Lion of the Blogosphere

Wayward Pines, Season 1

M. Night Shyamalan was billed as the main director for this TV series, and it reminds me of all his movies after The Sixth Sense: excellent directing ruined by horrible stories.

The series starts out promising. A Secret Service agent is in a car accident and wakes up in a mysterious small town from which he cannot escape. Unfortunately, as the mystery is revealed, it becomes stupider and stupider.

I can’t take a second season so I call it quits (and the second season is widely agreed by critics to be worse than the first season, which means it must be pretty bad indeed).

* * *

This series distracted me from finishing Utopia.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

August 11, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Television

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I watched a bit of the first episode and quit. I don’t watch many shows. So I’m very selective with those I do.


    August 12, 2016 at 12:00 am

  2. seriously?

    it’s time to review Mike Tyson Mysteries…the only contemporary fictional tv series worth watching.

    the leprechaun episode is especially hilarious.

    Trumpocalypse Now

    August 12, 2016 at 12:38 am

  3. Hilarious since I had basically the same downhill experience.

    It started out a bit derivative and I was getting a bit annoyed by the “everything is nice and safe and thats creepy!” preachiness and then we veered into the episode where Terrance Howard was killed and it was too stupid and I bailed. All I could see from there is a long progression of increasing attempts to shock/surprise the viewer.

    Lion of the Turambar

    August 12, 2016 at 7:31 am

  4. It’s been a while but I think I enjoyed it more than “Stranger Things”.


    August 12, 2016 at 2:12 pm

  5. M. Night Shymalamadingdong was a flash in the pan. I used to like his two good movies: Sixth Sense and Unbreakable.

    Watched them recently, and found them interminably SLOW. He’s a tad self-indulgent, to put it mildly.


    August 12, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Comments are closed.

