Lion of the Blogosphere

Overwatch review part 3: do I like it?

Otis the Sweaty writes in a comment:

So do you like this game? You didn’t really review it, you just described it.

The concept and the graphics are fascinating, the interface is slick. I find it mildly amusing but sometimes frustrating. There definitely isn’t that addictive feeling in which I can’t wait to play the game and can’t pull myself away from the computer. I could never imagine myself being so immersed in this game that I forget to eat and sleep and eventually die, a story we occasionally hear about from Asia.

Even though Yakov doesn’t like it when I use this excuse, I think that it’s an age thing. I think that when I was 20 years old, I would have found this game a lot more enjoyable. Although I suppose that the tendency to get addicted to playing videogames is one of the things for which I should NOT envy the young. However, I think it’s related to the ability of 20-year-olds to focus on things for longer periods of time, and their greater ability to learn and absorb new experiences, and to give things their 100%. As we get older, we get set in our ways and become resistant to change, and learning new things is a type of change. For example, there are so many old people who refuse to learn how to use a smartphone.

Many other people, mostly all of them younger than me, do find Overwatch very addictive. It’s the biggest hit multiplayer videogame of 2016. Only Counter-Strike GO matches it as a most-played multiplayer first-person shooter, and the Counter-Strike franchise has been around for sixteen years while Overwatch is less than a year old. It takes time for top games to pick up a playerbase (unlike lesser games which peak the month they are released and then die off). Overwatch is still in the expansion phase.

I personally found Vainglory, a “MOBA” for the iPad a much more enjoyable experience. It doesn’t require any precise aiming, you just tap the enemy you want to fire at (or use a stylus, I use a Bamboo stylus) and your character attacks. I find it a lot easier to play than the most popular PC MOBA, League of Legends, because it’s a lot easier to tap the enemy on a touchscreen than it is to find him with your mouse pointer. While I still lack the quick reflexes necessary to make it to the very top of Vainglory rankings, I’m an above average player because the game also involves a lot of strategy and slower tactical thinking.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

March 11, 2017 at 10:22 am

Posted in Nerdy stuff

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I stopped playing videogames when I was about 19 because, even back then, there’d been no innovations, no fresh game concepts since I was 15. The production values kept improving — better graphics, better sound effects and music — but the gameplay itself had stagnated.

    And since I quit playing videogames, I see that no one’s created anything new. I see the same old Ultima-style RPGs, WoW-style strategy games, and first-person shooters. Even back when I was a teenager, we would network our computers and play games against each other, though it was much more kludgy back then because we had to lug a bunch of tower computers and CRT monitors into one room and connect cables every which way. Wireless and flatscreens are a big improvement, though in concept no different from the ’90s.

    Lion, you may have stopped videogaming because you’ve seen it all a hundred times so it’s hard to get excited about yet another first-person shooter or RPG. In other words, you’re mature.

    hard9bf

    March 11, 2017 at 11:03 am

    • Overwatch is the first first-person shooter game that I’ve ever played. I never did play the original Doom.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 11, 2017 at 11:58 am

      • You may consider the game to be more fun if it offers a scripted, single-player campaign with missions and storylines. This should help you with the mechanics of the gameplay and train you for the multiplayer chaos.

        The last great first-person shooter I played with scripted campaigns was Crysis 2. They had a sci-fi writer create the story. Utterly fantastic experience. Worth checking out and it should be inexpensive.

        map

        March 11, 2017 at 6:15 pm

  2. Lion, you need a woman.

    Maj

    March 11, 2017 at 11:58 am

    • How do you know he hasn’t got one?

      Jokah Macpherson

      March 11, 2017 at 1:40 pm

    • ‘Lion, you need a woman’.

      The purpose is the posterity. Evolutionary 1=0. Lion needs to procreate.

      Yakov

      March 12, 2017 at 10:50 am

      • I don’t really see why the world needs more of my DNA.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 12, 2017 at 11:00 am

      • Wrong question. Are you a globalist or an SJW? I don’t think so.

        1. There is no question to begin with. Procreation should happen on a purely instinctive Darwinian level. This is normal. It needs no justification or rationalization.

        2. When the Messiah comes, we will think in terms of the ‘World’. Until then it’s my country, nation, race, religion first. Because, and don’t you ever forget it, the smaller fish gets eaten. So if we are to rationalize procreation for your particular situation, your religion – Judaism, your nation – the Jews, your country of residence – the USA, the White Race of which you are a member – all put an obligation on you to procreate for their survival and triumph. And procreate mighty. The more, the better.

        In Assyria there was a capital punishment for homosexuality an abortion. Assyria was always at war and needed soldiers and any activity that weakened the population growth was punish most severely. We are at war, Lion. We need maximum number of soldiers. You are shirking your duty. Limiting yourself to blogging is being a a summer soldier and a sunshine patriot.

        Yakov

        March 12, 2017 at 12:28 pm

  3. “As we get older, we get set in our ways and become resistant to change, and learning new things is a type of change. For example, there are so many old people who refuse to learn how to use a smartphone.”

    An alternative way to look at it: older people lose the thrill of novelty. I don’t carry a smartphone because I see no reason to lug around a 6-8 oz. fragile device costing hundreds of dollars which needs daily recharge when my $15 dollar 2.5 oz device with 2 week battery life does more than I need.

    20 years ago, the cool factor of all those largely useless features would have been enough to compel me to get to get one.

    Prole

    March 11, 2017 at 12:46 pm

    • The iPhone SE has a 10 day standby and 12 hour talk time. That’s as good as a cheap flip phone. And it weighs only 3.99 ounces. A cheap flip phone like the LG Revere 3 weighs 3.46 oz. You are getting so much for an extra half an ounce.

      But otherwise, I agree that old people lose their thrill of novelty. Although I’d rather call it a sense of wonder that’s missing.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 11, 2017 at 2:17 pm

      • I always thought flip phones were too big and clunky. My phone weighs 2.68 oz. Battery lasts two weeks with regular use. It used to last much longer, the battery is now 7 years old. 3.99 oz is 1/3 bigger. I cannot tell it’s in my pocket.

        I do have a basic Android phone that I use a wifi device when on business travel. When they get a good small data phone, I get one as my sole device.

        Prole

        March 11, 2017 at 11:07 pm

  4. I hated the original Doom. I don’t know if Doom was the first FPS, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t, but it was the first one that I saw. At the time it looked cool but I by the time I had a console that could play it I had already realized how stupid FPS’s were.

    I agree there are no fresh concepts in gaming and haven’t been in forever.

    Otis the Sweaty

    March 11, 2017 at 12:52 pm

    • My brother and I loved Doom, and would play it together for hours, downloading amateur maps, trying to make our own maps, just laughing and having a hell of a time.

      Gozo

      March 11, 2017 at 4:57 pm

  5. I don’t play video games, but I can kind of follow along with Lion’s review, because it really doesn’t seem they have changed much since the early 1990s when I was in college. So hard9bf’s comment seems to me to be correct.

    I like turn based strategy games but there are very few of them.

    Ed

    March 11, 2017 at 1:23 pm

    • Civ IV is still a great game even though it’s more than 10 years old.

      There’s a new space turn-based strategy game called Stellaris. Now that I have a new video card, I could try that out.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 11, 2017 at 2:19 pm

      • CIV VI is out.

        Checkout out Gamespot for the latest stuff.

        map

        March 11, 2017 at 6:18 pm

  6. Have you tried Millipede? It’s available on smartphones now, via the Atari app.

    David Pinsen

    March 11, 2017 at 4:21 pm

  7. The burning question is what does NeoGAF think about all this Overwatch stuff. Is Trump going to continue the Overwatch program? How can liberals support Overwatch knowing that it’s now being effectively given the thumbs up by racists and homophobes?

    Panther of the Blogocube

    March 12, 2017 at 8:43 am

  8. Jumping into Overwatch without having played Doom should be treated like attempting to play jazz without knowing blues and folk tunes. Even video games have conventions and traditions that matter. Respectable and mature adults should understand this. 🙂

    It’s funny though, that objectively bad games like Goldeneye (and the film, for that matter) for the N64 were enjoyed so much just because they were a huge part of the culture of the time. No one knew any better. I think a lot of people who believe games haven’t progressed need to look back without the nostalgia and notice that there has been genuine progress. Now that you can think like a game designer, you can in fact see how things are different.

    You probably like video games just because they’re shockingly free of politics for these days. Not even children’s cartoons are guaranteed escapism anymore.

    scald85

    March 12, 2017 at 10:32 am

    • “You probably like video games just because they’re shockingly free of politics for these days.”

      Actually, the heroes in Overwatch are very diverse with respect to race, gender, and sexual orientation. A 1980s videogame would never have been like that.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      March 12, 2017 at 10:59 am

      • Taking a look at 80s cartoons like Captain Planet, I would think that they would have if they had anywhere near the level of technology we do now. My question is, does the intentional diversity in Overwatch feel any less forced than in Captain Planet? Has two decades of practice made our culture any better at representing this fallacious idea that diversity is the best thing ever for harmony, or is it still as cheesy and ham fisted as it came across in the 80s?

        Panther of the Blogocube

        March 12, 2017 at 4:41 pm

      • I’d go with cheesy and ham fisted.

        On the other hand, it’s supposed to be an international game, with various maps in different places around the world.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 12, 2017 at 4:53 pm

  9. It used to be that with age people would acquire wisdom. Today, with smart phones, video games and other distractions many remain immature till the grave. As you age and your body slows down, your mind assumes a more dominant position. You become wise. Let’s say you are having a fight with another tribe, what’s better to field 20 young fighters or 18 young fighters and 2 old but seasoned ones? The answer is pretty obvious. Recently, and I mean literally in the last two months, I lost interest in any but religious books. Here I have Orwell’s essays, which are excellent, sitting on my night table, but I can force myself to read them. This, mates, is old age. Because no matter how great the essays are, they won’t help me very much in getting ready to meet my Maker and getting ready for that is becoming more important as time is slipping away. Same goes for exercise. Just last Sunday I’d walked 20km. Just last Sunday I had ambitious training plans for competitive race walking and kettlebell lifting after my retirement. But what a difference a week makes when you’re getting old! Today I think it’s a crazy waste of time and energy. 7-10km (4-6 miles) a day is optimal. 30-40 min with kettlebells is enough and never do I need to go above 16kg (35lb). It makes sense to be in a maintenance mode not in competitive mode for the rest of my life. This is old age, mates. There is no question about it. This is wisdom.

    Yakov

    March 12, 2017 at 11:14 am

    • “Let’s say you are having a fight with another tribe, what’s better to field 20 young fighters or 18 young fighters and 2 old but seasoned ones? The answer is pretty obvious.”

      The young ones, of course, weakest links in the chain being what they are. I think your real message is that you considered the question’s answer to be obvious, and yet kept it unanswered. Wisdom, indeed.

      scald85

      March 12, 2017 at 1:07 pm

      • Yakov’s point is that the the young fighters need leaders with wisdom, so substituting out two young fighters for some older more seasoned but less capable at actual physical brawling leads to a higher likelihood of victory.

        This is like how, in a World of Warcraft raid, you can’t have only damage dealer jobs, you also need a few support jobs.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        March 12, 2017 at 1:18 pm

  10. Lion, let me try one more argument if its age or something. You just said in this thread that Overwatch is the first FPS you ever played. I remember before games that you liked before is Civilization.

    Overwatch and the genre in general is probably just not your thing. Maybe if you were born later and be 20 year old right now that might have played longer. Maybe you would have enjoyed it more because then you can enjoy more connections with peers. But my guess 20 year old you would have stopped playing without a lot of attachment or develop any nostaligia later on for the game.

    My guess is to look for games with more tactics and strategy over mechanical mastery (commonly reduced to “quick-reflexes” but that leaves out that such plays are fast but also playing with strategy in their own way). There Civ V and Civ VI now and they have their twenty-something fandom. Or the Total War games. I believe you played this already, but what about Hearthstone? Similarly young and popular, but without having to play in a way you don’t enjoy that you think it’s your age but really you’re not a FPS type of guy.

    Interestingly, this makes me think about Starcraft 2. On paper of being an RTS, it sounds like a game you would might like, but like Overwatch, you have to get to a mastering the fast clicking to ever get to the tactics – and they designed to be extremely competitive. So you’ll feel old even faster despite the type of gameplay might be up your alley. Ironically, their unintentional design with Starcraft 1 with ladders and rankings being very optional, allowed mediocre and bad players to enjoy playing without feeling pressure or awareness of their skill level. No amount of fair matchmaking fixes that.

    Dreamer

    March 12, 2017 at 2:51 pm


Comments are closed.

