Lion of the Blogosphere

The benefit of being prole

The brouhaha over President Trump eating his steak well done with ketchup reminds me once again of an important benefit of being prole, which is that you can eat whatever you want anyway you want to.

If I went to a steak restaurant, I would have to order the steak medium rare, even if that’s not the way I wanted to eat it.

* * *

Possibly, the reason why President Trump likes well done steaks is related to his fear of germs.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

March 6, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Posted in Proles

131 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! How many people choked down bitter salads because they couldnt be so déclassé as to enjoy iceberg lettuce.

    I’d like to see Lion take a stand in a toney restaurant and report back.

    Lion o' the Turambar

    March 6, 2017 at 2:02 pm

    • You can get around the prole of iceberg lettuce by ordering the wedge salad. Suddenly it’s ok.

      everybodyhatesscott

      March 6, 2017 at 3:11 pm

      • The wedge salad feels to me like an old man’s salad.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 6, 2017 at 3:31 pm

      • Right- thats how it comes up: you are at steak house and order the wedge and think “why arent I usually eating this”?

        Lion o' the Turambar

        March 6, 2017 at 4:43 pm

      • A steady diet of salads is prole. Uncooked vegetables are laden with germs. Cuisines with an overemphasis of salads are prole. American plant-matter fare is all about salads and less with cooked vegetables.

        JS

        March 6, 2017 at 9:03 pm

  2. I’m not sure this is true. If you’re a prole, and you order a dish containing arugula, the other proles will be sure to let you know you talk like a fag and your shit’s all retarded.

    snorlaxwp

    March 6, 2017 at 2:02 pm

    • Exhibit A: the ration of shit that John Kerry got for ordering a cheesesteak sandwich with Swiss cheese instead of, I guess, the usual Cheez-Wiz.

      Alex

      March 6, 2017 at 2:39 pm

      • The shit was well deserved

        ScarletNumber

        March 6, 2017 at 8:00 pm

  3. The benefit of being SWPL: I don’t have to eat steak at all.

    Steak is gross. It’s just a big chunk of meat. It’ll make your belly feel bad when you eat it. And it’s not even good for you. It’s just wealth signalling between proles.

    A nice stew or prime rib with root veggies or a beef hash with greens is delicious. And it can be easily given SWPL cover by using the right name. It’s a plate with Escoffier sauce Espagnole or it’s a goulash or a pan seared organic vegetable stir fry or a demi glace. And it’s always nicer than plain boring heavy steak.

    Especially underdone steak, which is even more disgusting. If you want to signal with steak, it has to be red and stringy inside and probably full of parasites. Nobody complains that your fillette du espagnole should have been left raw.

    owentt

    March 6, 2017 at 2:02 pm

    • I eat steak et frites.

      Jimi

      March 6, 2017 at 3:16 pm

    • A prime rib roast is just a giant ribeye steak. But I agree stewed and braised meats give the best flavor (and are super cheap to boot).

      Magnavox

      March 6, 2017 at 5:28 pm

    • I find the SWPL nouveau concentration on veggies to be a fad without class foundation.

      A meat diet used to be the diet of those with money, and vegetables the diet of the poor. Meat is expensive; vegetables are cheaper.

      This traditional class based diet orientation carries over to vegetable centric stews that leave the meat cubes to be defatted bland marbles. I eat the type of stew that you mention regularly, complete with root vegetables, and in no way is it superior to a medium rare strip with baked potato and broccoli. Prime Rib is meh in terms of taste (not the worst nor best, and boringly consistent in that mediocrity). No one who cares about the taste of beef would prefer Prime Rib to a skillfully cooked steak, or other nice cuts of meat for that matter (A veal chop if I can get it). Steak is the beef preparation with the most flavor, and as such it is taboo to cover it in sauces and broths.

      That you think steak makes you feel bad, or heavy, is a product of vegetable centric SWPL propaganda. I know it well, as I was a vegetarian for several years in a prior life. Unsurprisingly, this propaganda has no foundation in science nor historical preferences for fine dining. Meat focused based diets leave the stomach undistended. Liquid and vegetables distend the stomach and cause gas. One of the foremost evolutionary theories holds that a cooked meat based diet allowed are stomachs to remain small, thus allowing for more metabolic energy to be used for brain growth. Its called the expensive tissue hypothesis. Its part of the pathology of our age that the elite class would prefer a dysgenic diet.

      If SWPLs were worried about parasites then they’d eat no fish. That isn’t the case.

      http://www.beyondveg.com/billings-t/comp-anat/comp-anat-4b.shtml

      Dave

      March 7, 2017 at 7:41 pm

  4. Turmp is prole in his eating habits and naively thinks he has privacy. The only reason the Russian story is news is that a president by law can secretly order electronic surveillance for one year on anyone that is a foreign threat. The Russian and Trump campaign “collusion theory” gave the administration the plausibility of denying that the electronic monitoring was political.

    cesqy

    March 6, 2017 at 2:04 pm

  5. I would never eat my steak this way, but I guess I’m not prole. When you cook a steak well done you are effectively destroying all the of flavor characteristics of the cut of meat you ordered. But I guess his palate is such that he enjoys it.

    I’d be curious to know how germaphobes in general eat their steak. Does Howie Mandel eat steak? Apparently this condition is called mysophobia.

    What do germaphobic people think about sex? Sex is a messy business, and the vagina has a lot of bacteria in it (although beneficial). Trump loves women and sleeping with them, so maybe his germaphobia extends only to touching unknown people, external dirt, and food.

    ASF

    March 6, 2017 at 2:07 pm

    • He was asked about the sex germs thing on Howard Stern and said he tries not to think about it. Trump said that he viewed his surviving the 1970’s without getting any STDs as his personal Vietnam.

      I don’t think the steak thing has anything to do with germs. Well done steak was common in the 1950s and well done and with ketchup is probably how he ate it at home with his Mom and because Trump is so resistant to conforming to Manhattan norms he never saw any reason to change.

      PerezHBD

      March 6, 2017 at 4:31 pm

      • Prolishness aside, ketchup is vile as a foodstuff. It’s sole acceptable use is limited to two occasions imo: with eggs as part of a hangover (or migraine killing) breakfast or with a charred burger that needs a widely available sweet taste to overcome the bitter taste of lower quality beef.

        In other situations, its simply too strong and completely over-rides other flavor. You could put chalk under it and not notice.

        Again, this is only my opinion on the substance. I’m not assigning a class value to it.

        Dave

        March 7, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    • I think Seth McFarlane said that when Trump’s bangin’ a supermodel, he closes his eyes and thinks about jerking off.

      Vince

      March 6, 2017 at 6:49 pm

      • I never heard this, but it’s funny

        ScarletNumber

        March 6, 2017 at 8:01 pm

    • I’ve never considered myself a germophobe, but I prefer not to eat at restaurants because there are a lot of immigrants with 3rd world diseases working at them. Plus, restaurants really aren’t that hygenic. They serve food past the expiration date and leave food laying around at room temperature. At home, I’m very careful about washing my hands and cooking my food sufficiently. For example, I scrub fruits and vegetables with a brush, use a meat thermometer, and cook things a little longer than typical. I don’t like to see bloody steaks, etc. I’ve been served steaks in a pool of blood before. Maybe that’s the way the “cool kids” eat. But I think it’s stupid. I order “medium well”.

      destructure

      March 6, 2017 at 7:27 pm

    • American beef is all slightly rotten. It sits around way too long after slaughter, never-mind the stuff that is deliberately rotten and sold at steakhouses. A lot of people from south and central america find it gross.

      If the cow wasn’t butchered in the previous 48 hours you really want flash frozen beef.

      bobbybobbob

      March 6, 2017 at 8:32 pm

    • ASF

      The question about Trump and sex is interesting. I wonder if he goes down on women. Thats the real story.

      lola

      March 7, 2017 at 12:58 pm

  6. You wouldn’t have to. I mean, yeah, people will judge you but part of being an adult is not giving a damn what strangers think of you. The less you care about things that don’t matter, the happier you’ll be. And what someone thinks of your steak ordering habits does not matter.

    everybodyhatesscott

    March 6, 2017 at 2:13 pm

  7. I eat my steak medium rare. This is one thing that proles just get wrong. The germ thing is one thing, but does anybody like the taste of well done steak better?

    And having it with ketchup? Are you serious? A1 sauce definitely, but ketchup?

    I drink soda and love fast food, so I am not SWPL at all. But I side with the SWPLs on this one.

    Otis the Sweaty

    March 6, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    • SWPLs drink soda and eat fast food (in the absence of other quick/inexpensive options). Or else I and my friends/coworkers aren’t SWPLs, which means pretty much nobody is. It’s casual dining chains like Applebee’s, Chili’s, Outback Steakhouse, IHOP that are prole.

      snorlaxwp

      March 6, 2017 at 2:29 pm

      • SWPL drink small batch organic no GMO soda.

        There is still status seeking to be had even in eating junk food.

        SWPL= eat pretzels or organic kettle chips

        proles= Doritos or store brand potato chips

        lola

        March 9, 2017 at 6:21 am

    • Likewise, it’s diet soda that’s prole, especially while consumed by someone who isn’t on a diet, especially when they think just switching to diet soda is dieting.

      snorlaxwp

      March 6, 2017 at 2:34 pm

      • I drink one diet Mountain Dew cut w/ 50% water every day.

        From 1990 – 2010, I ate at Subway three or four times per week. I calculated that I spent almost $20K at Subway over twenty years.

        E. Rekshun

        March 6, 2017 at 5:30 pm

      • Likewise, it’s diet soda that’s prole, especially while consumed by someone who isn’t on a diet, especially when they think just switching to diet soda is dieting.

        Drinking diet soda works fine for me because I usually keep to a reduced carb diet.

        The Undiscovered Jew

        March 6, 2017 at 7:31 pm

      • @E. Rekshun

        So did Jared, and look at him now.

        ScarletNumber

        March 6, 2017 at 8:03 pm

      • I switched to diet soda years ago when I was on a diet and ever since then my stomach has not been able to handle regular soda, which feels to me like I am just drinking a can of syrup. Is that still prole?

        I love IHOP but would never go to an Outback steakhouse. I think Applebee’s and Chili’s are okay.

        Are my tastes prole?

        Otis the Sweaty

        March 6, 2017 at 9:37 pm

      • Who cares if your tastes might be the same as what is popular among proles?

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 12:50 am

    • Agree that steak isn’t the best thing for one’s well-being on a regular basis (not to mention its cost these days), but once every two weeks or so is a well-deserved treat. I like mine medium (well-done is like eating leather), but reveal my prole roots by drowning it in a combination of A1, Worcestershire, and (if available) Heinz or other barbecue sauce too.

      sestamibi

      March 6, 2017 at 3:17 pm

      • Agree 100% on the A1 sauce, Worcestershire or even barbecue sauce are also fine. But ketchup? Too me you are ruining the steak if you eat it with Ketchup. I see that as a bridge too far.

        Otis the Sweaty

        March 6, 2017 at 9:34 pm

  8. The brouhaha over President Trump eating his steak well done with ketchup reminds me once again of an important benefit of being prole, which is that you can eat whatever you want anyway you want to.

    There’s a lot of food you can’t eat, especially as a prole man, because people would accuse you of being gay. Go tell a bunch of prole guys how you think Americans can’t make a proper croissant and see what kind of reaction you get.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real_Men_Don't_Eat_Quiche

    Magnavox

    March 6, 2017 at 2:26 pm

    • Pronouncing it “qwaasawn” would provide them hours of hilarity.

      snorlaxwp

      March 6, 2017 at 3:15 pm

  9. As a kid, I always had medium rare steak with my parents, but found it too difficult to chew. I had prolish middle class family members who cooked it well done, which I liked, much to my parents’ chagrin.

    I enjoy steak when it’s succulent now. Who knows, that might be a thing about prole tastes – they’re essentially juvenile preferences.

    On the other hand, well done steak with eggs in the morning is a great way to start off a busy, active day. British factory workers in the 19th century worked long, cruel hours, doing lots of intense, physical work, so they knew a thing or two about preparing a hearty breakfast.

    Sid

    March 6, 2017 at 2:26 pm

    • >>As a kid, I always had medium rare steak with my parents, but found it too difficult to chew.

      More than a few times I’ve damn near choked to death on a rare steak. I’m very wary around steak.

      Daniel

      March 6, 2017 at 5:45 pm

      • Rare steak also gets stuck in between your teeth like it’s nobody’s business, which is very irritating. Steak and corn are foods which practically demanding flossing after you’ve eaten them.

        Sid

        March 6, 2017 at 8:01 pm

  10. It’s uncanny how steak temperature is such a reliable class indicator. While growing up in the 80’s I remember my father’s upper middle class side of the family always ordering steak medium rare. My mom’s lower middle class family always ordered steak well done. I have seen this play out time and time again amongst friends and associates.

    B.T.D.T.

    March 6, 2017 at 2:27 pm

    • I was at a Japanese steak place and was seated with a black family. The matron, although only mid-50’s, ordered the shrimp and filet migon insisted that the chef dude keep cooking and cooking the steak *and* the shrimp. We had basically finished eating when her food came off.

      I’d imagine that it dates from times when there were a lot of questionable meats around.

      Lion o' the Turambar

      March 6, 2017 at 4:49 pm

    • At least mom got her hypergamy priorities in line and married up.

      Curle

      March 6, 2017 at 10:17 pm

  11. There’s nothing like a good steak. I love ribeyes cooked medium rare (with a glass of bourbon). However, on occasion, I have overcooked my steak to medium and it was still delicious.

    I generally dislike grass fed steaks. They’re more expensive but the taste is really no better. The meat lacks the fat content that I like and is simply tougher and less flavorful. Also, with grass fed beef there is less room for error (you can seriously overcook your steak even if you’re paying attention).

    Liberals and SWPLs are very self-conscious about the food they eat as they recognize its link to social status. The whole “Trump puts ketchup on steaks” meme allows them to feel superior to prole whites. With Trump, the joke is on them. Trump has lots to be proud of so he doesn’t need to show off any hipster food preferences. If anything, his preference for well done steaks with ketchup shows he’s high status (“I’m a big shot break the rules cuz this is how I like it.”)

    SWPL2

    March 6, 2017 at 2:38 pm

    • “If anything, his preference for well done steaks with ketchup shows he’s high status…”

      Catsup. Spell it C-A-T-S-U-P. A higher end way to put it. Or so I’m told…

      Vincent

      March 6, 2017 at 4:05 pm

      • Magnavox

        March 6, 2017 at 5:33 pm

    • Jokes on you.

      You do understand that all cows are grass-fed, right? At the end, before cattle are slaughtered, they are fed corn until they reach a weight of 1200 pounds. This is called “feeder cattle.”

      Grass-fed is generally not good. You want the marbling from the corn-fed cattle.

      map

      March 6, 2017 at 5:08 pm

      • The all-grass-fed cattle with have more omega 3 and less omega 6 fat, and more closely resemble the fat ratio our ancestors have been consuming for millions of years.

        I’ve never done a real side-by-side of grass v corn beef, however fancy grass fed cow milk tastes much better than regular milk.

        ZZZY

        March 6, 2017 at 6:33 pm

      • In other words, you may be prole, but the cows whose meat you’re eating have to be SWPL?

        Maryk

        March 6, 2017 at 8:02 pm

      • There are a lot of cattle ranchers is the Amarillo, Texas area. When I visited there and saw the cows eating “grass” I laughed and called them genuine weed-fed beef. The weeds, I mean grass in some areas can’t really be all that great. Just sayin.

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 12:56 am

      • This is correct. There are different grass qualities and not all grass has enough nutrients to support meat consumption level cattle. With sheep this can often mean they are only used for wool and not meat.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        March 8, 2017 at 1:51 pm

    • Fussell said that TOOS like to drink wine out of boxes.

      Curle

      March 6, 2017 at 10:21 pm

  12. “If I went to a steak restaurant, I would have to order the steak medium rare, even if that’s not the way I wanted to eat it.”

    Could you explain this to me? I think I’m missing something vital here, but WHY exactly do you have to order your steak a way you wouldn’t prefer? Is this to please the cook? The wait staff?

    Of course, I’m prole so maybe the answer is obvious to non proles, but what are you trying to prove and to whom are you trying to prove it too?

    Mike Street Station

    March 6, 2017 at 2:46 pm

    • This is just so simple: Lion is obsessed with status and like all status conscious people is a phony to a degree. I eat my stake well done like most Russians, but if I wanted to eat it uncooked, I would. Like I’ve said a million times: the prescription for happiness is being yourself and operating on your own level. Some have more, some have less, but you are who you are just make the most of it. Incidentally, I’m usually the only one having the stake well done. I notice that it bothers some people, but ask me if I care.

      Yakov

      March 6, 2017 at 3:15 pm

      • It’s a lot easier to just be prole. All of these class markers are foolish.

        Mike Street Station

        March 6, 2017 at 4:01 pm

      • There was once a time when proles aspired to have upper class values. With the debasement of everything good, so goes the artisticracy as an aspiration model. The hoi-poloi rule now.

        As goes the aspiration model, so goes our civilization. You think proles are going to read Tolstoy?

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        March 8, 2017 at 1:53 pm

    • I can’t imagine them caring how he chooses to eat his steak

      grey enlightenment

      March 6, 2017 at 4:34 pm

      • “I can’t imagine them caring how he chooses to eat his steak”

        They care about anything that makes Trump look bad. And for the elites this is further proof that Trump is low-class.

        Lewis Medlock

        March 7, 2017 at 12:55 pm

    • The reason why you eat a steak medium rare at a good steak place is because the meat is dry-aged, meaning much of the moisture has been removed to intensify the flavor. Preparing such a steak well done could potentially toughen it into leather, especially the exterior. You end up with a soft grey interior and a tough leathery exterior.

      Good steak places warn against well-done, meaning they will not let you return the steak if you do not like the preparation.

      That said, in other contexts, well-done steak is fine. You’re not going to get dry-aged beef at, say, a diner…so ordering s skirt steakand eggs with the steak well-done is perfectly fine. The moisture will keep it tender. You can also cook steak well done with meat that is heavily brined and seasoned.

      map

      March 6, 2017 at 5:05 pm

      • Thank you.

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 12:58 am

    • I’ve heard from multiple sources that the cooking and wait staff will not only mock you behind your back but also give you half spoilt meat or worse.

      Magnavox

      March 6, 2017 at 5:37 pm

      • Good reason not to eat out.

        Rosenmop

        March 6, 2017 at 7:05 pm

    • We commenters should know better by now than to try asking Lion any questions. He approves your comment but doesn’t respond to the question.

      Hermes

      March 6, 2017 at 11:21 pm

      • That’s not true. I was asked about what Frank McCourt was like, and I responded with a new post.

      • Okay, but some questions are dumb, so you can’t blame him. I was just reading Dienekes anthropology blog and some of the questions people ask and expect responses to are, well, I would ignore them, too.

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 1:01 am

  13. Fear of parasites, probably. He apparently enjoys the meat well-done, and it doesn’t have to be tough and dry, if you know how to cook it. Tomatoes and beef go well together, and you put ketchup on hamburgers, right? Makes a lot of sense.

    “I did it my way.”

    The “proles” do what makes sense to them. The rest are slaves to arbitrary man-made social rules.

    maga

    March 6, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    • There are no parasites in American meat… Even pork is safe to consume raw, albeit gross.

      Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

      March 8, 2017 at 1:55 pm

  14. I don’t know any proles that actually eat steak with ketchup. Nor do I think well done steak is a prole thing. Rare, red meat sounds like one of those prole things SWLPs picked up.

    Jimi

    March 6, 2017 at 3:17 pm

  15. One of my friends told me a story to explain why he would not eat sushi. He grew up in a small town. There was a lake nearby. Guys would go there to catch fish. They would then sell at the town market. That particular lake fish had a real bad tape worm infestation. The intestines of the fish were so filled with tape worms that the digestion process did not work well and the fish became bloated and could only swim at the surface. So, it was easy to catch it with a fishing net from a boat. They would remove intestines and then sell that fish at the market.

    My Two Cents

    March 6, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    • Lake fish are not generally consumed raw. Traditional sushi is pretty much just tuna and its close relatives, which are very clean.

      ZZZY

      March 6, 2017 at 6:25 pm

      • Eating raw fish is disgusting because of all the parasites. But tuna does nothing but eat raw fish all its life. So eating raw tuna must be clean and safe and fresh.

        owentt

        March 6, 2017 at 7:33 pm

      • Proper sushi grade fish preparation involves flash freezing the fish at -40 degrees for 24-36 hours to kill off the parasites. Anybody eating raw fish straight out of the water is an idiot.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        March 8, 2017 at 1:56 pm

    • Almost all sushi in America is frozen, which kills the parasites.

      PerezHBD

      March 6, 2017 at 10:00 pm

      • Wasabi kills parasites. Cayenne pepper may be effective as well.

        Lewis Medlock

        March 7, 2017 at 11:22 am

  16. I must be in another universe because when I was growing up, the true test of manhood was eating steak and burgers rare. Just wave it over the fire once and you were done.

    I like my steaks somewhere between rare and medium rare. I don’t know what to call it. Wave it over the fire twice?

    gothamette

    March 6, 2017 at 3:28 pm

    • I like my steaks somewhere between rare and medium rare. I don’t know what to call it. Wave it over the fire twice?

      Rare-plus.

      The Undiscovered Jew

      March 6, 2017 at 7:34 pm

      • Steak tar tar is becoming prole.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        March 8, 2017 at 1:57 pm

    • Was this a male oneupsmanship sort of thing or were the gals impressed by the exercise?

      Curle

      March 6, 2017 at 10:57 pm

      • What’s this “or” – yes it was male one upmanship, and yes, gals were impressed.

        I just thought of something. If it’s true as Lion says that proles like steak well done, then that may be a result of the dreaded feminization of culture.

        But I swear that eating steak rare was a guy thing when I was growing up and I grew up uber prole.

        gothamette

        March 7, 2017 at 12:18 pm

  17. Texans have solved the well-done steak = bad problem. It’s called brisket. Even Austin SWPL’s eat brisket.

    marty

    March 6, 2017 at 3:30 pm

    • Brisket was well liked by my Ashkenazi grandparents.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 6, 2017 at 3:34 pm

      • Jews eat too much meat and don’t exercise enough. Very unhealthy.

        Yakov

        March 6, 2017 at 4:04 pm

  18. Speaking of food, have you heard that the alt-right is now using milk as a symbol of Aryan greatness? Because non-Aryans are lactose intolerant.

    I’m lactose tolerant and I grew up drinking milk. We drank milk with steak. We sure did. We even drank it with pizza.

    gothamette

    March 6, 2017 at 3:30 pm

    • What about lactose tolerant Jews?

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 6, 2017 at 3:34 pm

      • Ashkenazim Jews ARE European. They are from Europe.

        Rosenmop

        March 6, 2017 at 5:12 pm

      • Supposedly most Jews are lactose intolerant but I can’t be bothered to look up the stats. I’m lactose tolerant.

        gothamette

        March 6, 2017 at 5:23 pm

      • Day walkers? Milk walkers?

        Stealth

        March 6, 2017 at 7:44 pm

      • “Supposedly most Jews are lactose intolerant but I can’t be bothered to look up the stats. I’m lactose tolerant.”

        So now, good liberal parents can no longer give their children milk because…you know…racism. And imagine walking into a public school and seeing milk served at lunch? Triggered!

        Sounds like something that could actually happen in a year or two.

        Mike Street Station

        March 7, 2017 at 6:27 am

      • @Rosenmop – on mommy’s side. Daddy is Near Eastern, mostly. Kind of what you’d expect.

        gothamette

        March 7, 2017 at 12:19 pm

    • I love cheese and other dairy products, but the thought of drinking a glass of milk seems kind of nasty to me. Even as a small child, it had to have chocolate syrup mixed in before I would touch it. My father’s side of the family, milk drinkers all, were quite confounded by this aversion.

      Stealth

      March 6, 2017 at 7:42 pm

      • I like milk but I don’t drink it regularly. A Korean naturopath once told me that I should drink it because of my ancestry. I wonder what he meant by that. I think he thought I was just regular Northern European, because that’s what I look like.

        gothamette

        March 6, 2017 at 9:57 pm

      • gothamette,

        Functional medicine people think that invisible food intolerances are rampant, and that different ancestral, or ethnic, groups will have different intolerances.

        One of the ways they make money is testing for that sort of stuff.

        PS: Don’t give those people your money. They prey on two groups: hypochondriacs with more money than sense, and people who serious health problems who are grasping for straws. I was in the latter camp a couple of years ago, and I will always resent the people who took advantage of me.

        Stealth

        March 7, 2017 at 7:06 pm

    • Lactose tolerance is not strictly European; Indians, East Africans, and Middle Eastern people are also generally lactose tolerant.

      markus

      March 6, 2017 at 8:24 pm

      • http://milk.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000661

        Cheese & yoghurt are fermented & don’t have lactase. You can always catch a SWPL phony that way. It’s just milk that has lactose. Ice cream as well, I think.

        gothamette

        March 6, 2017 at 10:02 pm

      • Right. When people tell me they can’t eat cheese because they are lactose intolerant, I explain that the bugs that turn it into cheese eat the lactose, so there is little if any in cheese. Ice cream has lactose, too.

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 1:04 am

      • @not too late, I looked it up and it seems that certain cheese (aged ones) are mostly lactose free, and other cheese have lactose. Right, ice cream has lactose. I was surprised to read that kefir has lactose but yogurt doesn’t. I guess that the kefir bacilli don’t metabolize the lactose but yogurt bacilli do.

        The thing about Ashkenazi Jews is that broadly we are a mixed population with maternal lineage coming from S. Europe (and were they lactose tolerant? I don’t think so….) and pop coming from Near East. My guess is that lactose tolerance in A-Jews would derive from maternal genes picked up on the trek to Eastern Europe, picking up lactose tolerant brides along the way. Add to that picture gene expression, i.e., how a girl would inherit genes from this lactose tolerant maternal ancestor. It’s complicated, but the big picture is that the chances of inheriting such a gene (and bear in mind it is only one gene) would result in a mostly lactose intolerant population.

        I am Ashkenazi Jewish. I am lactose tolerant (LT). I have blue eyes. But the LT is based on gene while the eye color is polygenetic. I have a bunch of ancestors with blue eyes and a bunch of ancestors with LT. But the chances of my genes expressing the polygenetic trait are greater than the chances of my expressing a single gene trait.

        At least, that’s the way I look at it. I welcome corrections from a person who has really studied this.

        gothamette

        March 7, 2017 at 12:26 pm

  19. Prole food repackaged to appeal to SWPLs – http://www.boredpanda.com/junk-food-rebrand-dan-meth/

    alex

    March 6, 2017 at 3:38 pm

    • Meh. SWPL food packaging really isn’t that twee. The Four Loko he just transformed from a prole male drink to a prole female drink (wine coolers).

      snorlaxwp

      March 6, 2017 at 4:34 pm

      • SWPLs can eat prole food if it’s packaged as campy. Frex, I’ve seen SWPL weddings with Twinkie wedding cakes. Of course they weren’t real Twinkies, but angel food baked to look like Twinkies. And so on.

        gothamette

        March 7, 2017 at 12:29 pm

  20. In my experience, the better the steak, the rarer I prefer it. Also, when ordering you have to take into account the area preferences. it seems like medium means medium rare in the South and medium well in the North. Yankees seem to like their steaks closer to well done, not sure why.
    Maybe the prole association with well done comes from the fact that low quality steaks are best cooked that way?

    Jehu

    March 6, 2017 at 3:54 pm

  21. A cloyingly sweet sauce like ketchup just masks flavors with food that isn’t fried. And what a waste to cook the best aged steaks well done. May as well mix 18 year old single malt scotch with coca cola.
    I love how his very existence is one big punch in the face to SWPL posers but as has been pointed out, even plenty of proles enjoy medium rare steaks with A1 if anything at all other than maybe a basic rub.
    Honestly, his tastes border on underclass. How about some fruit flavored soda with the steaks? And some dollar store brand oreo cookies with hydrogenated oil in them for dessert?
    Same goes with all the gold bling he likes. Upper proles who learn trades and own small businesses wouldn’t be caught dead with that stuff.

    Giovanni Dannato

    March 6, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    • I don’t really understand the purpose of using anything but the cheapest liquor for mixed drinks.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 6, 2017 at 4:46 pm

      • Ummm–cheaper liquor drinks taste far worse. Try a cocktail at the Mandarin Oriental, then make at home w cheap and again w expensive liquour. The latter will taste a lot more like the one from the Mandarin.

        RobT

        March 6, 2017 at 6:02 pm

      • In some cases there’s a difference. A lot of the cheap stuff is made with adjuncts, especially when you’re talking about tequila and scotch.

        Stealth

        March 6, 2017 at 7:47 pm

      • In law school we’d play penny poker and drink margaritas every Thursday night. We experimented with lots of different tequilas in the margarita mix, and the more expensive tequilas (>= Cuervo gold) were far less likely to cause headaches. If we used cheap tequila we’d really feel it the next morning. We weren’t binge drinkers or anything, but when mixing the margaritas we were pretty generous with the tequila, and after you’ve had a a few stiff drinks, the cheap tequila really hits you hard. I have had similar experiences with other mixed drinks, i.e. rum and coke, vodka tonics, etc. — the more expensive liquor is easier to tolerate. I don’t really drink any more, so not sure if this an immutable law of nature or anything, but when I used to drink the more expensive liquor was easier to tolerate the next day.

        Joe Schmoe

        March 6, 2017 at 8:14 pm

  22. Well if you’re going to eat steak well done, ketchup isn’t really a bad option. It’s like an expensive, chewy hamburger at that point. Trump simply doesn’t have a fancy palate. So what?

    Also, on Eater someone wrote a long article about Trump’s steak eating, the gist of which was: “I have no problem with how anyone eats steak, but Trump eating it well done makes him a horrible person.” What a surprise.

    peterike

    March 6, 2017 at 4:33 pm

  23. Lion, what does this have to do with being prole? It has to do with being a real person and nothing else.

    Yakov

    March 6, 2017 at 4:34 pm

  24. The last time I went to Outback Steakhouse I ordered my steak “extra-well done, no red meat; and bring the A1 steak sauce.” The cook came out of the kitchen to see what kind of person would eat a steak like that. It was delicious!

    E. Rekshun

    March 6, 2017 at 5:22 pm

  25. General Kelly, the more moderate alternative to Kris Kobach, has turned out all right:

    IHTG

    March 6, 2017 at 5:43 pm

    • I watched Kelly’s confirmation hearing like a hawk understanding that he was going to be among the most important appointments since DHS is responsible for enforcing immigration law. I was surprised to that he got only one round of questioning and the hearing was over in 2-3 hours. He clearly was not targeted for obstruction like Sessions, DeVos, Price, etc.

      But his answers were actually pretty good. He held a hard line on enforcement throughout the hearing saying repeatedly that he would be guided by the law (which is clear for all illegal immigrants) while acknowledging that law enforcement requires setting priorities since resources are not infinite.

      I was pleasantly surprised with his answers in the hearing even though he has since, perhaps, equivocated a couple of times in public statements. Enough to give some concern to VDare. We still haven’t been given an explanation why Kobach was passed over. My optimistic hunch is that, seeing enforcing immigration law as a massive logistical operation, Trump wanted a man with military experience

      Andrew E.

      March 6, 2017 at 7:05 pm

      • Because Flake, Graham, and McCain would have deep sixed him and Trump didn’t want to take a L.

        PerezHBD

        March 6, 2017 at 10:05 pm

      • well, deporting illegals that you already have in custody is a no brainer even if they are in a low priority category.

        no too late

        March 7, 2017 at 1:09 am

    • The line about separating the children reminds me of the strategy utilized by some northern states in the antebellum as they outlawed slavery. Conditions for emancipation included provisions whereby slave owners were given a time period to sell their slaves out of state or risk having them set free, but they weren’t allowed to sell just one member of a slave family but had to sell them all or they could sell none; effectively guaranteeing that entire black families were relocated to slave states because the cost of freeing any slaves was prohibitively high. So for several of the northern states ending slavery resulted in an exodus south of the vast majority of their black population. These states weren’t concerned with the improvement of their former slaves but the expulsion of their black populations. And once the slaves were relocated and the northern owners profits taken, these same states began agitating to force the recolonization of those now residing in the South to locations outside the nation altogether. In other words, from the outset the anti-slavery movement was dominated by a desire to remove the black population entirely from the borders of the United States. The ‘moral’ question of slavery was simply a truncheon utilized to speed along that result.

      Curle

      March 7, 2017 at 12:40 am

      • There’s a big moral difference between not wanting to live with blacks and using them for slave labor.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 7, 2017 at 9:35 am

  26. All of you seem to be making a Big Fucking Deal of Trump eating Steak with Catsup or ketchup. I remember a commercial awhile back that had someone putting A-1 steak sauce on hamburgers, because its chopped beef and not ham. Why all the care about condiments? Having steak rare nowadays is actually dangerous. I think FDA or Department of Agriculture issued a warning about bacteria in meat and told people to cook steak to well done for food safety. They don’t have a lot of neighborhood butchers anymore. Almost all the meat you get is cut in giant factory slaughterhouses with migrant workers and horrifying tales of guts and feces lying on the floor for hours or even days. Not liking steak well-done could have you in the ER with stomach pumps and dry heaves for hours.

    Joshua Sinistar

    March 6, 2017 at 6:21 pm

    • owentt

      March 6, 2017 at 7:38 pm

    • The FDA recommends steak be cooked to 145, which is basically medium rare plus.

      I just finished a delicious serving of steak tartare, which I suppose is not FDA recommended. I also love sushi. Ideally, I’d be eating beef I butchered myself, but I think it’s pretty beta to worry too much about our basically safe food supply. I eat runny eggs, rare and raw meat constantly, and I’ve gotten food poisoning once. It was worth it.

      As someone said upthread, a lot of prole tastes are really just juvenile tastes. We all liked hot dogs with ketchup as kids. There is a cultural sense that, as adults, we should broaden ourselves and seek to enjoy a more complex range of experiences than 4-year-olds. I don’t think this is just a SWPL value — I think it’s valued to some degree by cultured people in all civilized places, or at least all places that have a culinary tradition of any kind.

      It’s also very easy to make sweet things palatable. You can drown anything in sugar (which ketchup basically is) and it will taste like sugar, which is ok. Most of human cooking effort is applied to making savory things as delicious as possible.

      Wency

      March 6, 2017 at 10:35 pm

  27. On another forum, someone posted this old New Yorker article from Anthony Bourdain:
    http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1999/04/19/dont-eat-before-reading-this

    People who order their meat well-done perform a valuable service for those of us in the business who are cost-conscious: they pay for the privilege of eating our garbage. In many kitchens, there’s a time-honored practice called “save for well-done.” When one of the cooks finds a particularly unlovely piece of steak—tough, riddled with nerve and connective tissue, off the hip end of the loin, and maybe a little stinky from age—he’ll dangle it in the air and say, “Hey, Chef, whaddya want me to do with this?” Now, the chef has three options. He can tell the cook to throw the offending item into the trash, but that means a total loss, and in the restaurant business every item of cut, fabricated, or prepared food should earn at least three times the amount it originally cost if the chef is to make his correct food-cost percentage. Or he can decide to serve that steak to “the family”—that is, the floor staff—though that, economically, is the same as throwing it out. But no. What he’s going to do is repeat the mantra of cost-conscious chefs everywhere: “Save for well-done.” The way he figures it, the philistine who orders his food well-done is not likely to notice the difference between food and flotsam.

    Vince

    March 6, 2017 at 6:54 pm

    • I think I know what forum – I’m surprised you go there.

      onepercgrl

      March 7, 2017 at 6:24 pm

  28. an important benefit of being prole, which is that you can eat whatever you want anyway you want to. If I went to a steak restaurant, I would have to order the steak medium rare, even if that’s not the way I wanted to eat it.

    This goes to a point Fussell made in his book about what the lower and upper classes have in common. The lower class does what it wants because it’s already on the bottom. The upper class does what it wants because it’s already on top. But the middle class is always trying to climb higher while scared of falling lower. So they’re continually status signalling while bashing others. While you don’t want to do something humiliating like getting drunk and throwing up at an office party, worrying about what a bunch of middle class knuckleheads think about your steak is neurotic. Eat your steak the way you like it.

    destructure

    March 6, 2017 at 6:59 pm

  29. My theory is that SWPLs are actually the real proles. They would never put ketchup on a steak for fear of what their neighbor thinks! What kind of subhuman lives like that!? Always worried over what everyone will think of everything you do. True slavery.

    Really smart and really dumb people do as they please.

    Trump puts ketchup on his burnt to a crisp steak. SWPLs with 300k in college debt making 10/hr pushing out 30 clickbait articles a day to pay for their pink hair dye and all that metal shit they put in their face and the deductible on their abortions?

    No thanks. SWPLs are boring proles who are afraid of enjoyment and fun in life, unlike really smart people like Trump who are capable of real self-actualization, not faux-actualization of trying to fit in with mediocre urbanites, or really dumbs who don’t have the intellectual capacity to give two shits what someone thinks about them and their joy of dipping their meat in what sauces.

    SWPLs make me nauseous to my core- I revolt against them and their pedantic hivemind boring lives- they utterly lack humanity or any kind of real agency!

    jjbees

    March 6, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    • One good thing about living in the South is that nobody worries about how putting ketchup on steak looks to other people. There are plenty of people who argue that it ruins the flavor, but it’s definitely not considered a class marker. I am a proud ketchup user. And while I always take my steak medium rare, I’m going to order a well-done ribeye the next time I’m out – in honor of us proles.

      By the way, why is ketchup considered low class but A1 isn’t? The stuff is cheap and can be had at any grocery store in America; it’s not like you’re eating anything special. Plus it’s really sour and overpowering, so it distracts from the flavor of the steak even more than ketchup. Is it because we think that at least a little pain should accompany our pleasure? Tough-guy-ism? (Look at me and how grown up I am! I’m eating something that makes my food taste LESS GOOD!)

      Stealth

      March 6, 2017 at 10:04 pm

      • A1 on steak is also prole, just less prole than ketchup.

        snorlaxwp

        March 6, 2017 at 10:41 pm

    • A Parisian couple whom I know, once lived in NYC, had a stint at a French restaurant as chefs, were astonished by these boring and soulless ghouls that inhabit Manhattan and other SWPL nooks, walking their dogs and daily workouts. French people don’t exercise. They walk wherever they go, and they don’t show their dogs in public.

      JS

      March 6, 2017 at 11:45 pm

      • JS, was it the French or the Getmans who legalized bestiality? Maybe both? I think this is why they don’t walk the dog in public, because that relationship will becomr very apparent. How these French dogs stay healthy if they don’t go out? I think you are just slicing baloney: a dog that doesn’t exercise will bite you and die.

        Yakov

        March 7, 2017 at 11:10 am

      • The US ranks no 1 in the world when it comes to dog ownership.

        Maybe it’s prole to keep dogs as pets!

        JS

        March 7, 2017 at 5:53 pm

    • Civilization is built on people worrying about their neighbors think about them. The most interesting, creative civilizations – Victorian England, Edo Japan, Eisenhower-era America, Wilhelmine Germany – were all based around thousands of unspoken rules governing daily life and public behavior. Eventually rebellious creative types and proles rebel against the rules and everything goes to hell. A civilization based on prole values or just “everyone do what they want” is no civilization at all, you might as well live in Africa.

      Peter Akuleyev

      March 7, 2017 at 4:25 am

  30. It might just be a British Isles thing picked up from his mother. Half my family is in Northern Ireland and they all eat everything well done. I always thought of rarer meat as being an American thing that has nothing to do with class.

    J

    March 6, 2017 at 11:38 pm

    • This true for Russians and Tajiks. Never heard of anything not well done. I had to finish my Tajik’s steak once because it wasn’t cooked enough for him. I would’ve wanted better cooked myself, but we didn’t want to bother the rich customer who was treating us.

      Yakov

      March 7, 2017 at 11:14 am

  31. Lion, resharing this.

    Lion, left ignoramuses attacking the US/worker culture…I’m amazed at the nonsense on Trump liking well-done steak (or eating fried chicken or pizza with a fork, especially by the middle aged as they develop jaw problems, as done by Southern and NY homes and in Europe) . Here is a debunking article from several years ago: https://www.thrillist.com/eat/nation/is-ordering-well-done-steak-bad-in-defense-of-the-well-done-steak-and-those-who-order-it and here is a study on US habits https://fivethirtyeight.com/datalab/how-americans-like-their-steak/

    Many people like steak medium to well-done, indeed as the article suggests about a third of the US population and especially if there is a German thing going in my experience, and it is traditional among many families in the US though declining as more people discover the wonders of a rarer ‘Texas’ steak. Chefs prefer you order it rarer, so that may be a factor in the outcry, as many DON’T know how to prepare a well-done steak and feel they can’t uncook a steak you feel is too cooked but can always adjust a rarer steak.

    Mom might do it so-so, but a high-priced chef who can’t produce a flavorful, juicy, well-done steak (which will taste somewhat like a Pot-Roast) should be fired. Not just the US. When I was in Argentina years ago they served a small well-done steak as a side with everything but ice cream, and they were all very tasty.

    BTW, the New York Strip cut Trump eats is particularly suited to being well-done and is traditionally served with ketchup or a tomato dish–regular US spicy ketchup, once known as ‘diablo sauce’–since Diamond Jim Brady popularized the dish over a century ago down the street from where Trump lives. A variant is a side of tomatoes with a sweet-spicy sauce, as done at Peter Luger’s.

    Ignoramuses

    Robert

    March 7, 2017 at 3:48 am

    • “a sweet-spicy sauce, as done at Peter Luger’s.”

      Peter Luger sauce is a must-have for many steaks. Great stuff.

      peterike

      March 8, 2017 at 3:37 pm


Comments are closed.

