Lion of the Blogosphere

I just voted

The pollworker said that 21 Republicans already voted in my ED. Last primary they said I was only the second Republican who voted, so it looks like turnout is up by a huge amount.

New York City finally started giving out little stickers that you can put on your shirt to let the world know that you voted. Arizona was doing that 25 years ago. New York City is quite a bit behind the times.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

April 19, 2016 at 10:50 am

Posted in Politics

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maddow had a funny segment on NY Republicans last night. Any experiences you’d like to share? I imagine NY and NJ Republicans as guys who walk around saying “You tawkin to me?”

    http://www.msnbc.com/rachel-maddow/watch/nutty-ny-gop-explains-yooge-trump-poll-margin-668794947770

    Hepp

    April 19, 2016 at 10:53 am

  2. “New York City finally started giving out little stickers that you can put on your shirt to let the world know that you voted. ”

    I hate those.

    It does nothing but encourage vote buying. Ice cream giveaways, free coffees, tons of nonsense swag.

    Anyone who is influenced, and has time to cash in on, those silly voting inducements is not a person with an opinion society is likely to benefit from.

    Imagine the howls if there was a free box of ammo.

    Lion of the Turambar

    April 19, 2016 at 10:58 am

  3. New York City finally started giving out little stickers that you can put on your shirt to let the world know that you voted.

    But if you wore that sticker in public some wild-eyed loony liberal might physically attack you, or at least make some snide and derogatory comment.

    Several weeks ago, I voted via mail-in ballot in the FL republican primary. I dropped my completed ballot in the outgoing mail at my office, and then received a couple of snide comments from a couple of my liberal female coworkers.

    E. Rekshun

    April 19, 2016 at 11:03 am

    • The sticker just says “Vote.” The liberal will assume I voted for Bernie.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 19, 2016 at 11:17 am

    • “But if you wore that sticker in public some wild-eyed loony liberal might physically attack you…”

      Ponytailed, testosterone-deprived yoga-mat carrying liberals tend to not be the most menacing types.

      Lewis Medlock

      April 19, 2016 at 12:39 pm

      • They’re vicious verbal attackers.

        E. Rekshun

        April 19, 2016 at 5:24 pm

    • Nah, the stickers are non-partisan. They merely say “I voted” or some stupid stuff like that…California’s been handing those out forever.

      We’re a little too cool for that in L.A. Opinion and political beliefs are not discouraged, but ostentatious display of such is implied to be a little “dorky.”

      Socially Extinct

      April 19, 2016 at 10:39 pm

  4. What do NY voters look like?

    AnonymousCoward

    April 19, 2016 at 11:09 am

    • Like the people who work in office buildings who have good high-paying jobs or rich parents.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 19, 2016 at 11:17 am

      • I don’t see a lot under 40 year olds at the booths. Mostly proles, and anyone who now votes is a prole, by my standards.

        JS

        April 19, 2016 at 11:42 am

      • I didn’t see that. I only see professionals voting. And the pollworkers were white.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        April 19, 2016 at 11:49 am

      • Most of the White pollworkers are older proles.

        JS

        April 19, 2016 at 11:58 am

    • At my station – blizzare. Hijabs, yarmulkas, Chinese, black, nobody that you would think of as an American, me included. At least I was dirty and smelling of compressor oil and I spoke English. I voted at 8:45, the Jews are notoriously last minute people so maybe the wasps voted at 6:00 am? No Hispanics though, looks like they don’t vote much in my neighborhood. The Jews were the dominant demographic, they voted Republican. I saw posters for Cruz, but nothing for Trump. My family is 100% Trump – some out of conviction, others to wreck havoc and have fun, the rest – because I’d said so.

      A black woman was giving me my voting card, so she goes:
      – Republican or Democrat?
      – Do I look like a Democrat?
      – Do Democrats have a specific look?
      – Many do, you can’t mistake them.

      I just can’t help myself when I’m hyper. So she gave the wrong paper that wouldn’t go thru the computer. A different black woman by the that computer tells me that I need an envelope now. So I go get an envelope and come back. Still no good, I need a different voting form. We go back together and get it, I fill it out and the computer eats it up finally and displays ‘Thank you’. Two black women by the computer say, ‘Thank you for voting’.

      Very primitive voting arrangement like in Zimbabwe.

      Yakov

      April 20, 2016 at 7:19 am

      • “No Hispanics though, looks like they don’t vote much in my neighborhood.”

        Perhaps a large percentage of the Hispanics in your neighborhood are illegal and therefore ineligible to vote.

        Lewis Medlock

        April 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

  5. Burnie Sanders’ campaign called me to remind me to vote. I told the guy I’m voting for Trump, he liked my enthusiasm. Nice guy. How would Sanders get my number?

    Yakov

    April 19, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    • All Jews know each other. Kinda like a club. Maybe you’d better check your membership. Yearly dues and all that…

      Vincent

      April 19, 2016 at 10:27 pm

      • The membership is sealed in blood and is for eternity: it’s in this world and in the world to come. Burnie has married out, he is out. I think he doesn’t realize that this is different from belonging to the Communist Party and this is why he is calling. Maybe I convinced that kid on the phone to take a second look at Trump, who knows. Was a fun conversation at any rate.

        Yakov

        April 20, 2016 at 6:58 am

  6. The lefty sentiment, “It doesn’t matter who you vote for, just get out and vote” has to be the stupidest idea imaginable, and only lefties could come up with it. My feeling: If you are going to vote for my candidate, get off your tail, out and vote, if you are voting for the other guy, stay the f**k home.

    Daniel

    April 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm

  7. Would you please edit this sentence? I don’t quite know what it’s supposed to mean:

    “The pollworker said that I was the 21 Republicans already voted in my ED.”

    Gilbert Ratchet

    April 19, 2016 at 2:59 pm

  8. The registration deadline to vote in GOP primary was in October! I didn’t know so I couldn’t vote for Trump. I assumed I had something like 30-60 days to register. Requirement to register 6 months in advance is onerous. Trump is right that system is rigged.

    Jimi

    April 19, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    • Low time preference!

      Gozo

      April 19, 2016 at 3:43 pm

  9. Just voted for Trump. There were instructions in Chinese, Korean, Bangladeshi, Spanish, Haitian Creole – this is ridiculous! WTH! How did these people ever become citizens? What a disgrace! No language other then English should be used in this country. Total humiliation. You can’t learn English – you can’t become a citizen. Ever!

    Yakov

    April 19, 2016 at 8:54 pm

  10. Lion! The exit poll has Trump at 61%, why aren’t you posting? Why aren’t we celebrating? Are you alive?

    Yakov

    April 19, 2016 at 9:00 pm


Comments are closed.

