Lion of the Blogosphere

Why you should follow me on Twitter

Link to my Twitter page.

I started the Twitter page a week ago to live-tweet the Republican South Carolina debate because I was advised by readers that it’s a better way of doing it than frequently updating a blog post.

In addition to live-tweeting of important political events, I have WordPress set to automatically post a tweet whenever I publish a new post, and I will also try to tweet at least one thing every day which doesn’t make it into the blog. These extrablog tweets will usually be deep but succinct thoughts, or interesting links.

* * *

The Twitter feed is supposed to show up on the right sidebar of the blog, but apparently it doesn’t work on some people’s browsers. I have no idea why it’s buggy. It’s not like I personally programmed WordPress or the Twitter widget.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

February 22, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Although I look at people’s feeds by directly navigating there in a browser, it has been a long time since I have actually logged in to Twitter, and I may never do so again now that they are banning Gamergate people and have stacked their banning council with SJW’s including Sarkeesian.

    I think Gamergate is very important because it is a case of white males actually resisting those who want to take their culture away from them. I’m a nerd to whom sci-fi, games, etc. are very important, and the theft and ruining of those things is to me as big a crime as anything the Left has been doing. I grew up loving Star Wars and I couldn’t even bring myself to go to the new one. Imagine what they have in store for us with Blade Runner 2. It’ll be about global warming and defying Asian stereotypes. Remember the adaptation of V for Vendetta, how they changed it from a story about Anarchism vs Fascism into a commentary on George W. Bush and Islamaphobia?

    At least the anime people haven’t gone SJW…yet. Maybe the Japanese are immune.


    February 22, 2016 at 3:58 pm

  2. I have twitter, but I’ve got to learn to use it better. I subscribed to so many that it feels like firehose wrangling work. This Geriatric Gen X-er probably has to read a primer on Twitter and social media management.

    BTW I actually like Twitter but hate Facebook.

    A couple quotes I’ve read.

    “Twitter is where you tell the truth to strangers whereas Facebook is where you lie to your friends.”

    “Twitter makes you want to invite strangers to a beer; Facebook makes you want to throw beer at your friends.”

    Thin-Skinned Masta-Beta

    February 22, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    • Here’s my primer (and this goes for Lion too):

      Aim to follow several hundred accounts, but build that up gradually. Start with the accounts of people you’ve heard of. For starters, you call follow bloggers like Lion and Steve Sailer, political pundits like Ross Douthat, Michael Brendan Dougherty, etc. You can follow Donald Trump, to hear what he says first. You can also follow HBD-oriented accounts if you want, like HBD Chick, JayMan, Charles Murray, Stuart Richie, etc.

      You can follow political journalists who follow Donald Trump on the trail and tweet from their rallies and events. .

      Outside of politics & HBD, if you like to laugh, you can follow the accounts of a number of TV comedy writers who are active on Twitter. You can also follow musicians or other artists you like, etc.

      If you’re drawing a blank on this stuff, click on my Twitter handle, for starters, and scroll through the accounts I follow. You’ll probably find at least 100 that you like.

      Then, if one of those accounts retweets something interesting from one of their followers, click on that follower’s handle and see if you find more of their tweets interesting. If you do, follow them. You can always unfollow them later.

      That’s pretty much it. Twitter is what you make of it, because you decide who you follow. It’s not like Satellite TV, where you start with a package of hundreds of channels.

      Dave Pinsen

      February 22, 2016 at 6:07 pm

      • My brother-in-law just copied all the people I follow on twitter figuring that I probably had a pretty good list, so I guess that is one shortcut.

        albert magnus

        February 23, 2016 at 10:43 am

  3. Can you integrate the twitter feed into the sidebar on the right?
    I know it’s possible, i see it on other wordpress blogs all the time…


    February 22, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    • “Can you integrate the twitter feed into the sidebar on the right?”

      it shows up for me on safari, but not firefox.

      lion, i sent you an email about this.


      February 22, 2016 at 4:53 pm

      • I see it using both Chrome and Firefox.

        I have no idea why it’s not working. Maybe it’s a JavaScript thing?

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        February 22, 2016 at 4:56 pm


    February 22, 2016 at 4:12 pm

  5. In general, twitter is probably a good tool to promote your blog, but as Perturabo mentioned, it’s now going full on SJW on badthink. It’s like the censoring is run by college kids. But if you could get yourself banned, that would really promote the blog. All kinds of people would come out of the woodwork to support you.

    Imagine, victim status! Now days, that’s the American dream.

    Mike Street Station

    February 22, 2016 at 5:17 pm

  6. Sort of on-topic: Is there going to be a way that you can search keywords within your blog? Twould be handy.


    February 22, 2016 at 5:19 pm

  7. What is this “twitter’?

    E. Rekshun

    February 22, 2016 at 6:06 pm

  8. OT, video has surfaced of Joe Biden demanding no Supreme Court Appointments during presidential election years.


    February 22, 2016 at 8:09 pm

  9. Don’t be surprised when you’re banned, Stacey-McCain style, or just shadowbanned like they’ve done with Trump.

    Gilbert Ratchet

    February 22, 2016 at 8:35 pm

  10. gothamette

    February 22, 2016 at 9:09 pm

  11. I’ll bet the (former?) twitter background is from one of your paintings. If so, would you show us the complete painting?


    February 23, 2016 at 10:38 am

Comments are closed.

