Lion of the Blogosphere

The Refreshments – Banditos

In case anyone was wondering what musical group I’ve seen live in concert more times than any other, the answer is The Refreshments.

Too bad the quality of the video file sucks. There’s no high-res version of the video on YouTube.

* * *

I remember buying their CD, Fizzy Fuzzy Big and Buzzy, at a record store in Tempe, Arizona, and the girl behind the counter enthusiastically told me how great of a CD it was.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

March 17, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Music videos

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I went to ASU around the same time as you, Lion. I also bought a lot of music at Zia Records close by campus. Perchance was that the store?


    March 17, 2016 at 3:06 pm

  2. This music video dates the young LotB when he attended U. Arizona Law School. So, he was 24 years old in 1996, meaning that he’s 44 years old in the present.


    March 17, 2016 at 3:17 pm

    • Not quite correct.

      However, I was living in Arizona during the time period between 1996 when their album came out, and 1998 when they broke up. During that time, they routinely had concerts at venues in Tempe and Scottsdale.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm

      • I thought they stayed together longer than that. The Bottle and Fresh Horses must have been their last album.


        March 18, 2016 at 9:26 pm

      • Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers is still around and they still play Refreshments songs at their concerts. Alas, they seldom tour outside of the western half of the United States.

        But the original band split up in 1998.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 18, 2016 at 9:39 pm

  3. The 1990s were truly a golden age.

    Two in the Bush

    March 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    • I could punch you through the computer screen for saying that, but it would probably miss due to your 56k modem and spyware laden Gateway not processing it rapidly enough.


      March 17, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    • The best one can say about that era is that Bill Clinton looks like George Washington compared to what followed his presidency.

      The Undiscovered Jew

      March 17, 2016 at 6:22 pm

      • If I could only listen to one decade of music for rock/pop, it would be the 70’s.


        March 17, 2016 at 11:16 pm

  4. I think they’re best known as the band that did the theme song for one of my favorite TV shows, King of the Hill.

    Sgt. Joe Friday

    March 17, 2016 at 4:06 pm

    • No, they’re best known for being the second biggest band to come out of Tempe, after the Gin Blossoms.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 17, 2016 at 4:09 pm

      • Which leads to the question, why don’t the GB’s get more respect? I mostly checked out of music after ’87 but seems to me they were the only band keeping melody alive in the ’90’s. Same old story? – women loved them, but men were terrified of the lost love theme?


        March 17, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  5. LotB: I remember buying their CD

    CD, LOL! I just bought a $12 gizmo from WalMart that plugs into the cigarette lighter in my ’01 Ford Taurus and lets me play the music on my thumb drive through the FM receiver. The sound quality is excellent.

    I never heard of the Refreshments, but I did see Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers three times in the ’80s.

    E. Rekshun

    March 17, 2016 at 6:16 pm

  6. ^ And Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were the biggest band to come out of Gainesville, FL were I went to grad school in the late ’90s.

    The biggest bands to come out of my hometown, Boston, were Aerosmith, The J. Geils Band, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, and, of course, Boston.

    E. Rekshun

    March 17, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    • Sister Hazel was also out of Gainesville, right? I’ve been to see them a few times.

      Jokah Macpherson

      March 17, 2016 at 10:20 pm

    • Those may have been the biggest bands but IMHO the greatest Boston band was the Modern Lovers.

      “Put down your cigarette and act like a real girl.”

      “Stop all this weak stuff and drop out of BU.”


      March 17, 2016 at 10:37 pm

  7. 80s reunion bands still outsell almost every ’90s act. Cobain was far from the only ’90s musician who deserved to commit suicide.

    The Undiscovered Jew

    March 17, 2016 at 6:25 pm

  8. Ah, the 90’s. I think the bands I’ve seen the most times live are Cowboy Mouth and Better than Ezra.

    Jokah Macpherson

    March 17, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    • Cowboy Mouth?! You must be from south louisiana, no? I didn’t think anybody knew about them outside the gulf coast.

      Sagi Is My Guru

      March 17, 2016 at 9:31 pm

      • Well…Alabama. I saw them by chance in 8th grade and got hooked on their live shows, of course. Not sure I’d have the energy for one now. I suppose Fred is still out there somewhere banging away on the drums and exhorting the crowds.

        Jokah Macpherson

        March 17, 2016 at 10:24 pm

  9. I love the 90s rock sound:


    March 17, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    • Good song.

      Jokah Macpherson

      March 17, 2016 at 10:26 pm

  10. Went to undergrad in Charlottesville but unfortunately a few years after Dave Mathews Band made it big and so missed their days of playing all the local joints and fraternities.

    I like this song. Catchy, light-hearted and earnest. This post belongs among your others discussing Trump and the election since this is one aspect of American culture that we’re trying to save from existential danger. It’s only pop culture, but it’s ours and part of who we are. And we’re in danger of losing it all.

    Andrew E.

    March 17, 2016 at 10:12 pm

  11. Holy shit! You’re a Refreshments fan, too? I loved that band when I was in college. I loved their first two albums.


    March 18, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Comments are closed.

