Lion of the Blogosphere

Crazy Eddie’s prices are insane!

Huey Lewis and the News

The other day, I walked into a Barnes & Noble and I saw vinyl records for sale. The least expensive record was $21.99.

However, here we see this record that I purchased at Crazy Eddie for only $5.99. Crazy Eddie’s prices are so low, it’s like he’s giving everything away! How does he make a profit? He must be insane!

Click to see Crazy Eddie commercial. (And look at that massive selection! There must be about two hundred times as many records as they have at Barnes & Noble.)

* * *

Have I mentioned before that Huey Lewis is one of the very rare Ivy League educated (Cornell) non-classical-music musicians?

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

August 21, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Posted in Music videos

87 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I grew up in the NYC area, and fondly remember those Crazy Eddie commercials. Never went to the store, though.

    Gozo

    August 21, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    • I almost bought a Brother word processor at Crazy Eddie’s, but purchased it from 47th Street Photo instead. The Crazy Eddie’s store was located on 57th Street between second and third avenues.

      Lewis Medlock

      August 22, 2016 at 12:30 pm

  2. I had never heard of Crazy Eddie but Wikipedia yells me they have gone out of business?

    F

    August 21, 2016 at 5:31 pm

    • I thought it was obvious that the Huey Lewis album was purchased in 1986 when Crazy Eddie was still in business.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 21, 2016 at 6:33 pm

      • It probably was.

        I’m not from America and I’d never heard of Huey Lewis either so I didn’t get the joke.

        Francis

        August 21, 2016 at 6:52 pm

      • Plus you can’t buy cassettes anywhere, never mind for $5.99.

        Those memorable commercials featured Dr. Jerry Carroll, the DJ from WPIX-FM 102 (which now has the simulcast of SportsRadio 66 WFAN).

        I’m sure you are asking about the companies profits rhetorically, since it was well known how Eddie Antar cooked the books.

        ScarletNumber

        August 21, 2016 at 6:53 pm

      • Crazy Eddie, Nobody Beats the WIZ, both long defunct along with recorded music and stereo components. Today people prefer to listen to downloads and watch youtube videos on cheap laptop or tablet speakers rather than on speakers with power for a living room. Is PC Richard still around?

        By the way, I have Fore! somewhere in my collection, but can’t remember whether on CD or cassette format.

        As for the comeback of vinyl, all I can do is roll my eyes. Just another opportunity for virtue signaling while spending a big chunk of cash to prove one’s audiophile superiority. I suppose we’ll be hearing soon of the parallel comeback of Dual, Marantz, and Garrard turntables with anti-skating control, and Shure and Pickering cartridges that track as low as half a gram. I have over six hundred vinyl albums that I never play (long story behind that). I always took great care of them, but still they wound up with skips and scratches. CDs are a far superior format. They take up less space, and are much more durable.

        sestamibi

        August 22, 2016 at 12:43 am

      • To answer Sestambi’s question, PC Richard is still around. As they’re a privately held company they release no financial information and therefore there’s no way to know how well they’re doing. IIRC they have commissioned salespeople so shopping there isn’t always pleasant.

        Peter

        ironrailsironweights

        August 22, 2016 at 2:00 am

      • @sestamibi

        Seinfeld episode 905 was entitled The Wiz and in it Elaine’s boyfriend was the star of the Nobody Beats the Wiz commercials, playing The Wiz.

        What made it funny for New Yorkers was that there was never a character named The Wiz. The commercials were based on the actual Crazy Eddie commercials.

        ScarletNumber

        August 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm

  3. A New Yorker into Huey Lewis. How American Psycho.

    Dain

    August 21, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    • “Do you like American Psycho?!”

      “It’s…okay.”

      Oswald Spengler

      August 21, 2016 at 9:14 pm

  4. E.J. Korvette was the place to buy albums in the 60’s and 70’s; at least in the Midwest. Still have my Beethoven 9 symphonies, Von Karajan that Korvettes was $20 and everybody else wanted $40+.

    Dee

    August 21, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    • Did you know that E.J. Korvettes stands for Eight Jewish Korean War Veterans?

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 21, 2016 at 7:04 pm

      • That’s cool. Never knew that.

        Daniel

        August 21, 2016 at 7:09 pm

      • No.

        http://www.snopes.com/business/names/ejkorvette.asp

        I had a name picked out for the store, E.J. Korvette. “E” is for Eugene, my first name, and “J” stands for Joe Swillenberg, my associate and my pal. As for “Korvette,” it was originally meant to be spelled with a “C” after the Canadian marine sub-destroyer, simply because I thought the name had a euphonious ring. When it came time to register the name, we found it was illegal to use a naval class identity, so we had to change the spelling to “K.”

        Rifleman

        August 22, 2016 at 12:17 am

      • That’s an urban legend.

        sestamibi

        August 22, 2016 at 12:44 am

    • I remember the Korvettes on Roosevelt Avenue off Main Street in Flushing, Queens. I believe there was a Gimbel’s Department store next door and an FW Woolworth down the block. This was the late 60s/early 70s.

      Lewis Medlock

      August 22, 2016 at 12:25 pm

  5. My favorite Crazy Eddie commercial: Crazy Eddie’s Christmas sale in July.

    Back in the day I was at a Led Zeppelin concert where Robert Plant gave a shout out to Crazy Eddie. If you turned on the NYC radio mid to late 70s you couldn’t escape Crazy Eddie.

    BTW, that commercial you linked to was one of Jerry Carroll’s more subdued rants.

    I once called Crazy Eddie on their “price will not be beat” and they honored it. I was buying a turntable, this is around 1977, Crazy Eddie wanted $120, I showed the manager an ad for the exact same turntable for around $80 from another retailer, Crazy Eddie beat the price by a few bucks.

    Daniel

    August 21, 2016 at 7:08 pm

  6. I remember him. Also, we disected his operation on our accounting class. What were they thinking? Eddie tried fleeing abroad, but that was stupid.

    Yakov

    August 21, 2016 at 7:23 pm

    • Now that was interesting. Do you understand that what they did was wrong? And that it would be at a minimum annoying for someone doing something similar to brag on an internet forum about the crime they were committing and all the money they were making?

      Magnavox

      August 22, 2016 at 5:23 pm

      • I think the difference between Eddie and Sam Antar on one hand and chaps like myself is obvious. Why don’t you tell US already if you would declare cash income to IRS and why or why not?

        Yakov

        August 22, 2016 at 9:20 pm

      • @Magnavox
        ‘And that it would be at a minimum annoying for someone doing something similar to brag on an internet forum about the crime they were committing and all the money they were making?’

        I’m not bragging, I’m educating mates about life. You would do the same, so stop preaching and screeching. Some folks have this weird notion that working people are supposed to slave for peanuts. I hope that I have disabused them of this bizzare idea.

        ‘Crimes he was committing’ LOLs! And you would take me for the job rather then pay more. The real price for my Sunday morning gig was $1,800, but I took $1,350. You would pay $450 extra for the satisfaction of handing me a check and getting a receipt? No way! I would actually prefer $1,800 check because I write it off as an expense anyway and make more, but I always try to give a customer the best deal possible. Customers appreciate this.

        Yakov

        August 23, 2016 at 10:00 am

    • was that the intro to financial accounting i at the ferengi school of business? this guy was a tax cheat just like you comrade.

      Trumpocalypse Now

      August 22, 2016 at 7:19 pm

      • I think the difference between Eddie and Sam Antar on one hand and chaps like myself is obvious. Why don’t you tell US already if you would declare cash income to IRS and why or why not?

        Yakov

        August 22, 2016 at 9:24 pm

      • It was Cost Accounting. JS, will you ever learn to parse the text? Did I mention anything about Antars not paying taxes? Go back and read it again.

        Yakov

        August 22, 2016 at 9:27 pm

      • would i commit a crime if:

        a. i knew i could get away with it? or
        b. i thought it shouldn’t be a crime? or
        c. i had dependents, like The Bicycle Thief?

        a. NO
        b. YES
        c. YES

        this is the jack london response.

        if you think uncle sam is your enemy or you have private school tuition or orthodonture to pay for then do it, by all means, but know that there’s a very small chance you might not get away with it.

        i think socrates drinking the hemlock in order to obey the laws of athens was totally gay.

        Trumpocalypse Now

        August 22, 2016 at 10:38 pm

      • @JS

        We are making progress, but I’m not asking you to drink hemlock, I’m asking a simple question: will you declare cash transactions as income in order to pay taxes and why yes or no.

        I’m gonna help you – neither you nor Magnavox would, you are no different then me or anyone else. Magnavox can deport himself.

        Yakov

        August 23, 2016 at 12:47 am

      • YES i would comrade, unless it was a trivial amount. i have no dependents, and i don’t think taxes are too high except for a very small number of people in california and nyc who have no investment income to speak of and pay 50% on their earned income. most of these are young doctors, executives, etc. i guess, with student loans.

        but the only time i’ve had “under the table” income was in hs when i worked at a lawn mower repair shop.

        and it was never enough that i had to declare it, so it was never really “under the table”.

        Trumpocalypse Now

        August 23, 2016 at 3:42 pm

      • @JS

        Why did it take three days of pulling teeth to get such a simple answer? Let me recap: you make enough money, in your opinion taxes are low, you will declare cash transactions of, say $18,000, and pay the taxes. Did I get it right?

        JS was the first to come through with a clear and hopefully truthfully answer. For this he deserves a round of applause. Next time get straight to the point, mate. You can do it.

        Magnavox, won’t pay his taxes though. He remains a problem.

        Yakov

        August 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

      • think of businesses with revenues only or mostly in cash.

        vending machines, bars, the people at the county fair…or just businesses where a lot is in cash…7-11s, liquor stores…

        the debit card makes cheating a lot harder.

        Trumpocalypse Now

        August 24, 2016 at 2:11 pm

  7. Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine went to Harvard. His father was a black guy from Kenya who didn’t have anything to do with his son. Where I have I heard that before?

    .His father was Kenya’s first Ambassador to the UN.

    Art Garfunkel went to Columbia.

    ttgy

    August 21, 2016 at 7:35 pm

    • And vampire weekend went to Columbia as well.

      Magnavox

      August 22, 2016 at 11:39 pm

  8. Vinyl is so 2015. The newest craze is the revival of cassette tapes.

    Contrarian

    August 21, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    • Don’t forget 8 track tapes. And if you really want to kick it old school nothing beats 78s.

      Lewis Medlock

      August 22, 2016 at 12:18 pm

    • Yes to this. Just last week my hipster friend showed me the cassette tapes he had ordered online from some organization offer vaporwave music.

      Paul Rise

      August 22, 2016 at 7:11 pm

  9. Huey scored 800 on the math section of the SAT

    Math Avenger

    August 21, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    • Boston and Steely Dan and Queen (rock) and the Artie Shaw orchestra (big band jazz) also had musicians who could do really really well at academic math. That being said, academic math – and , a fortiori, SAT math – is to real math what Hello Kitty is to Shakespeare – but anyone with a call sign like Math Avenger probably already knew that.

      howitzer daniel

      August 21, 2016 at 10:56 pm

      • Tom Scholz earned a Masters degree from MIT and worked as an engineer at Polaroid before founding and forming Boston.

        E. Rekshun

        August 22, 2016 at 11:52 am

  10. Dave

    August 21, 2016 at 9:28 pm

  11. what happened to “the law of one price”?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_one_price

    Trumpocalypse Now

    August 21, 2016 at 9:50 pm

  12. “My prices are so low, you’ll think I’ve suffered brain damage.”

    MEH 0910

    August 21, 2016 at 10:07 pm

  13. The jazz pianist Vijay Iyer is a Yale graduate (and also non-Ivy Ph.D.).

    Anthony

    August 21, 2016 at 10:12 pm

  14. I never knew Huey Lewis attended Cornell. That’s interesting. The Wikipedia article says he didn’t graduate. Lion, do you consider someone “Ivy-league educated” if they didn’t get a degree?

    We had Crazy Eddie’s in the Philadelphia area too; I remember those commercials.

    It’s interesting to watch these old commercials and reflect on how our society has changed. When this commercial aired, the only way to obtain recorded music was to visit a retail store in person and buy a physical copy. (I suppose there were mail-order catalogs, and record-of-the-month clubs like Columbia House and BMG.) There was no downloading MP3s, no iTunes, no Pandora or Spotify, no going to Youtube and typing in the name of your favorite artist and song. You could listen to the radio and hope they played something you like, but the only way to listen to what you wanted when you wanted was to actually go out and buy a physical copy.

    Hermes

    August 21, 2016 at 10:35 pm

    • “The Wikipedia article says he didn’t graduate. Lion, do you consider someone “Ivy-league educated” if they didn’t get a degree?”

      I was very careful in my wording, wasn’t I? Yes, he received education at an Ivy League school.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 21, 2016 at 10:57 pm

      • There’s an old saying at the University of Chicago that it’s easier to get in than out.

        Anthony

        August 22, 2016 at 1:33 pm

      • You could argue that applies to someone that reads a book by or watches a video of an ivy league professor or even a bunch more even more tenuous things.

        Magnavox

        August 22, 2016 at 5:18 pm

  15. Even though I like the genre and 80’s music generally, Huey Lewis is pretty bad. Maybe you had to have been there.

    I see that adjusting for inflation, the 1983 crazy sale price of an album was $12.07.

    Older people should be envious of me for my mid-teens to early 20’s heavy music listening phase. I paid an average of $0.00 using Napster, then AudioGalaxy (which to this day had a better interface than any other legal or pirate site), then Kaaza. The extra-big hard drive and gen 2 10gig ipod i stored them on were about $170 and $399, respectively, and worth every penny.

    Before the iPod, I had a CD-ROM burner that cost about $150 extra as an option in my dell. Being the first guy in my high school to have CD-ROM burner was a giant boost to my popularity. This was circa 1996 or 7. Begging my parents to get a PC with Windows 95 and a CD burner was an excellent move.

    Right before Napster, you just Googled, or should I say “altavista’d” around to find open access FTP sites full of MP3 files. Right before the iPod came out, MP3 players all were crap, so you’d get an “MP3 compatible” portable CD player, burn a data CD with about 200 MP3 files, and this was cheaper and better than pre-iPod MP3 players.

    Should I be likewise envious of current 20-ish kids, and those in the near-future? On one hand, iPods are better than they used to be and cheaper. On the other, torrenting mp3 files is greatly inferior to audiogalaxy, and torrent music sites are also not as good as they were 10 years ago. The new music coming out is also inferior to the rock of the early 90’s to early 2000’s, with Nirvana on one end and Franz Ferdinand on the other and a lot of good stuff in between. Now the charts are dominated by crappy rap music and very few hard rock songs become big hits. In fact I live in a major city with lots of rock stations, but they mostly do not play new music too much, and focus on the 1990-2005 era, with a few of the really big 70’s and 80’s hits sometimes mixed in.

    In addition to rock n roll, the other things that make a normal American teen boy’s life fun are sex and drugs. The popular thing when I was in HS was marijuana only, I never heard about anyone I know using harder drugs unless you count gather magic mushrooms from cow fields certain parts of the year. That’s probably the most anyone in HS should ever do. When I got to college MDMA was popular, and was really fun, but pretty obviously bad for you. For sex, I think teen sexual activity peaked around 1975-1980, and then has gradually declined ever since. So I missed the peak, but had it much better than teens today, though teenage boys are so fat and full of synthetic estrogens from soy and plastic they probably don’t care about sex as much as I did, and their pool of partners are also much fatter.

    Lot

    August 22, 2016 at 12:56 am

    • Dude, that was reading my own autobiography. I suppose many older millennials younger gen xers can totally relate too.

      Bobo

      August 22, 2016 at 4:51 am

      • Good to be appreciated! Lion needs to check out Franz Ferdinand music videos on youtube some day, I think he was too focused on his career at that point to notice them. Give a band of art-school drop-outs a big budget and you get some great music videos.

        Lot

        August 22, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    • You’re kind of onto something here regarding better sex in the ’75-80 period, although I’d extend that up to about ’83. But the reason there was more sex before 1990 is precisely that the music was better. The hottest chicks I got down with coincided with great music like “Oh what a Night,” “Dreams,” “Rhiannon,” and “All out of Love.” (Incidentally, in ’05 I flew from SF to Salina KS to hear Air Supply play at a local laundromat – they were still great, though somewhat less hirsute). Multi-orgasmic babes really proliferated with the Flashdance theme, after which things sort of petered out, New Wave being about as asexual as music can be. In ’91, I took a boombox into a punk club in the Lower Haight and played “Pleasant Valley Sunday” by the Monkees during a break. A cute chick with green hair and a nail in her ear followed me out. After we finished, she admitted that she hated all music after ’86 but was making $5k/mo selling diluted heroin to the punkers.

      tiny blades

      August 22, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    • You’re kind of onto something here regarding better sex in the ’75-80 period, although I’d extend that up to about ’83. But the reason there was more sex before 1990 is precisely that the music was better. The hottest chicks I got down with coincided with great music like “Oh what a Night,” “Dreams,” “Rhiannon,” and “All out of Love.” (Incidentally, in ’05 I flew from SF to Salina KS to hear Air Supply play at a local laundromat – they were still great, though somewhat less hirsute). Multi-orgasmic babes really proliferated with the Flashdance theme, after which things sort of petered out, New Wave being about as asexual as music can be. In ’91, I took a boombox into a punk club in the Lower Haight and played “Pleasant Valley Sunday” by the Monkees during a break. A cute chick with green hair and a nail in her ear followed me out. After we finished, she admitted that she hated all music after ’86 but was making $5k/mo selling diluted heroin to the punkers.

      Jeez

      August 22, 2016 at 12:45 pm

  16. Interesting post on DKos by do gooder white guy talking about his experience talking to ghetto blacks while trying to register voters for Hil:

    Interesting thing I’ve come across registering voters in poor, minority neighborhoods. While Clinton support is generally high, there is a surprising level of conspiracy thinking among some. I have been regaled with tales of the Illuminati controlling the country, and that the whole idea of elections is a “white man’s game” and rigged. I asked the young lady saying the latter if the the white man had engineered Obama’s victory and she said with a straight face, “Obama is white!” She went on, indicating that she and others within earshot had read quite a bit about the Illuminati online. No way was she ever going to vote, no sir.

    Another young black man told me that Pres. Obama was a dictator ruling by executive order, and had the idea that somehow he was responsible for allowing transsexual “perverts” to use women’s rest rooms. I asked him when was the last time he saw anyone’s ass in a rest room and he said, “they’re using cameras to peek under the stalls!”

    A black security guard at a library in a rough neighborhood bemoaned that people make police relations into a “racial thing” and said that since he was unarmed he was a “sitting duck” for local toughs in the neighborhood, which has gotten “terrible” in recent years. In fact, while I was there, a couple of kids drove by and peppered the library with paint ball machine guns, aimed at a group of kids hanging out, many of them the aforementioned conspiracy theorists.

    It’s a little weird out there.

    I have no problem saying that I hate liberal blacks 100x more than I hate liberal whites, which is saying a lot, but how many blacks are really liberals as opposed to just Dem voters?

    Otis the Sweaty

    August 22, 2016 at 2:10 am

    • “I have been regaled with tales of the Illuminati controlling the country”

      I’m impressed that poor minority people used the word “Illuminati.”

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      August 22, 2016 at 7:54 am

      • Rappers have been using the term “Illuminati” for 25+ years. Tupac threw the term around a lot.

        Most blacks really don’t understand it, they just hear some black activist using the word so they pick on on the trend. And most blacks still think that it was scientifically possible for the US government to exterminate blacks by putting chemicals in Snapple that killed only them.

        Camlost

        August 22, 2016 at 11:08 am

      • In the mid-1980s a conspiracy theory developed in the black community claiming that the KKK owned Church’s Fried Chicken and they were adding chemicals to the food in order to sterilize black males. Another urban legend that circulated in the black community during the early 1990s involved Tropical Fantasy soda. It was believed that a secret ingredient was added to the soda in order to sterilize black men.

        Lewis Medlock

        August 23, 2016 at 11:38 am

    • Audacious Epigone has had some posts about this recently. Based on the sample sizes he includes, about 20% of blacks consider themselves conservative, but they virtually all (as in 95%) vote Democrat.

      http://anepigone.blogspot.com/2016/08/conservative-is-race-relative-term-too.html
      http://anepigone.blogspot.com/2016/08/moderate-is-race-relative-term.html
      http://anepigone.blogspot.com/2016/08/and-then-there-are-left-liberals.html

      Richard

      August 22, 2016 at 10:04 am

      • Some blacks have very low IQs (the average black IQ is said to be 85, one standard deviation lower than the average white IQ), and thus they don’t understand the questions, and thus you shouldn’t put too much significance into the answers to questions they may not have understood.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        August 22, 2016 at 10:17 am

      • A lot of blacks who call themselves conservative are probably thinking in terms of religion or sexuality. The exit polling on California’s 2008 ban on gay marriage is eye popping in that regard.

        Richard

        August 22, 2016 at 10:45 am

      • “Some blacks have very low IQs (the average black IQ is said to be 85, one standard deviation lower than the average white IQ), and thus they don’t understand the questions, and thus you shouldn’t put too much significance into the answers to questions they may not have understood.”

        C’mon, Lion. There are plenty of black conservatives — I’ve met a number of them. For example, blacks were against gay ‘marriage’ at a much higher rate than whites. Blacks tend to have a higher rate of belief and a lower rate of atheism than society as a whole, and a higher rate of churchgoing. In fact in many urban areas Christianity is the center of life. Many blacks are not at all keen on illegal immigration. You have black cops, tax paying black middle class homeowners, blacks who served in the military.

        And yet, blacks vote Democrat almost uniformly.

        This bodes very poorly for Democracy. The issues, and the candidates, do not even matter.

        Dan

        August 22, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    • “a library in a rough neighborhood”

      A safe place when the bruthas riot.

      Vincent

      August 22, 2016 at 8:58 pm

  17. I saw Huey Lewis and The News in 1986 at the original Boston Garden and the show was very good!

    @Hermes: I suppose there were mail-order catalogs, and record-of-the-month clubs like Columbia House

    When I was about 11 y/o, a friend and I bought into and split the eight 8-tracks for 1-cent offer from Columbia House, followed by the requirement to purchase something like eight 8-tracks at the regular price at about $10 each.

    @Lot: The popular thing when I was in HS was marijuana only

    When I was in high school, late ’70s to early ’80s, marijuana was very popular, but also easily accessible on school grounds was cocaine and LSD.

    E. Rekshun

    August 22, 2016 at 4:35 am

  18. What’s interesting is that Eddie, who had caused more then 1 billion in loses to investors, served only two years in prison. Sam got no prison time for cooperating with DOJ. This is justice? Magnavox, is he also ‘the immigrant scum that never should’ve let into the country’?

    Yakov

    August 22, 2016 at 10:08 am

    • he was sentenced to 8 years. but america has ceased to be a nations of law a while back. at least according to professor shoe’s latest post.

      the contemporary US is best described as a plutocracy where most of the plutocrats are kleptocrats. see matt taibbi, Inside Job, or The Veneer of Justice in a Kingdom of Crime. these are the people behind the hillary puppet.

      Magnavox, is he also ‘the immigrant scum that never should’ve let into the country’?

      yes.

      Trumpocalypse Now

      August 22, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    • They aren’t immigrants.

      Magnavox

      August 22, 2016 at 7:58 pm

      • Hey, you are paying attention better then JS. What’s your occupation?

        Yakov

        August 22, 2016 at 9:31 pm

  19. Not Ivy League, but more prestigious than Cornell, Duke University has been churning out a slew of top 40 pop musicians lately.

    Duke Alum Mike Posner’s “I took a pill in Ibiza,” charted for most of this summer.

    Rotten

    August 22, 2016 at 4:27 pm

  20. Whenever I see a record cover from that era, I’m reminded of what a naturally slender man’s body looks like, without drugs, excessive working out, or excess flab.

    What the hell happened to us?

    gothamette

    August 22, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    • I don’t know what you are talking about. I got my idea of what a man should look like for Jack London back in the USSR. These guys look fine for musicians, but a regular man isn’t supposed to look anything like this. He is supposed to run, swim, ride horses, box, wrestle and shoot. I think Jack London nailed it for eternity.

      Yakov

      August 22, 2016 at 9:37 pm

      • Yakov, we all used to look like this. I mean, in terms of the body fat.

        Jack London? You mean the author of White Fang? I have no idea what he looked like. Enlighten me.

        gothamette

        August 22, 2016 at 11:13 pm

      • Read ‘The Sea Wolf’.

        Yakov

        August 23, 2016 at 12:40 am

  21. Lion, 85 is for black in the USA and Europe. In Africa, they have an average of 70 IQ. And in caribbean islands, it goes from 65 IQ (almost as low as aborigene people) to Bermuda 95 IQ. And 85 is not as bad an IQ !!!!

    In fact, those questions being thought to be understandable by 5/6 of white people (IQ > 85), it means that, on average, 50% of the black people in the USA do understand them. In Africa, it would be only 1/6 and the data collected there from people , are generally useless, except if conceived ad hoc.

    As for the “illuminati” term, i believe it has been popularized among low class individuals by “Vigilant Citizen” who is a very clever and (ultra)conservative guy.

    Bruno from Paris

    August 22, 2016 at 7:50 pm

  22. Bringing back memories. Wall to Wall Sound, Herman’s Sporting Goods and being able to smoke in the mall. Good times, good times…

    Vincent

    August 22, 2016 at 8:32 pm

  23. Yeah, it’s been said, but $5.99 in 1986 was $12.99 in 2016. So it’s not as huge a shift as you might think.

    My personal lame ’80s memory involves Discount Books in Jackson Heights, Queens. Walls and walls of ancient Daw SF. Good times.

    SFG

    August 22, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    • Yeah, I remember that used bookstore too. It was right across the street from P.S. 69.

      Lewis Medlock

      August 23, 2016 at 11:43 am

  24. Trump down by 1 in UPI. UPI is not particularly Trump friendly, they had him down by 6 a week ago.

    Otis the Sweaty

    August 23, 2016 at 1:06 am

  25. MEH 0910

    August 23, 2016 at 8:44 am

    • Sounds desperate, although I suppose the real goal is to spook establishment Republicans into denouncing portions of the Trump coalition and divide the right.

      Richard

      August 23, 2016 at 9:39 am

  26. CBS caught pulling their own poll of PA because it was bad for Hillary. They had Trump up by 5 but then took the poll down. Must have gotten a call from the Whitehouse.

    Otis the Sweaty

    August 23, 2016 at 9:14 am

    • Apparently Monmouth “unskewed” their last poll of Ohio. The data they collected put Trump in a 2 point lead, but they re-weighted the party ID so that Clinton came out 4 points ahead. Four years ago the conventional wisdom was that you shouldn’t do that.

      Virginia looks lost though. Brutal new poll from Roanoke puts Clinton 16 points ahead, which is actually an improvement for Trump over their last survey. Unfortunately it’s consistent with all other polling. It looks like this will be the year that the growth of federal bureaucracy tips Virginia over into a solid blue state like Maryland.

      Richard

      August 23, 2016 at 9:56 am

    • That was probably a shitty poll.

      IHTG

      August 23, 2016 at 9:57 am

  27. Crazy Eddie was infamous. He was kicking the ass of his competition for years, by selling refurbished electronics as new. Most people couldn’t tell. When his competition got too fierce he was known for having “accidents” at his stores, and when the insurance inspector came in, he would have a pretty girl distract him so he wouldn’t know most of the damaged merchandise was just empty boxes.
    Like most chains he couldn’t compete with the big chains like Best Buy who could purchase products in bulk and undercut him. He decided to skip out by making one more big score, and he was collared by the Feds. Most people who were TV viewers around New York and New Jersey in the late 70s and early 80s remember his commercials. They were constantly in the rotation.
    Almost all the chains are gone now due to the bad economy. Pretty soon only Wal-Mart, Amazon.com, discount stores and dollar stores will be left. Macy’s, SEARS/KMart, Target, JC Penney, and others are going Chapter 13 broke. When they go, they’ll be gone forever. Trump is right about globalism. We’re on a downward spiral here.

    Joshua Sinistar

    August 23, 2016 at 11:06 pm

  28. Crazy Eddie Antar died yesterday morning.

    ScarletNumber

    September 11, 2016 at 1:11 am


Comments are closed.

