he’s in a special category. And Kasich, but he doesn’t count. Rubio is not a good candidate, but he might be the one with the least going against him (trying to look at it from a halfway mainstream perspective … personally, I think he’s atrocious).

        Greg Pandatshang

        September 19, 2015 at 12:11 am

  2. I thought Christie did OK, and Huckabee came across well. But as I’ve commented before, if Huckabee gets the nomination it’s all over; his having been a Southern Baptist pastor will be twisted into a caricature of Huck leading a cult of toothless hillbillies handling snakes, speaking in tongues, and who-know-what-else.

    Bush looks more and more pathetic as this goes on. He’s all butt hurt about Trump observing that being married to a Mexican makes him more sympathetic to illegal immigrants. That’s like saying someone is supportive of gay rights because they have a gay son. Duh.

    And LOTB, I think you’re right about Fiorina and the GOP establishment. I listen to Michael Medved from time to time, and he’s a pretty accurate barometer of GOP establishment sentiment. He had Fiorina on his show a while back, and while speaking about immigration, she observed that she did no think a fence on the southern border was necessary or a good idea. Medved intoned reverently “oh, good for you.” So sure, it’s just one issue, but it seems Fiorina is in favor of an “all sizzle, no steak” approach to border security. Until then, I thought she had some interesting things to say, but we all have our deal-breakers and being soft on immigration is mine.

    Sgt. Joe Friday

    September 18, 2015 at 4:32 pm

  3. The results are good news for Trump, good news for Carly Fiorina, bad news for everyone else, including Ben Carson who people still like but whose support dropped after the debate.

    For Fiorina, not good enough.

    The Undiscovered Jew

    September 18, 2015 at 6:51 pm

  4. Fiorina’s memorized “Lady Liberty” speech was really creepy and made me feel contemptuous towards her.

    It was 100% lame, but definitely something I can see appealing to idiots.


    September 18, 2015 at 7:46 pm

  5. I agree with you about Christie. When he gets the airtime, he can sound good and this debate he barged in enough to rack up 13 minutes of speaking time, which considering the number of candidates, was a pretty good amount.

    But no, his day is done, Ann Coulter has found a new love in Donald Trump.

    Mike Street Station

    September 19, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Comments are closed.

