Lion of the Blogosphere

Rock Lobster

They’re at a party at the beach where everyone has matching towels. And then someone spots a rock lobster. (This could have happened if the party was in New Zealand.)

Most of the rest of the song they just repeat “rock lobster, rock lobster, rock lobster” over and over again.

The scenes in the video don’t have anything to do with the song, or maybe I’m just not smart enough to see the connection.

But it’s still a really cool song, and I was a big fan of the 80s cover band “Rock Lobster” which used to play every weekend at Martini Ranch in Scottsdale in the 1990s. Of course, this was one of the songs on their playlist.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

December 9, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Posted in Music videos

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first of the major bands to emerge from Athens, Ga back in the early 80s. Their music is kind of whimsical, but it’s OK.

    ice hole

    December 9, 2015 at 11:15 pm

  2. I wonder when the video was made. “Rock Lobster” was late 70s, but the video says 80s to me.

    December 9, 2015 at 11:38 pm

  3. I loved it too. This is the kind of music only white people like.


    December 9, 2015 at 11:43 pm

  4. I’m not like a big B-52’s fan or anything but this has to be one of the best rock songs ever. In fact, I think John Lennon said he got back into music when he heard them. The guitar playing is what maybe stands out most on the song (besides Fred’s whacky singing style). I think the guitar player had a really weird way of tuning his guitar or something.

    And I have always thought where Fred yells out ‘let’s rock’ and they start doing their weird jam is one of the most intense sections ever in rock music (especially the guitar playing). It’s sort of the perfect mixture of campy (because rock music had kind of become cliche by this time) and a sincere attempt to recapture the intensity from 60’s music that inspired them.


    December 9, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    • Wikipedia says the guitar is baritone tuned. The playing is part bass guitar, part rhythm guitar, and part surf guitar

      Lloyd Llewellyn

      December 10, 2015 at 12:20 pm

  5. I don’t know what to think of the B-52s.

    They’ve got some astounding natural talent. The lady singers’ voices make some really lovely harmonies …

    I enjoy their work when they let their sincerity and passion shine through.

    However a lot of their work (including Rock Lobster) has an obnoxious grating spirit of “ironic” and punk. It’s as if they take their natural gifted voices and shit on it by making something so ironic and irritating.

    Back when I was a kid I spent many hours of my youth listening to Cosmic Thing. Channel Z was the first track I liked and the reason I bought the CD. But as I listened I learned to like Roam and Topaz best.

    Anybody else remember the pleasure of the surprise of buying a record not knowing what tracks you were going to get after picking it up after hearing only one or two things on the radio?

    Thin-Skinned Masta-Beta

    December 10, 2015 at 2:20 am

  6. When I was a kid growing up in NJ I spent many many hours watching MTV when they first launched in the 1980s. And when I was living in Europe in the 1990s until 2012 I fell under the spell of eurodance and VIVA TV…

    OK my turn to share some clips….

    I’ll leave them without comment for now so you can watch and make your own impressions without my influence.

    My remarks will follow tomorrow.

    Music videos are jewels. So much artistic and cultural content distilled into a few minutes of production.

    Thin-Skinned Masta-Beta

    December 10, 2015 at 2:34 am

  7. LOTB,

    Off-topic but this is why immigration is bad for 97% of Americans:

    Our elites don’t have to deal with issues like this.

    By the way, I have some updates on the outsourcing/H1B issue from both a public accounting (myself) and computer programming (my dad) perspective. I’ll give you an update this weekend on what is going on our there in terms of globalization and how it is impacting the white-collar American worker.


    December 10, 2015 at 8:55 am

  8. One of my first concerts, mcgonigle hall, Temple U. Had to be 1984-1985. Great times. You could sit on the stage it was such a small venue


    December 10, 2015 at 4:56 pm

  9. That takes me back. I took my future wife to see the B-52’s and the Ramones play at the Philadelphia Zoo one summer in the early ’80s. Great concert.


    December 10, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Comments are closed.

