Lion of the Blogosphere

De Blasio’s New York

Vagrants are urinating in the street, hassling passers-by for cash — and now they’ve ruined Christmas in The Bronx.

The annual outdoor Christmas tree lighting in the borough’s famed Little Italy section was canceled because the soaring panhandler population forced the sponsors to spend so much on security that there was no cash left for the celebration.

. . .

One business owner, Rosa Paciullo, who for 20 years has owned Tino’s Delicatessen with her husband, Giancarlo, said bums even used the Vincent Ciccarone Playground where the lighting was held as a public toilet.

“My daughter took her daughter to the [Ciccarone] park and a homeless guy peed in front of them. Some of them would come in and ask for money or food. It scared some of the customers away,” she added. [NY Post]

Giuliani cleaned up the city and De Blasio is allowing it to fall apart again.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

December 5, 2015 at 11:03 am

Posted in New York City

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Giuliani cleaned up the city and De Blasio is allowing it to fall apart again.”

    Yes, but it was grittier back before Giuliani and thus gave thrill seeking authors and artists a bigger sense of danger and youthful adventure. Maybe you’ll get lucky and punk will make a comeback.


    December 5, 2015 at 11:18 am

    • Never, because the cost of living in NYC is now cost prohibitive. Furthermore, the current white demographic isn’t the truly bohemian type. Many SWPLs/Hipsters will leave if their beloved neighborhood cafes/restaurants start to shut their doors.


      December 5, 2015 at 2:55 pm

      • Got a gig doing spiral duct in a new hipster restaurant. They are LOADED! I wonder how long this can last? Man, the owner has 10 places in Russia, his brother is a real estate agent and they are doing one for hipsters. They have both money and brains, amazing.


        December 5, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    • What do you really know about the punks? Most of them came from middle class backgrounds in Queens, Bronx, Brooklyn and SI. Mostly Queens. By the time they were in their 20s the city had declined, but they grew up in a nice city.


      December 5, 2015 at 6:50 pm

      • And as young adult musicians they lived in the city because it was cheap. Or at least Blondie did according to the (now on Netflix) documentary Debby Harry’s New York. Seattle was cheap in the early 90s when a bunch of musicians from all over moved there to be part of the grunge scene. I bet San Francisco was cheap during the summer of love. Inexpensive (often associated with gritty and dangerous) seems to be a common element in the creation of a new music scene in a particular city.


        December 6, 2015 at 1:16 am

  2. Homeless people should be psychologically evaluated and either institutionalized or sent to work camps. De Blasio should, too.


    December 5, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    • Sounds like a libertarian solution. Too bad so few libertarians are either sane or work for a living.

      dont call me shirley

      December 6, 2015 at 1:15 am

  3. We need a Republican. (I say this as an expat!)

    One thing someone into mathematical modelling could do is model the cycle where Republicans clean up the city enough that everyone forgets what crime is actually like and Democrats get elected again…and the cycle repeats.


    December 5, 2015 at 12:35 pm

  4. We want this. Likewise we should support BLM. Let Leftism eat itself.

    Otis the Sweaty

    December 5, 2015 at 12:35 pm

  5. Where does Blumberg fit into all of this? Did he pretty much keep the Guliani status quo?


    December 5, 2015 at 1:15 pm

  6. Bums harassing people?

    Sounds like Seattle.

    After I moved here I wondered why there is practically no outdoor, sidewalk dining or bars…

    The climate and weather here contrary to popular opinion, is exquisite and mild most of the year. Much better than European metropoles where outdoor dining and cafes are very popular and common.

    I did find a place with some tables and chairs on their sidewalk. Nobody was sitting there even though it was a lovely day. So I tried it. Within a few minutes I found out why nobody sits outside. The bums and panhandlers were begging and wouldn’t leave us in peace. Normally I’m pretty peaceful and non-confrontational with them; I know a guy who got beat up by a beggar recently… and the cops said they couldn’t do anything. But I lost my patience after the third beggar wouldn’t leave us in peace I got exasperated and yelled at him that we were trying to eat dinner and to leave us in peace. I tried to shame him, but these folks have no shame. Outdoor dining? Never again. We can’t have nice things I guess because we can’t have standards or boundaries because of some twisted concept of freedom and fairness…

    Police that can’t do anything, where the normal civil people have to duck and cower and hide from the asocial, where we have to tolerate filth and uncivilized behavior. Well that should be the motto for our leftwing cities. The parks and public areas are unsafe, unwholesome and unwelcoming. The decent people are afraid and walking on eggshells, while the bums leave trash and filth everywhere. I got into an argument with one of the leftwing denizens of this shithole. I said that I had compassion for the homeless, but for the asocial and uncivil who leave so much trash and filth around their camps I can’t understand and have contempt. The bleedy heart idiot started yelling at me and accusing me of the lack of compassion; “What would you do… if you were homeless?” I told him I’d find a church or some support institution to help me while I figured out a way to contribute to society and get on my feet. And I would not leave piles of trash everywhere and harass the public for money to buy drugs.

    No understanding between us. Totally uncivil for a tolerant bleedy heart idiot.
    This shithole ain’t my wavelength.

    When I visited my brother in a gated community in southern California, I asked why we can’t have nice public communities that are as nice, agreeable and welcoming as that? Why not? Have we lost our minds? Who gave the bums and jerks the title to run our communities?

    Thin-Skinned Masta-Beta

    December 5, 2015 at 2:47 pm

    • Believe it or not, Seattle hasn’t always been like that. Wasn’t like that in the eighties and most of the nineties but it sure is true now. Perhaps the new wealth has attracted a more aggressive panhandler.


      December 5, 2015 at 7:17 pm

  7. Did anyone ever even figure out what Guiliani did with all the homeless people?

    Lloyd Llewellyn

    December 5, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    • Does anyone care?


      December 5, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    • They had moved away to greener pastures, but now came back. I’m guessing.


      December 5, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    • They stayed in shelters. There are plenty of them. Not nice places, so when the heat was off, they went back to the streets.
      Also there are a lot of new young white idiots hanging around on the streets. Mostly they just sit quietly and don’t bother people.


      December 5, 2015 at 6:52 pm

      • Makes sense, I’ve seen quite a few old folks coming to DD to spend the night. They told me that they couldn’t stand it in the shelter or the home that they were in. Very nice of DD to let them be there. It’s pretty amazing, actually. There are a lot of good people around, or at least that’s what I think


        December 5, 2015 at 10:42 pm

  8. Now there is something weird here. If a man can take a dog to a park to urinate and defecate, why can’t a man take a leak next to his dog? This makes sense to anyone? If a cat has his litter box or is toilet trained, why aren’t the dogs? Or make them wear diapers or something. Or have a special park for them to go to. This whole thing is beastly, or at least this is what I think.


    December 5, 2015 at 5:49 pm

  9. I was sitting in Washington Square Park on a Sunday evening a month ago and was surrounded by homeless people and pot dealers. One homeless guy actually tapped grab me by the shoulder to get my attention. He offered to sell me pot. I felt unsafe and left the park.

    I have never experienced something like that in a park in lower Manhattan. Though from what I hear this was normal in the pre-Giuliani days.


    December 5, 2015 at 6:22 pm

    • Whoa!!!! I haven’t had anyone try to sell my pot since the 1990s when Dinkins was mayor. Back then, all you had to do was sit down on a park bench and wait, and eventually a black guy would come up to you and offer you a “smoke.” There was also a black guy always on the corner near Bryant Park saying “smokes smokes”.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      December 5, 2015 at 8:36 pm

      • At Apex they never stopped. Student go the bathrooms to smoke a joint, if they need one. I have a gig in Bushwick and there is pot smoke wafting around everywhere. You are living in some rarified world, mate.


        December 5, 2015 at 10:27 pm

      • Yes! “Smoke smoke” was common in Washington Square Park in the 90’s. Recently it has been a nice mix of tourists, local residents and college students. Sad that it’s going back to what it was. They can go to Tompkins Square why do they have to spoil Washington Square.

        The “crusties” and recent surge in homeless has really brought down QOL below 23rd St…


        December 6, 2015 at 8:44 am

Comments are closed.

