Lion of the Blogosphere

Overwatch review, part 2

This game is played from a first-person point of view, so you don’t see your own character, you just see your gun (or other weapon) and a target which is where your bullets (or whatever else) will hit when you fire your weapon by clicking on the left mouse button. I guess that’s why this genre of game is called a “first-person shooter.”

In contrast, role-playing games like World of Warcraft or Final Fantasy XIV are commonly played with the camera behind you so that you do see your own character.

Overwatch is played in teams of 6 v 6, and your team wins a match by accomplishing an objective. The objective is basically to stand in some location for a certain period of time, or prevent the other team from doing that. Theoretically you don’t actually have to kill anyone to win a match, but for the most part, the only way to win is to clear the objective area of enemies by killing them.

There are a whole bunch of different playing fields (or maps), and you are randomly assigned to one when you start a match. Multiple maps make the game extra difficult for new players because you need to learn such a large number of maps. At my point in playing, I can’t say that I have a good understanding of any of the maps.

The graphics are pretty, but in keeping with Blizzard’s philosophy of making their games accessible to players with lesser computer hardware, they are not as super-detailed and realistic as some other modern games.

The game has voice chat built into it. So far on the noob levels, no one is using the voice chat, but I am sure that if I ever get good enough at the game to move up in the rankings, the voice chat will make the game a lot more immersive and allow you to coordinate strategies with your team members. I am also sure that the downside of voice chat will be that immature teammates will curse you out for not playing as well as they think you ought to.

There are more than twenty different “heroes” you can play. Each hero has different weapons and abilities.

I have found, so far, that the hardest heroes to play are those with low hit points and special movement abilities. The theory behind these heroes is that they use their movement abilities to sneak up or surprise the enemy. For example, Pharah has a jetpack that has about two seconds of fuel (which recharges pretty quickly when not being used), which allows Pharah to get up on the roofs and fly briefly over the battlefield. While I’ve suffered many deaths from a Pharah hovering over me and gunning me down before I could figure out what was happening, when actually playing Pharah I was not able to pull off anything cool like that.

I’ve found that Bastion is an easy hero to play. Bastion can go into turret mode in which he can’t move but his weapon turns into a super-powerful long-range machine gun that can mow down enemies very quickly if you are able to keep your target on them. Because you can’t move, you don’t have to pay attention to anything besides aiming your machine gun. You also can self-heal, by clicking the right mouse button, which makes you a lot more defensive because any damage that doesn’t finish you off can be quickly repaired. Of course, not being able to move makes it hard to take objectives because you are not moving towards them, and while you will never take anyone by surprise, those mobile enemies will definitely take you by surprise and then you can’t get away because you’re immobile.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

March 10, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Posted in Nerdy stuff

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you like seeing your character, you should try “World of World of Warcraft.”:

    fortaleza84

    March 10, 2017 at 4:24 pm

  2. I think that if you feel that you are too old to learn to program in a new language or to play a video game, maybe you should start shopping for a burial plot. I think it’s nice to chose your own spot and memorial. I know that I’m gonna buy one in Israel and I’m gonna do it pretty soon. It makes sense because the price keeps going up. Also, you can make sure that you get the right neighbors. You don’t wanna lay just next to anyone.

    Reminds me of a joke. Three Jews are talking. One goes:
    – When you die, whom would you like to lay next to?
    – Abraham Lincoln – goes one.
    – Teddy Roosevelt – goes the other.
    – Sarah Klein – goes the third.
    – But she is still alive?! – exclaim his friends.
    – But so am I!

    😉

    Yakov

    March 10, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    • Who’s Sarah Klein? Never heard of her.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 10, 2017 at 5:13 pm

      • Well, it’s a joke, you know. She’s nobody famous, but she is alive and that’s the point.

        Yakov

        March 10, 2017 at 5:38 pm

  3. I don’t have the hardware for Overwatch (or, frankly, the time), but I did once pour over a thousand hours into the game it’s based on: Team Fortress (and Team Fortress 2). One of the challenges with TF2 was that players would obsess over their stats, myself included. Damage/Healing points, kill-to-to-death ratio, and so on. Players would be so concerned about their stats that they wouldn’t play the objective. I read that the creators of Overwatch made the explicit decision to conceal stats from players.

    I never did care for the voice chat because you’d get wannabe DJs who spam their shitty music, abusive assholes who took the game way too seriously (like me) and, of course, sqweakers (prepubescent boys with annoyingly high-pitched voices, often earnestly advising their losing team to do dumb shit).

    Vince

    March 10, 2017 at 5:32 pm

    • The hardware for Overwatch is only:

      1. Any computer with at least an i3 processor and a PCIe x16 slot for a video card.
      2. A midrange Nvida card like the new 1050 GTX series which start at only $110 is more than powerful enough to run Overwatch at 60 FPS. This is a low power card so it doesn’t need a big power supply and doesn’t even require a separate power hookup. (I bought the “Ti” version which is slightly more powerful and costs me $140.)

      http://www.pcworld.com/article/3134528/components-graphics/nvidia-geforce-gtx-1050-and-gtx-1050-ti-review-the-new-budget-gaming-champions.html

      This is very inexpensive compared to SWPL entertainment like foreign vacations. Even a night at the opera is probably more expensive. For example, orchestra level seats to La Traviata at Lincoln Center start at $115 and go up to $300 for a weeknight performance.

      The inexpensiveness of videogames is why they are popular entertainment for the non-employed.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 10, 2017 at 5:44 pm

      • I realized one of the problems with video-games as a hobby is that it’s utterly meaningless (unless, I suppose, one develops lasting friendships). Instead I spend some of that time working out, which improves my health and appearance. This costs less than the rat-race of PC upgrading since I lift weights at home (or I’ll run and do pull-ups at the local park).

        Mastery in video-games is wanking, but mastery over an art or craft builds toward something, which can provide not only countless hours of enjoyment through practice, but may also have a public-social component. In your case, this blog, even if anonymous, probably proves far more enriching than World of Warcraft. The same would go for your photography hobby, which is something you can show off.

        Foreign vacations might be an example of SWPL entertainment, but a SWPL might also fashion things out of wood using their own two hands. Only a prole would “pimp” his ride, but that hobby of working on his car is, in my view, time obviously better spent than playing video-games, which are a colossal waste of energy.

        Video-games are not the kind of experiences that can be shared (again, unless one plays with the same group of people, or if it’s in competition). In essence, video games are like drugs without the nasty consequences, but also lacking the incredible stories and life experiences addicts collect.

        Vince

        March 11, 2017 at 3:24 am

      • I think you diatribe against video games boil down to them having less social approval than other activities. But with e-sports leagues that’s changing.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 11, 2017 at 7:20 am

      • You’re missing the point. Video-games are already broadly accepted and mainstream; it’s not a matter of “approval.” In my view, even something like Dungeons & Dragons would be time better spent (though not by much). Preferable nerdy, looked-down upon hobbies could include playing the accordion, mastering yo-yo tricks, or learning sleight-of-hand.

        Vince

        March 11, 2017 at 6:57 pm

  4. Speaking of SWPL vacations, I am going to Angkor Wat in a few weeks. Anyone have any tips for me?

    CamelCaseRob

    March 10, 2017 at 7:37 pm

  5. > I’ve found that Bastion is an easy hero to play….

    God damn Lion… this is all time lost that could have been spent advancing the cause of HBD. Wait what am I saying, God created HBD. God wanted men and women to be different. He created different classes and races of people, as much as it may seem unfair from our limited angle of vision.

    For all our atheist brethren, I’m with you bro. The enemy of my enemy is my friend, and all that. Actually I don’t really give a crap about the HBD acronym, but I really do think that God created the world to be a certain way, and that isn’t a sectarian thing.

    Fact Checker

    March 10, 2017 at 7:43 pm

  6. OT – article on Manhattan apt. cleaner and her intense envy for the possessions of her clients, esp. the clothes. Lots of good social observ. stuff here. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/sep/28/what-the-cleaner-saw-manhattan-new-york

    Curle

    March 10, 2017 at 7:43 pm

  7. My last experience with playing an online shooter:

    Logged in and died within 10 seconds. The 14 year old who killed me says [xxxx my screen name you need to practice more and get some skills bro].

    I’m like I just literally started playing this game seconds ago. But why argue with a retard. It’s like arguing with the internet; you lose because it’s your own time that you lose.

    So I quit the game and all multiplayer games forever.

    THE
    N
    D

    Fact Checker

    March 10, 2017 at 7:51 pm

  8. ot: Nobel Prize Winning Economist Blasts America’s “Rent-Seeking” Economy

    “That is, the fact this economy isn’t what we’ve been told. In
    reality, it’s largely a rent-seeking based system, in which a
    meaningful percentage of the people who earn the most money are
    not only not adding value to society, they’re in fact parasites
    feeding off the general public.”

    a.k.a. value transference

    morel hazard

    March 10, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    • A very hard to read post with only very minimal explanation of the economist’s theories. And if he really wants to get his ideas across to anyone but other economists, he needs to drop the term “rent-seeking” and find another name that better describes the phenomenon. Such as “value transference.”

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 10, 2017 at 8:44 pm

    • He must be reading my rambling comments on this blog about SWPL parasites who feed in our sanctuary cities (aka liberal centers).

      All the comments/advice here about getting a good career should be thrown into the toilet, even my comments about becoming a chef in America.

      Culinary Institutes in America are no different from the run in the mill colleges. You become a chef in NYC, LA and SF working in a top restaurant to serve one of these bloodsuckers for cheap.

      JS

      March 10, 2017 at 8:57 pm

      • I’ve always taken your posts seriously, because they are good.

        Curle

        March 10, 2017 at 11:09 pm

    • Thanks for that post.

      Curle

      March 10, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    • I certainly hope you’re not suggesting that we should let nobel prize winning economist set economic policy. Or that they didn’t all contradict each other so much that such a thing would even be possible.

      Magnavox

      March 11, 2017 at 4:55 am

  9. So do you like this game? You didn’t really review it, you just described it.

    I think FPS’s are gay. I like retro games. When I was a senior in High School I had mentally checked out of schoolwork and downloaded an NES emulator on which I would play old Nintendo games for free. I beat Robocop, Batman, Megaman 1 and Megaman 2.

    Batman for the NES was such a great game. I remember playing it as a little kid. It felt good to be able to come back as a teen and finally beat it.

    If we are talking about computer games, one computer game I absolutely loved as a kid was Quest for Glory: So You Want to be a Hero? My first PC RPG. Loved that game and would play it for hours.

    Otis the Sweaty

    March 11, 2017 at 4:05 am

  10. Speaking of video games – John Carmack is an immigration restrictionist. Who knew? https://my.mixtape.moe/rthear.png

    IHTG

    March 11, 2017 at 6:47 am


Comments are closed.

