Lion of the Blogosphere

White socks: how you know you’re old

When I was a kid, wearing anything but white socks with sneakers was laughed at and mocked.

Today the exact opposite is true.

* * *

Sneakers also used to be white: to match the socks, I guess. I can’t even find white sneakers anymore. Last sneakers I bought, I had to settle for gray with orange trim; it was the least loud sneaker I could find.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

October 3, 2015 at 11:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

41 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nah. The colorful shoe/sock combos is a bitch thing. Real men wear white socks


    October 3, 2015 at 12:00 pm

  2. We really are living in a post-modern world — at least at the gym. I see ever color and every height.


    October 3, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    • “We really are living in a post-modern world — at least at the gym. I see ever color and every height.”


      but seriously, what city are you in? in nyc or other “cool” cities, i bet mostly people wear ankle socks at most.


      October 3, 2015 at 2:09 pm

  3. White socks with shirts and sandals are the worst.



    October 3, 2015 at 1:20 pm

  4. White socks with shorts and sandals are the worst.



    October 3, 2015 at 1:21 pm

  5. Those neon coloured running shoes look absurd–like clown shoes. I think they have been popularized by black sports figures.


    October 3, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    • I think they are a safety issue if you run in dusk or twilight or early morning. I don’t wear loud clothes ever except for running shoes or soccer cleats, which I prefer to be as bright as possible.


      October 4, 2015 at 9:17 am

  6. black socks started in the early 90s with the fab five.


    October 3, 2015 at 2:13 pm

    • Who are the fab five? I only know the Fab Four.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      October 3, 2015 at 5:39 pm

      • Michigan’s basketball team in 1992 had five freshman starters. They were dubbed the “fab five”. They lost to Duke in the national championship game that year. Chris Weber is possibly the most famous one from this group.

        Jokah Macpherson

        October 3, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      • There’s a Beatles tribute band, known as the Fab 5, with an Italian American Guido (born and raised in NYC), who impersonates Paul McCartney.


        October 4, 2015 at 3:29 pm

  7. I know a 16-year-old girl who also wears gray sneakers with orange trim. One day she had them with orange shoe laces and an orange bra, but I wasn’t in a position where I could compliment her fashion sense.


    October 3, 2015 at 2:14 pm

  8. interesting youtube comment:

    “Michael Jordan was the first famous player to wear baggie shorts. He got the idea from Jams (an 80s style), Jams got the idea from surfers and Seattle area grunge rockers. But, I think the surfers were first. The Beach Boys said in the ’60s, “You’ll see ’em wearing their baggies…” ”

    blacks stealing their style from whites once again.


    October 3, 2015 at 2:15 pm

    • Another youtube comment:

      “This fashion still lives on among young white men shopping in Walmart stores.”

      Not meant as a compliment.


      October 3, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  9. When I was in high school I switched from jockeys to boxer briefs. My dad said, “I can’t believe my son is wearing ‘old man’ drawers.” I thought, “No. Boxers were old man drawers when you were a kid. Now jockeys are old man drawers.”

    I can’t stand loud sneakers. The only people who would wear them are kids, blacks and people who shop at walmart.


    October 3, 2015 at 2:21 pm

  10. I’m reading this thread at a Carl’s Jr. just south of San Francisco, where the patrons are mostly east asian and filipino. Right across from me are two chinese guys, about 17, wat hing a video together. Both are wearing white socks. One of them is wearing the traditional white adidas shells with black spripes. A chinese woman just walked into the restroom – she has white socks too. Then there’s an older asian 3-some, early ’30’s, all wearing white socks with shorts. But I agree white socks are out among white people. The only exceptions are golfers. Even there, the trend is to those truncated socks that just barely reach your ankle bone. By the way, this year’s big fashion trend for women is green or teal running shoes.


    October 3, 2015 at 7:08 pm

  11. Most good running shoes come in loud colors. I’m talking about neon and bright colors. Which is kind of annoying for me because I can only wear them when I am running. They clash with my clothes which are not loud at all.

    In NYC guys in their early 20s wear more colors and brighter colors than I wore when I was that age. I’m talking about neon shirts with green pants and blue sneakers!


    October 3, 2015 at 8:17 pm

  12. The sock fashion of young ladies competing in equestrian sports around here is a bit odd. Basically, they never wear matching socks. They wear mismatched printed boot socks which go to top of calf. When competing, the socks are covered up by their tall boots but while hanging around the show they’ll wear sandals or sneakers with the sock mismatch on full display.


    October 3, 2015 at 9:35 pm

  13. I dunno, never really paid attention, but the first pumas I got in 1973 were black and yellow. I don’t remember the socks, but the cat was yellow. I remember the cat. I mean, like who cares about the socks? I think you can get them with the cat to match the sneakers, but this is for girls. I don’t mean the cat, the cat is bisexual, I mean the matching.


    October 3, 2015 at 9:43 pm

  14. Black socks with sandals: how you know you’re German (or as we said back in the day, West German).


    October 3, 2015 at 10:44 pm

  15. I always wondered if you read/post on autoadmit, Lion. Good to know that you do.

    jcoors (@jcoors)

    October 4, 2015 at 3:32 am

    • What is this “autoadmit”? It’s xoxohth!

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      October 4, 2015 at 9:32 am

      • It’s a site with topics that some of your readers are fond of commenting. Good examples are the Ivy Leagues and elite career tracks.


        October 6, 2015 at 3:30 pm

  16. Lion, thought you’d like this:

    jcoors (@jcoors)

    October 4, 2015 at 4:56 am

  17. White socks still look good if they are high quality. I wear calf length white sidi socks for cycling and adidas calf length white socks for soccer training.

    But casually or just at the gym, no.


    October 4, 2015 at 9:24 am

  18. You can still get Jack Purcells, Chuck Taylors, PF Flyers, Vans and Top Siders canvas. You can avoid the edgy look and go for the look of the Professor on Gilligan’s Island.

    October 4, 2015 at 12:51 pm

  19. Whenever I see Hispanic prison inmates on TV they always wear pulled-up white socks.

    E. Rekshun

    October 4, 2015 at 2:38 pm

  20. For the classic, douche “Ivy League” look, where some commentators here would call it “SWPL”, are the brown boaters with white socks.


    October 4, 2015 at 3:05 pm

  21. Whenever I feel the urge to exercise, I lie down until it goes away.


    October 4, 2015 at 4:14 pm

  22. Sneakers also used to be white: to match the socks, I guess. I can’t even find white sneakers anymore.

    Where do you shop, in shoe stores? White sneakers are plentiful at Amazon.

    The Undiscovered Jew

    October 4, 2015 at 4:28 pm

  23. White socks are o.k. if you actually do sports wearing those running or tennis shoes, I’d say.

    If you want to be timelessly stylish you should not wear “sneakers” outside of sports activities anyway. Real shoes are made from leather and you wear socks to match your trousers. For conservative dress, including casual you do not want to draw attention to the socks. Neither should your shoes stick out in color, rather in solid workmanship, classic or elegant shape and by being clean and shiny.
    If you aspire to dandyship you can try stuff like (dark) purple socks matching the tie.

    Even if you wear athletic shoes/sneakers in casual attire (that is, not doing actually sports and with long trousers) it cannot hurt to follow the simple rule never to draw attention to the socks, so grey/dark blue/black is usually better than white (unless you are wearing white/ish trousers.

    The “Art of manliness” blog has some style guides that tend to err on the side of being somewhat conservative and square (do not expect French insouciant elegance or Italian dashing daring) but overall solid and you’ll be better dressed than the average American/German/Brit if you heed their tips.

    nomen nescio

    October 5, 2015 at 5:12 am

  24. You’re old, if you were old enough to be in a Gun N Roses concert, back in the late 80s.

    This GNR video of “Paradise City”, has old clips of the East Village, when they were playing live at CBGB’s. I see few of the members walking down on St. Marks Place, with the Cooper Union School at the back drop. Just love those big hair gals back in the day, with their cutout sweaters, revealing their bare shoulders and bra straps. And yes, many prolish guys during that era, wore white socks with white sneakers.


    October 5, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    • Loves 80s hair!

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      October 5, 2015 at 3:47 pm

      • Today, there are no big hair ladies walking down on St. Marks Place. The main street block infested with low down East Asian eateries, and their respective demographic, which includes swarms of NYU kids, and a few remnants of what is left of its seedy past.


        October 5, 2015 at 4:09 pm

      • Big hair = quidette. LOL!


        October 5, 2015 at 7:29 pm

      • Big hair = quidette. LOL!

        Sorry, that’s guidette with a g. But a “quidette” might be a Latin term for a guidette who constantly asks “who?” when you mention famous historical figures that most people would have heard of. Ha!


        October 6, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    • Thanks, I remember it well; and I just downloaded this to my workout playlist!

      E. Rekshun

      October 5, 2015 at 4:56 pm

  25. Remember when “orthopedic shoe” was a term of derision? Sneaker designs these days make orthopedic shoes look normal by comparison.


    October 5, 2015 at 6:24 pm

  26. Fashion has jumped the shark. Nowadays kids are spending upwards of a hundred bucks to dress like hobos. Have you seen the jeans that come with rips and holes? How do they know they made errors at that factory? Are the holes too small? What about the t-shirts with screen prints that look old? How do you know they’re new? If they look old already, couldn’t you save a bundle by picking them up at a yard sale or a thrift shop? I can imagine the shock and horror that might occur if one of these trendy nightclubs accidentally admitted a hobo because they thought his old hand me down clothes were chic. Seriously, WTF are those designers doing?

    Joshua Sinistar

    October 6, 2015 at 3:40 am

  27. Paul Newman with his 1963 VW convertible Beetle, shooting an ad for Volkswagen in the late ’60s.

    Soon afterwards race car builder Jerry Eisert was enlisted to stealthily turn this little bug into a covert Corvette killer. Paul Newman’s “Indy VW” would become one of the most radical VW Bugs of its time, and a sleeper legend was born.


    October 6, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Comments are closed.

