Lion of the Blogosphere

Big Little Lies E03

We still don’t know who was murdered.

In the last scene, Jane (Shailene Woodley) is shown to own a handgun, but that’s so obvious that it has to be a red herring. I think the killer is Madeline’s (Reese Witherspoon) nice-guy husband Ed (Adam Scott), because of beta-male rage.

* * *

By the way, I hope that no real-world first grade teacher would be so insensitive as to assign the children to bring in a family tree, and thereby make the kid of the single mom feel bad about himself.

That reminds me of when my high school English teacher, Frank McCourt, asked me about a play I had seen, and I felt ashamed because my parents were too prole and too cheap to have ever taken me to see a real play.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

March 5, 2017 at EST pm

Posted in Television

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Frank McCourt? THE Frank McCourt of Angela’s Ashes fame? Was your English teacher in high school?

    The Master Distiller

    March 5, 2017 at EST pm

    • Yes. That Frank McCourt. I guess you haven’t been reading my blog as long as I’ve been writing it 🙂

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • No. What sort of teacher was he? I loved his books. He was an alcoholic, I believe.

        Rosenmops

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • The day after he died, someone left the following comment at a NY Times article, which the NY Times eventually deleted. But I preserved it:

        He was my English teacher in the early-mid 1970’s. He didn’t like a report I wrote. As I recall it was a report on the design of Central Park. He read it to the class as an example of how not to be a writer. He didn’t reveal the author.

        It was one of my most embarrassing moments in high school.

        — S

        That sounds like him. However, he was the most entertaining and memorable teacher from my high school. That was my feeling about him before he became famous.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • Actually, I’ve been reading it since your ‘Sigma’ days, however, I guess I missed that detail somehow.

        The Master Distiller

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

  2. Trivia: more than 90% of the people shot with handguns survive. You want to shoot someone dead, you’re much better off using a rifle or shotgun.

    Peter

    ironrailsironweights

    March 5, 2017 at EST pm

  3. Frank McCourt was your high school English teacher? The author?

    Rosenmops

    March 5, 2017 at EST pm

    • Yes. That Frank McCourt. I guess you haven’t been reading my blog as long as I’ve been writing it 🙂

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • I guess he hadn’t written his books yet at the time he was your teacher. Because if you had read Angela’s Ashes you would have known what a clusterfuck his own childhood was.

        Rosenmops

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • Looking back now, I suppose that McCourt didn’t like proles and he took it out on the outer borough kids whom he had less respect for than the Manhattan kids.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • ” I suppose that McCourt didn’t like proles and he took it out on the outer borough kids whom he had less respect for than the Manhattan kids.”

        Not good. I looked at his wiki page and noticed he taught in a lot of different schools. I wonder if he kept getting fired.

        Rosenmops

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • He wasn’t suited to teaching prole kids, he was good with smart Stuyvesant kids.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

    • Did he ever tell stories about his life when he was teaching?

      Rosenmops

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • He was a great storyteller. Unfortunately, I have a hard time remembering anything specific he said, but I never knew if I was supposed to believe him.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 5, 2017 at EST pm

  4. So, your high school English teacher parlayed his resentment at his prole upbringing into a Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling memoir that made him a millionaire. Why don’t you do the same?

    Hermes

    March 5, 2017 at EST pm

    • Mr. McCourt didn’t become successful until he was 66 years old. So maybe in a few more years.

      Furthermore, I don’t think my memoir would be very interesting.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

      • Didn’t McCourt embellish quite a bit, in the best Irish tradition?

        Peter Akuleyev

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

      • I am sure he did.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

      • Your readers find your life interesting.

        Jjbees

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

      • Just make stuff up; all these bestselling “memoirs” are embellished beyond belief anyway. Nobody remembers that much detail from early childhood.

        Or flesh it out with updates from NeoGaf to make it more interesting.

        Hermes

        March 6, 2017 at EST am

    • I doubt Lion’s upbringing resembled Frank McCourt’s. Unless Lion was brought up in a terrible slum.

      Rosenmops

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

    • Being poor and oppressed is interesting. Being prole is not.

      Jimi

      March 5, 2017 at EST pm

  5. My grandmother took us to see some plays – we saw Children of a Lesser God with William Hurt. But I didn’t have a teacher ask me.

    Dave Pinsen

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

  6. I felt ashamed because my parents were too prole and too cheap to have ever taken me to see a real play.

    Freshman year, the cross-country coach made fun of me because I didn’t have Nike running shoes.

    E. Rekshun

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

  7. Sometimes prole tales become best sellers, though not award winners. The common prole, or perhaps sometimes a person who doesn’t want anything with a whiff of something intellectual for the beach, may have this type of book on their shelf.

    Biographies of prole musicians, comedians, and criminals often sell well. Sometimes the criminal prole story, or the ghetto prole story, will become an ethnographic study for private school English students; if it is about a prole minority. Such students would be advised to be ready for a predictable theme of redemption.

    Dave

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

    • “I felt ashamed because my parents were too prole and too cheap to have ever taken me to see a real play”

      And that is when Lion swore no one would ever out UHB him again.

      Lion of the Turambar

      March 6, 2017 at EST am

    • I thought “proles” didn’t read books, per Lion’s favorite book on class.

      David Pinsen

      March 6, 2017 at EST pm

  8. “That reminds me of when my high school English teacher, Frank McCourt, asked me about a play I had seen, and I felt ashamed because my parents were too prole and too cheap to have ever taken me to see a real play.”

    Indeed, as were mine. In fact, I’m not sure my parents ever even took me to a movie. I just went on my own with friends (maybe a few times a year).

    I suppose this kind of thing happens all the time when Nice White Lady teachers end up in black & brown schools, where nobody has been to a play or an orchestra (hah!) or a museum (well, maybe they were dragged there on a school trip once). But of course the Nice White Lady thinks it’s all because of racism or white people making people of color “uncomfortable” at cultural events or using their super power of “stereotype threat” to keep them away.

    peterike

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

  9. “my parents were too prole and too cheap to have ever taken me to see a real play”

    (offended society lady voice)

    I cannot _believe_ I’ve spent time reading the blog of someone so prole they haven’t even seen a real _play_! What _is_ the world coming to?

    cliff arroyo

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

  10. Nicole Kidman is extremely attractive for a 50 year old. Shows how advanced anti-aging science has become.

    PerezHBD

    March 6, 2017 at EST am

    • Just good genes. Some actresses who are pretty when young did not age well at all, such as Denise Richards.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 6, 2017 at EST pm

      • Part genes, but a lot of it is whether they’re doing lots of drugs (especially coke). Nicole Kidman maybe benefited (looks-wise) from spending her prime married to the extremely controlling Tom Cruise in the extremely anti-drug CoS. Denise Richards of course married Charlie Sheen.

        snorlaxwp

        March 8, 2017 at EST am

  11. My dad, who was poor but the opposite of prole (academic scholarship to U. Chi.) took me to the opera and to see Stravinsky’s Firebird when I was about 12. I was bored to death, becahse all I cared about was baseball. By thge way, has anyone heard of a virus that attacks your keyboard? I have a Kindle 8″ and for the last month the keyboard has been haywire. Tgey senf me a new unit but same problem.

    Explainer 21

    March 6, 2017 at EST pm

  12. In my late ’20s, my girlfriend dragged me to Cats. I was bored to tears and underwhelmed. I once won a pair of tickets to The Lion King, but I gave them away. On the other hand, I’m going to a Red Sox spring training game next week with an old childhood friend.

    E. Rekshun

    March 6, 2017 at EST pm

  13. This Frank McCourt stuff is fascinating. Possibly a clue as to what motivates your politics.

    Dain

    March 6, 2017 at EST pm

  14. the guy that raped jane is obviously perry. celeste’s (nicole kidman’s) husband. the actor who played the rapist has his height/build, and we got a lot about how abusive he is to celeste before/during sex.

    the way adam scott’s character looked at reese witherspoon’s oldest daughter was incredibly creepy.


Comments are closed.

