Lion of the Blogosphere

How to watch the original Star Wars

Fans have created an unauthorized edition of Star Wars that’s the original version seen in theaters in 1977. Search Google for the “despecialized” Star Wars. Technically, it violates copyright to download and watch it. But it’s the only way to see Han Solo shoot first, or see all of the action without the CGI crap added in the current commercially available versions.

In the vidcap above, Han Solo grips his blaster underneath the table, preparing to shoot first.

* * *

It’s also possible to see the original Song of the South movie that Disney has banned because it’s now considered racist (although at the time it was considered very progressive because it had black characters when Hollywood was all-white).

It’s considered racist because the black characters are shown as being happy, instead of angry and bitter at white people.

It’s actually a pretty boring movie.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

November 22, 2015 at 9:21 am

Posted in Movies

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Technically, it violates copyright to download and watch it.”

    Do you have a cite for that? The copyright law doesn’t prohibit watching or downloading things. It does prohibit exhibiting things and uploading things and copying things. I’ve never heard of any tort for downloading.

    You vidcap includes subtitles over the image. I wonder if there’s an edition for those of us who don’t want to read subtitles and prefer to learn Rondian so we can understand the scene in its native language. The Ewoks didn’t have subtitles, did they?

    I’m surprised that Disney hasn’t released the original versions in fancy bluerays. They know it would produce many millions in revenue. Perhaps they’re busy with some other Star Wars project and they’ll get to it next year.

    My dad took me to see Song of the South when it was last released. He was very embarrassed but I didn’t understand why.


    November 22, 2015 at 10:46 am

    • “You vidcap includes subtitles over the image.”

      The subtitles were in the original 1977 movie, because Greedo speaks an incomprehensible alien language. (But one that Han Solo can understand; he is quite the linguist.)

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      November 22, 2015 at 11:22 am

  2. They actually released the original theatrical edition on DVD once back in the late 90s (or maybe early 00s). It was billed as a special edition, and contained two discs for each movie, the re-edited version on one and the theatrical version on the other, labeled as “extras,” if I remember correctly. The box is indistinguishable from another “special edition” DVD boxed set that my wife owned, so every time we put on the movie we end up sorting through a bunch of dvds to find the right one. I don’t really understand why Lucas went so bonkers about the original version (I’m guessing Disney isn’t allowed to re release the original edit per the deal of their sale), but there’s a ton of Star Wars stuff that’s nearly impossible to find nowadays, like the Christmas special, or the 80s droids and ewok cartoons.


    November 22, 2015 at 11:45 am

    • I don’t really understand why Lucas went so bonkers about the original version (I’m guessing Disney isn’t allowed to re release the original edit per the deal of their sale),

      Certainly Lucas is crazy enough to have put that into the contract which handed the rights to Star Wars over to Disney.

      I’m hoping there’s a copyright loophole Disney can invoke to release the unaltered originals – even though I can download theatrical versions from Torrent, I would still like to officially add the trilogy to the rest of my online streaming library.

      The Undiscovered Jew

      November 22, 2015 at 7:18 pm

  3. I treasure my original Star Wars videotapes. Rollicking fun, and why mess with success?


    November 22, 2015 at 3:28 pm

  4. They released the original (unedited) Star Wars on DVD back about 10 years ago. They came with both Lucas’ “correct” version and the original version. Suffice to say, I’ve never popped in the “correct” version and never will…


    November 22, 2015 at 7:14 pm

  5. Zippity do da, zippity day. My oh my what a wonderful day. Got me this feeling its coming my way…

    Prof. Woland

    November 23, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Comments are closed.

