Lion of the Blogosphere

Middle-aged man plays Overwatch: update

with 19 comments

Playing Zenyatta, a hero who’s a healer but who can also debuff enemies and dish out some damage. At the expense of low mobility. Zenyatta is a harder hero to play than Lucio because you have to aim your healing, while at the same time you are less evasive and that much easier for enemies to pick off. Plus being a good damage dealer requires good aim, which I don’t have.

Based on my stats in this competitive match, I held my own and did pretty good, but my competitive skill rank is between 1000 and 1100, which I think means that I’m in the bottom 10% of players, maybe worse, so my good performance here was relative to the players on the other team being pretty bad.

Whenever I rise above 1100, I fall back down after a few games. I am stuck at my level of incompetence.

I think this means that middle-aged men aren’t any good at playing videogames. I am sure that if I were in my teens, after putting so much time into this game, I’d be at a higher competitive skill rank.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

April 2, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Posted in Nerdy stuff

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Waiting for “middle-aged man goes to dinner with single woman: update.”

    Curle

    April 2, 2017 at 3:23 pm

  2. I think this means that middle-aged men aren’t any good at playing videogames.

    A good discussion might be what are middle-aged men good at?

    While they were always good, I have better judgement, patience, empathy, self awareness, investing knowledge, workplace political skills, and handyman skills than I did in my 20s and 30s. On the other hand, I’ve lost over 50 lbs on my bench press and 3 minutes on my 5K.

    According to Wikipedia, the US Census defines middle-aged as the ages from 45 to 65.

    E. Rekshun

    April 2, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    • “A good discussion might be what are middle-aged men good at?”

      Commercial airline pilot.

      Anything where lots of experience helps. But this assumes you used to be a young man in the same field. It would be hard to pick up something completely new at age 45 or later and become really good.

      James Shearer

      April 3, 2017 at 1:52 am

  3. I think this means that middle-aged men aren’t any good at playing videogames.

    Middle-aged men aren’t any good a computer programming, at least that’s what US tech companies believe. And that’s one reason why a career in computer programming sucks.

    E. Rekshun

    April 2, 2017 at 4:18 pm

    • Let’s be honest, middle-aged men aren’t as good at it as younger men, and yet the younger men have lower expectations with respect to salary and their place in the hierarchy.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 2, 2017 at 5:26 pm

      • I’m in my mid 30’s and have made Master rank, the highest level, in Blizzard’s Heroes of the Storm twice. Were you ever good at games or spend much time playing them? It could just be you. One caveat; first person shooters are probably the highest fast twitch skill genre possible. I’m a lifelong gamer but was never any good at FPS. Try something else if you are not improving.

        apothecary

        April 2, 2017 at 10:55 pm

      • “I’m in my mid 30’s and have made Master rank, the highest level, in Blizzard’s Heroes of the Storm twice”

        Wow, you must be really fast at pointing and clicking the mouse.

  4. The tank game probably is good for middle-aged guys; it rewards patience and stealth rather than reflexes. At least that was the case when I played it years ago.

    Gozo

    April 2, 2017 at 4:58 pm

    • What tank game?

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 2, 2017 at 5:27 pm

      • World of Tanks. It was a fun game when I played it a few years ago, but I can’t vouch for what it’s like now.

        Gozo

        April 2, 2017 at 6:59 pm

      • Is World of Tanks a pay-to-win game?

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        April 2, 2017 at 8:55 pm

      • I didn’t think WoT was “pay-to-win” when I played it, three years ago, but of course poor players claimed it was and maybe it is, now.

        Gozo

        April 2, 2017 at 9:06 pm

  5. My last video game was PacMan in 1980. On the other hand, I haven’t played in 40 years, but I bet I could beat any Millennial at a game of pin ball.

    E. Rekshun

    April 2, 2017 at 5:46 pm

  6. This here shows some data about skill distrubtion:
    https://masteroverwatch.com/leaderboards/pc/us

    I’m not sure how reliable it actually is though. If you look at the count the numbers definitely don’t add up. If it’s not a random sample the data is kind of crappy, as I would assume people at a higher rank like myself would be more likely to add themselves to the pool as we are typically more curious about how we compare.

    Also what kind of mouse are you using Lion?

    Yup

    April 2, 2017 at 7:17 pm

    • I don’t believe I’m so bad that I’m in the bottom 1%. (Not that I should be ashamed if I was, but given that any schmuck with $40 and a graphics card can play the game, surely more than 1% are worse than me?)

      I’m using a Logitech wireless “gaming” mouse. It has extra buttons, so I set the “L-Shift” and “E” abilities to the mouse buttons.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 2, 2017 at 8:56 pm

      • I’m worse then you, but I will never touch the game. If you are so bad, you may have a disability. Or maybe you are too smart for this game? Maybe you can’t focus on this nonsense because your mind keeps wondering?

        Yakov

        April 3, 2017 at 2:43 pm

  7. Reminds me of chess and scrabble. Easy to learn but hard to get really good

    grey enlightenment

    April 2, 2017 at 7:50 pm


Leave a Reply

