Lion of the Blogosphere

Bill O’Reilly

I never understood the appeal. He’s an obnoxious interviewer. He doesn’t actually interview anyone, he just lectures his guests and doesn’t let them say anything. Why even bother to have guests? He could just do a monologue.

Some on the right may be inclined to think that there’s nothing to the charges against him. Since he’s on the right and not a liberal, he must be a good guy, and good guys don’t bad stuff. Sorry, that’s not the way the world works. There’s way too much smoke going on here for there not to be any fire. It looks like Bill O’Reilly is just a really obnoxious individual. He knew the way to properly behave in a white-collar work environment, but he used his status as the biggest star at Fox to do whatever the hell he wanted. If some regular schmuck working in a cubicle did that stuff, he would have been fired the first time anyone reported a problem.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

April 22, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Posted in News

90 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Say what you will about him, but Bill O’Reilly was strongly anti-immigration during the Bush years (or at least just against the illegal kind), and he guided my opinion on the subject. Learning about HBD just entrenched my view on immigration. Heck, my being anti-immigration helped me get into HBD.

    Sure, Bill O’Reilly was obnoxious and I have no doubt he was bad to women, but I still a debt to him, for all his faults.

    Sid

    April 22, 2017 at 6:14 pm

    • “…my being anti-immigration helped me get into HBD.”

      Your anti-immigrant feelings pushed you into something science-informed. That’s exactly the trajectory you DON’T want to broadcast.

      Dain

      April 23, 2017 at 12:50 pm

      • Lol. With me it was exactly the opposite. I’d read about HBD first and became a racist later.

        Yakov

        April 23, 2017 at 7:27 pm

      • To be fair, I was a complete “cuckservative” on virtually every other topic before learning about HBD. In fact, my reasons for opposing illegal immigration were fairly cuckish. I thought it was a national security issue, allowed hoards of drugs to pour into the country, and that taking in too many Hispanics all at once would keep them from integrating into America’s linguistic, cultural, and political life. Of course, I made sure to get across each and every time I opposed illegal immigration that I supported LEGAL immigration, and just wanted it done in a controlled, orderly manner.

        Back then, I thought interracial dating and marriage was nothing but a good thing (I now have no issue with couples of different races marrying if they genuinely love each other, but I still hope my phenotype will make it to the 23rd century), that Iraq would develop into a high functioning democracy (boy do I regret believing that now), and that black poverty and crime was a product of the Great Society (no comment).

        Sid

        April 23, 2017 at 9:05 pm

      • Black crime was much much lower before the 1960s.

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        April 23, 2017 at 10:27 pm

      • Sid,

        To be fair, I was a complete “cuckservative” on virtually every other topic before learning about HBD. In fact, my reasons for opposing illegal immigration were fairly cuckish. I thought it was a national security issue, allowed hoards of drugs to pour into the country, and that taking in too many Hispanics all at once would keep them from integrating into America’s linguistic, cultural, and political life.

        Those are all still legitimate reasons to illegal immigration, and the point about assimilation is a reason to oppose mass legal immigration too. Granted, HBD suggests that most 3rd world immigrants won’t assimilate in an upwardly mobile manner even if immigration is strictly limited from here, but that’s a separate point.

        Back then, I thought interracial dating and marriage was nothing but a good thing (I now have no issue with couples of different races marrying if they genuinely love each other, but I still hope my phenotype will make it to the 23rd century)

        I think most Americans share your view about not having an issue with people from different races loving each other and getting married. The political valence of the issue has changed over the decades, as demographics have shifted, and as the Democratic/media focus on race went from fighting institutionalized segregation to sticking it to white men as a way to rally Sailer’s “coalition of the fringes”. That’s the context media types willfully ignore when they clutch pearls over the reaction to, say, that Cheerios ad. In the 1980s, I don’t think anyone would have cared about that ad.

        White Americans are pretty much the least racist people on the planet, but if you keep telling people you want to see them die out, it can generate a negative reaction.

        that Iraq would develop into a high functioning democracy (boy do I regret believing that now)

        Trillions of dollars and thousands of American lives could have been saved if someone with W.’s ear had read Sailer’s Cousin Marriage Conundrum column.

        and that black poverty and crime was a product of the Great Society (no comment).

        That’s still partly true. Parts of Great Society plus mass immigration did a lot of damage to black America.

        Dave Pinsen

        April 24, 2017 at 2:18 am

      • “Black crime was much much lower before the 1960s.”

        That’s true, but if you had asked me 12 years ago, I would’ve said that black crime rates are higher than white ones almost solely because of the social changes of the 1960s. I don’t believe that today, though I do think crime rates can and have fallen with the right social mores and guidance in place.

        I think that’s one reason why so many people resist believing in HBD no matter how much evidence and reasoning is presented to them. If you accept it, HBD limits how far your solutions can go, and it reveals that various social problems are here to stay. If you’ve grown up thinking that x number of dollars or y number of cultural changes will solve any number of problems, it’s disappointing to recognize you’re just being naive.

        I remember many years ago being in a discussion about inherent intelligence. I said that IQ is roughly 80% heritable, but the person I was talking too said he didn’t like believing in that, because he wanted to believe he could always get smarter. His belief was in error, of course, but it made me recognize how far away I’d gone from my social peers.

        Sid

        April 24, 2017 at 3:40 am

      • ‘I think most Americans share your view about not having an issue with people from different races loving each other and getting married.’

        They may, but it’s a very bad idea. There is no benefit for the white race to mingle with other races. Bad, bad idea. You had better teach your children that it’s a very bad idea. White people need to fight together for their survival.

        Yakov

        April 24, 2017 at 9:12 am

      • “White Americans are pretty much the least racist people on the planet, but if you keep telling people you want to see them die out, it can generate a negative reaction.”

        I agree. I don’t think anything has made race relations worse in this decade than when the leftstream media started gloating about demographic changes and the end of white America.

        Race relations don’t have to be a zero sum game, but when they are, you will go with your own team.

        “They may, but it’s a very bad idea. There is no benefit for the white race to mingle with other races. Bad, bad idea. You had better teach your children that it’s a very bad idea. White people need to fight together for their survival.”

        I hear you, but I still think someone should marry the person he best loves and wants to build a life with. If the best person is of a different race, then that shouldn’t be an issue in my opinion.

        Let’s focus on getting immigration down and white birth rates up, and then it won’t be anyone’s problem if a certain number of white people think the best people for them to marry are black, Asian, etc.

        Sid

        April 24, 2017 at 2:28 pm

      • Sex is primarily for procreation. The best person to marry is the one that is likely to produce an offspring that will advance the cause of your family, tribe, nation, race. Anything else is treason. All you have to do is to look at Jeb or Obama.

        Yakov

        April 24, 2017 at 5:46 pm

      • I guess you didn’t marry for love Yakov? What a sad life you must lead. Just a horse to be worked until he collapses of his own weight and gets shipped off to the glue factory. But hey, at least you are fearful of God. I suppose that’s what keeps you going from day to day.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 26, 2017 at 2:52 pm

      • Lapdog, I’d said the MAIN reason, not the only reason. Also, what I say today is obviously not what I did at 19, when I’d ruined my carefully thought out life plan by getting matted. Lolz.

        Yakov

        April 26, 2017 at 9:14 pm

      • Now you speak wisdom my friend.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 27, 2017 at 5:28 pm

  2. Or if he was President. Oh wait.

    Curle

    April 22, 2017 at 6:20 pm

  3. Poster on NeoGaf nails it with why pursuing violence is a huge tactical mistake for the Left:

    “And if people radicalize, then they’re going to get stopped with violent force. Do you really believe this majority white racist nation wouldn’t immediately break out the guns and clamp down on protest the second they felt like rioting and other violence became widespread?

    Or on a lesser scale, that it wouldn’t immediately cause the “moderates” that end up deciding shit in this country to turn against the left? Because on average, this country has shifted to the right wing to an extremely heavy degree.

    Radicalizing does nothing but put a death sentence on the American left.”

    Now to O’Reilly: I’ve never liked him and I think his culture wars brand of conservatism is obsolete, but we can’t lie that this really is a pretty impressive scalp for the Left. They use a corporate boycott to target and get rid of the show of the most popular right wing talk show host in the country.

    Does this actually hurt us going forward? Probably not, but it is a tactical victory for the Left, that is just a fact.

    Otis the Sweaty

    April 22, 2017 at 6:34 pm

  4. I basically agree with you on the appeal of O’Reilly. When I finally got a subscription TV service, never having had one before, and finally had the chance to watch Fox News, I didn’t understand what the big deal was. His show was boring and he never had any real insights. Plus, he’s not even really a conservative, just a general blowhard. Of course, he’s considered a conservative, since 1) Liberals see anyone who’s not totally 100% on board with liberal orthodoxy as conservative, and 2) since liberals set the terms of mainstream discourse, conservatives take their word that he’s conservative (and also tend to rush to the defense of anyone whom liberals attack as a right-wing extremist.)

    Hermes

    April 22, 2017 at 6:51 pm

    • Great comment. Wouldn’t be surprised at all if O’Reilly had voted Democrat more times than not. He’s just implicitly conservatives because he’s a boasting white male who may not believe every single insanity of liberal orthodoxy.

      I have no tears for the end of O’Reilly. Plus, the alt-right gets the last laugh because Tucker Carlson takes his place.

      Time for Conservatives (cucks) TO GO! They *never* had the balls or even the desire to really beat back the Left.

      Can’t stand the “old guard” respectable-conservative Neocons of Prager, Medved, Hewitt, etc. Pushovers, shills, and sell-outs, ALL.

      fakeemail

      April 23, 2017 at 2:02 am

      • Hewitt and Medved are both cucks. Prager has, surprisingly enough, not been too bad since Trump took office, a real turnaround. I remember hearing his show about 15 years when he had Michelle Malkin on as a guest. At one point, she became so exasperated during the interview that she asked him something like, “Mr. Prager, do you believe we should even have a southern border?” He’s become much better since then.

        Sgt. Joe Friday

        April 23, 2017 at 2:04 pm

  5. Would gothamette believe me if I said O’Reilly was the victim of sexual harassment from hot infotainment blondes in miniskirts?

    The Undiscovered Jew

    April 22, 2017 at 6:59 pm

    • I do believe that these lawsuits are a scam. Mike Pence’s tactic of not allowing himself alone with a woman after work hours makes a lot of sense, yet this is called sexist and oppressive too. If I were an uber successful celebrity/professional today I would go even further, I wouldn’t even allow myself to be alone with a woman in a room during work hours, otherwise one is an easy target.

      The easier solution would be to fire most of the women, leaving those remaining assigned to the word-processing pool.

      Daniel

      April 23, 2017 at 2:45 pm

  6. High-T alpha males don’t need no stinkin’ rules. Especially if they’re Christians.

    GondwanaMan

    April 22, 2017 at 7:22 pm

  7. Agreed Lion. Never liked him, won’t miss him.

    Andrew E.

    April 22, 2017 at 7:23 pm

  8. I’ve seen articles claiming James Murdoch fired O’reilly to help his SKYNews takeover bid. I don’t really see how it fits in myself. But O’reilly makes so much money for FOX that I can’t see them firing him because he said inappropriate things to a few broads. They’d just pay them off and keep going. That’s why I think James is replacing Ailes and O’reilly because he wants to and not because he had to. This signals big changes in the networks direction. That it’s happening at the same time as the SKYNews thing seems more than coincidental.

    This is an interesting article saying what a little lefty toad James is. It says he fired Ailes and O’reilly because he’s a wuss and has plans to merge FOX and SKYNews into a globalist brand.
    http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/michael-wolff-james-murdochs-fox-news-995800

    destructure

    April 22, 2017 at 7:25 pm

    • Two words: Tucker Carlson.

      IHTG

      April 23, 2017 at 4:50 am

  9. I never liked O’Reilly. He seems like a huge a-hole and I don’t doubt that the allegations are true. I must admit that I got a laugh out of him calling an attractive black intern “hot chocolate”.

    B.T.D.T.

    April 22, 2017 at 7:26 pm

  10. Hear, hear, or is it, here, here?

    I totally agree with you. fantastic post. Now, if Bill O’Reilly had been having a discreet, mature, consensual, relationship on the side, no harm done, I would be 100% totally in his corner. But this is a totally different thing. He thought that having a harem was a perk of the job.

    Plus, he’s a bore, a jerk, and a blowhard.

    gothamette

    April 22, 2017 at 7:28 pm

    • Women should be grateful for the crumbs men toss them. Without men you insignificant skanks would be getting your clitorisis removed by your Muslim overlords.

      Of course that kind of degradation and torture probably appeals to the degenerate female mind. Don’t worry. The muzzies are coming. Even trump can’t stop them, only slow them down, so you’ll have your chance.

      But hey it’s a travesty O’reilly got his dick wet and said some locker room things about some broads who probably sucked more dicks in their college years than you have lollipops in your entire life. Anytime a white male gets laid, it takes away a rapefugee victim. Rapefugees should be the only ones fucking hot western women. Ever. It’s for Allah.

      Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

      April 26, 2017 at 2:59 pm

  11. Oh … But his anger was so satisfying to angry boomers, so he could be forgiven anything and he knew it!
    Don’t be surprised if he resurrects again if his contract doesn’t forbid it. His audience is loyal.

    Newyorker

    April 22, 2017 at 7:44 pm

    • I’m a boomer and I like Hannity and Tucker Carlson better than O’Reilly.

      Rosenmops

      April 23, 2017 at 1:41 pm

  12. What do you think of the claims made by his daughter that he choked his ex-wife and dragged her down the stairs by her neck?

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/05/20/story_n_7346160.html

    Tom

    April 22, 2017 at 8:10 pm

    • All testimony under oath in a contested divorce, every word, every syllable, is 100% true, always.

      (BTW, I wrote the above before clicking on the PuffedHo article because that’s the kinda genius what I is. Or… Oh, wait, maybe this divorce garbage is so predictable that I didn’t need to.)

      hard9bf

      April 23, 2017 at 11:39 am

    • She probably deserved it.

      Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

      April 26, 2017 at 3:00 pm

  13. Very unfortunate news and maybe not too surprising–I recall reading that O’Reilly is temperamental and given his status he may indeed have felt above the law. All the same Lion, I think your antipathy towards him is probably in part rooted in your Jewish background and in your New York upbringing.

    Roli

    April 22, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    • Not true. I used to watch Rush Limbaugh.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 23, 2017 at 1:09 am

      • Rush Limbaugh is one of Sacramento’s – where I grew up – few claims to fame. Others include the bands !!!, Tesla and Cake.

        Dain

        April 23, 2017 at 1:14 pm

    • This is fucking stupid. The alt right has some good points re Jews but they are becoming obsessed to the point where they are losing site of the traitors in their own ranks. The Jews are 90% liberal saboteurs, yes. So what, are we going to blame the blacks for Nafta now because they vote for democrats? The agency problem is more complicated than a simple ethnic groups proclivities. Quite frankly your globalist puppet masters revel at such infighting.

      Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

      April 26, 2017 at 3:03 pm

  14. Stealth approves this entry. I agree.

    Stealth

    April 22, 2017 at 9:35 pm

  15. Standards for behavior in the workplace have changed a lot. I remember talking with an attractive young woman that worked at the first company I worked for many years ago. She complained about the group manager, who was in his 50s and also on the school board, always putting his hand on her kneel or shoulder when talking with her. She was afraid to complain about it, but she definitely did not like it. After she told me this, I saw the manger talking to her once with his hand on her knee. She was wearing an above the knee dress. This was probably 10 years before sexual harassment in the work became an issue. My guess was that the manager just assumed he was entitled to behave like that. I think it was pretty standard behavior by some men until the 1980s.

    My feeling is Bill O’Reilly viewed workplace sexual harassment rules as part of some left wing, feminist agenda to emasculate men and refused to pay any attention to them. Bill O’Reilly did not realize how uncomfortable this kind of behavior makes women feel.

    Bill O’Reilly was the pioneer of the melodramatic white male victim-preening performance art that Trump harnessed for his campaign. Trump owes a huge debt to Bill O’Reilly. Will he reward him by replacing Sean Spicer with Bil O’Reilly?

    mikeca

    April 22, 2017 at 9:45 pm

    • I don’t think O’Reilly would ever take that sort of bitch-boy job.

      Vince

      April 23, 2017 at 2:02 am

    • “Standards for behavior in the workplace have changed a lot.”

      As someone who started out in advertising at the very end of the Mad Men era, I can say that this is true, but in terms of sexual harassment, exaggerated. If you made it clear you weren’t interested, you got left alone, for the most part. The entire picture of the poor little girl being chased around the desk against her will is a fraud. Everyone knew who the leches were, and they were in general laughed at.

      OTOH, if you were a Don Draper who looked like Brad Pitt, you cleaned up. Isn’t that always the way?

      Mostly I remember smoking in the workplace (totally legal) and the basic idea that the male Boss was God Himself. I guess that’s changed….maybe.

      Lion, there is now a Netflix show called “Girl Boss” which I expect you will report on.

      “The differences I remember talking with an attractive young woman that worked at the first company I worked for many years ago. She complained about the group manager, who was in his 50s and also on the school board, always putting his hand on her kneel or shoulder when talking with her.”

      Yeah, that happened. She could have moved his hand off her knee or shoulder and given him a “look” and he would have stopped.

      gothamette

      April 23, 2017 at 11:09 am

      • Is “Girl Boss” as good as Silicon Valley?

        Lion of the Blogosphere

        April 23, 2017 at 6:59 pm

      • I don’t know, I haven’t seen either & I want to know if it’s worth my taking them out of the library.

        gothamette

        April 24, 2017 at 6:51 pm

      • Yeah, that happened. She could have moved his hand off her knee or shoulder and given him a “look” and he would have stopped.

        Eh, she might’ve been socially-awkward and “froze.”

        snorlaxwp

        April 24, 2017 at 2:33 am

      • This comment from Gothamette is fair and balanced. The truth is if someone feels uncomfortable it’s their own damn job to let someone else know. You don’t call in mommy and daddy to resolve every minor dispute.

        Also bear in mind the person feeling uncomfortable holds the other persons future in their hands given how the law works.

        Too much responsibility has been put on aggressors and not enough on victims. A victim is often a victim because they choose to be one. It’s a learned state of helplessness and we shouldn’t be encouraging these weak sad sacks of shit.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 26, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    • “My feeling is Bill O’Reilly viewed workplace sexual harassment rules as part of some left wing, feminist agenda to emasculate men and refused to pay any attention to them. Bill O’Reilly did not realize how uncomfortable this kind of behavior makes women feel. “

      That’s just more of your leftwing crap. I despise the leftwing, feminist agenda and would never have put my hand on the knee of a woman I wasn’t dating or involved with.

      destructure

      April 23, 2017 at 11:16 am

      • “That’s just more of your leftwing crap. I despise the leftwing, feminist agenda and would never have put my hand on the knee of a woman I wasn’t dating or involved with.”

        That is because you had a good up bringing and were taught to treat women with respect. If you talked with women about this issue 30 years ago you would realized that most men were like you, but not all.

        From the stories that women have told, Roger Ailes was far worse than Bill O’Reilly, still it sounds like Fox News has some issues with sexual harassment.

        mikeca

        April 23, 2017 at 11:27 pm

      • Do you think Megan Kelly sucked Rogers dick for a promotion?

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 26, 2017 at 3:08 pm

  16. I haven’t watched him in at least 10 years but back then he always gave his guest about 30 seconds at the end of their segment to say whatever they wanted without interruption. I think that is what brought people on to the show.

    CamelCaseRob

    April 22, 2017 at 10:16 pm

  17. What happened? I wasn’t following the story, what’s the skinny? The women in these jobs are mostly sluts, can they be trusted in sexual harassment matters? Megan Kelly had appeared on Howard Stern show. She dresses slutty for national TV and I wouldn’t trust her claims of sexual harassment too much.

    Yakov

    April 22, 2017 at 10:23 pm

    • I’ve seen nothing to justify your insult of her or the others.

      destructure

      April 23, 2017 at 11:24 am

      • These feelings are shared by many viewers. I’ve provided the clip. Appearing on Howard Stern show and talking about your breasts and your husband’s penies is slutty. You don’t think so?

        Yakov

        April 23, 2017 at 7:15 pm

      • That feeling was shared by many viewers who were angry with her for going after Trump. I should know because I was one of them at the time. But people who are angry about her treatment of Trump are hardly the most objective. I just watched it again and it wasn’t that bad. Stern was bringing it up. Not her. If anything, she was downplaying it a little.

        destructure

        April 25, 2017 at 5:13 am

  18. “Sorry, that’s not the way the world works.”

    I don’t get why you need to condescend to your readership like this – everyone here is aware that you can be a conservative hero and still be an irresponsible pussyhound. I actually liked Michael Savage’s take: if these chicks are going make a career out of oiling their legs up on camera, then why shouldn’t sex be part of the hiring process? If they want real work they can go into nursing. Which reminds me – around 1990 a lawyer in California, I think from the Santa Barbara area, ran an ad for a secretary in the state bar journal. He said one of the job requirements would be to provide various “comforts” on request. Caused a sensation, he seemed to be serious.

    O’Reilly was disliked by serious conservatives because he wouldn’t let go of the shopworn ’60’s ideal that black people liked him because he was so decdnt, or understood them, or something. he just wouldn’t recognize that blacks are out for supremacy, not political equality. But he was great when he was grilling some idiot judge who’d sentenced some murderer to probation.

    Explainer 21

    April 22, 2017 at 10:28 pm

    • How is it condescending to say, “that’s not the way the world works”?

      I’m genuinely confused. It’s an honest declaration. When Lion is being condescending, I can tell. Not here.

      gothamette

      April 23, 2017 at 11:10 am

  19. Bill O’Reilly was the king of outrage porn.

    I remember one episode of the Factor a long time ago. Britney Spears had just come out with a music video. As soon as it was time for the first commercial break: “is Britney’s video too sexy?” Combined with a clip of Britney jiggling. Then the show comes back, talks about something else. Time to go to commercials again: Britney writhes again, bill says “is she too sexy, did she go to far… after the break.” But, when the show came back again, something else. Bill hyped the same promo every break, ran the “story” at the end of the show which was just the same clip in the promo plus “is she too sexy, you decide.”

    He was really good at pointing out things that would outrage his audience and running them, and he was either quite cynical or a hypocrite because he had no problem airing out even teasing the things he was outraged about.

    Basically, he posed as an outraged moral crusader, and used it as an excuse to run probably 2 minutes combined of Britney pole dancing.

    He knew his audience, and feigned outrage with the audience. That was his appeal.

    I’m not sure peddling outrage but never doing anything about it counts as conserving anything.

    Rotten

    April 22, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    • “Bill O’Reilly was the king of outrage porn.”

      Right, which if engaged in often and loudly enough, to no avail, becomes cuckservatism.

      It really got tiring, all this ineffectual wailing and gnashing of teeth, and meanwhile, WWG and WWT smashed on, destroying all in its path.

      gothamette

      April 23, 2017 at 11:11 am

  20. >>> never understood the appeal

    He had good writers and he developed a good delivery and stuck it to The Man, the Liberal Man. Who would have thought that was all that was needed to make a superstar? Well, Roger Ailes.

    Daniel

    April 22, 2017 at 10:55 pm

  21. I never liked O’Reilly either. Smirking, smug, loud-mouth who is in love with himself. And obviously did quite well for himself and was no dummy. His didactic talkings Points memo I found patronizing. . .before I realized most people are simpler than me with a lower IQ who need things in bite sizes. So he had a place just as Hannity has a place as an affable GOP cheerleader.

    I’m skeptical of the charges against him. All the charges that I’m aware of are for “sexual harrassment” ie FLIRTING; and not some sort of assault. And who’s to say these women didn’t court such flirting from a powerful alpha like O’Reilly? Why should a man, any man, have his career ended for flirting with a woman at work? Just another anti-male law

    fakeemail

    April 22, 2017 at 11:20 pm

  22. For once, I agree with you wholeheartedly. That dude is such a tool.

    Anyway, Fox is a cuckservative outlet. And who watches TV nowadays ? I wonder if TV will even exist in 10 years, it will probably go into oblivion the way radio and books went.

    Nice blog, dude

    April 23, 2017 at 12:12 am

  23. I agree that O’Reilly is pretty boring and obnoxious.

    To play devil’s advocate, though, it doesn’t seem to me like anything he did was bad enough to warrant multi-million dollar settlements, other than maybe the implied quid pro quo stuff.

    And it’s not that uncommon, either. People are celebrating like his firing is a huge victory for women being respected in the workplace but it’s like considering the killing of one cockroach in your kitchen a huge victory for getting your cockroach infestation under control.

    Jokah Macpherson

    April 23, 2017 at 12:34 am

  24. Once again, this seems like a situation that could have been avoided if O’Reilly had even a moderate amount of game awareness. He’s a famous and respected journalist; he should be easily qualifying women to compete for his attention rather than coercing them like a needy guy who has no value of his own to offer other than his influence at the network.

    Jokah Macpherson

    April 23, 2017 at 12:40 am

  25. There’s YouTube clips of him going crazy off camera. He’s an angry angry man.

    JW Bell

    April 23, 2017 at 12:45 am

    • Indeed. That’s reportedly how the show got its title. A friend recounted how, for example, O’Reilly generously paid the travel and accommodations for a pre(?)-wedding bash, but flew off the handle over some insignificant detail, probably because someone was not sufficiently grateful. Such outbursts were what they called “the O’Reilly factor.” Yeah, it’s probably apocryphal.

      Vince

      April 23, 2017 at 2:12 am

    • Have you seen the Chris Berman rant? Hilarious.

      ttgy

      April 23, 2017 at 10:55 pm

  26. I used to watch a lot of Fox News up until 2003, after the Iraq invasion. Stopped watching until the 2016 election cycle just to keep track of Trump.

    I understand that people may think Fox is old hat, compared to the sophisticated right-wing media we have now, but people tend to forget how groundbreaking Fox News was and how much guys like Bill O’Reilly were at the forefront of that. Basically, they destroyed the liberal media. They exposed the Walter Cronkite networks as nothing more than partisan hacks, churning out the same propaganda year after year. We’re spoiled by the media riches we have now and forget those who blazed a path.

    I think it was Whiskey that mentioned long ago that the Murdoch sons are very much lefty twits and they will probably completely undo the Fox network by turning it into CNN. It’s disturbing how much credence to sexual accusations these dolts gave to accusers, to the point of getting rid of Roger Ailes and Bill O’Reilly, two guys largely responsible for dumping a $1.5 billion operating profit into News Corp. The stunning lack of loyalty is very disturbing and it does not bode well for the future.

    That said, I think Tucker Carlson is shaping up to be the best interviewer on TV. He neither lectures nor argues with his guests and he just lets them talk. I’ve seen three lefties interviewed by Carlson’s Socratic Method…and I watched each one of them hang themselves. It was brilliant. These lefties could not answer simple questions about their own political positions or their logical consequences. It was truly astonishing.

    There was one guest on Tucker Carlson’s show. A Mexican advocate of mass immigration, who came here, stole a social security number, married to get citizenship, affirmative actioned her way into a job at Goldman Sachs, later became a VP, and could not answer Carlson’s question over whether or not Americans have a say in the immigration issue. Really astonishing and worth watching.

    Sean Hannity was a tireless promoter of Trump throughout the campaign.

    map

    April 23, 2017 at 2:43 am

  27. I love Bill O’Reilly. I hope he’ll start whis own media by internet. He’s rich and that doesn’t cost as much.

    He could create something in between Washington times and Breitbart or Drudge. I’m sure he’ll be able to make again the 15 M he earned at Fox and even more after some years.

    He shouldn’t recruit any girl under the canonical age (40 yo) or ugly ones or extremely religious ones (the one that dresses like amish). Lot’s of conservative men love Bill O’Reilly and conservative women prefers to watch women that are not too shiny.

    Bruno from Paris

    April 23, 2017 at 5:10 am

  28. Tell she ain’t a slut? Incidentally, when asked whom she would chose to ‘F’ at Fox News, she chose O’Reilly.

    Yakov

    April 23, 2017 at 8:14 am

    • I never liked O’Reilly, but he had his good moments. At least on the air he effed her pretty good.

      Yakov

      April 23, 2017 at 8:34 am

      • I’m glad Megyn Kelly left Fox.

        Rosenmops

        April 23, 2017 at 1:57 pm

    • Tell she ain’t a slut?

      She’s a flirt, not a slut.

      And, anyway, she isn’t one of the dozens of women filling harassment lawsuits against O’Reilly.

      The Undiscovered Jew

      April 23, 2017 at 2:43 pm

      • We have different standards.

        Yakov

        April 23, 2017 at 7:18 pm

      • We have different standards.

        Flirting and slutiness is open to interpretation.

        The Undiscovered Jew

        April 23, 2017 at 7:37 pm

  29. OT but I am witnessing a significant Overton shift amongst the the rich in my mid Atlantic suburb. The country club I go to is lily white and made up of mostly country club Republican cuckservatives and some centrist Democrats. Over the last few months I have noticed that they are much more open and honest about their anti-immigrant, anti-Islam and nationalist feelings. There seems to be a growing concencus that Trump’s policies are not only ok but long overdue. It is obvious to me that most of them have always felt this way but now feel socially validated enough to show it.

    B.T.D.T.

    April 23, 2017 at 8:57 am

    • How did they feel about Trump during the primaries and general?

      Otis the Sweaty

      April 23, 2017 at 2:56 pm

      • Only several people, including myself, openly supported him during both the primary and general. All of the Republicans I know, even the Jeb! cucks now think Trump is awesome. It’s truly amazing to see. I know that it’s because deep down they always wanted the destruction of the immigrant community but were too cucked to say it. I guarantee you the same thing will happen five or ten years from now when Trump’s right leaning Supreme Court overturns gay marriage. They won’t give a damn. The cucked have only paid lip service to these issues because it conferred status amongst baby boomers. This is changing due to the right wing Overton shift and resetting back to normal. The real upper class is always and has always been instinctively conservative.

        B.T.D.T.

        April 23, 2017 at 9:26 pm

  30. I was never impressed with Bill. As posters above, more of a blowhard than anything else. I will always particularly despise him for his treatment of former Congressman Ron Paul. In a way, I don’t feel sorry for him.

    Lab Guy

    April 23, 2017 at 10:05 am

    • Ron Paul is a kook.

      Lion of the Blogosphere

      April 23, 2017 at 10:44 am

      • Why is he a kook?

        Daniel

        April 23, 2017 at 2:47 pm

      • That’s a very O’Reilly kind of thing to say.

        bobbybobbob

        April 23, 2017 at 10:39 pm

      • I don’t think non Jews understand just how revolting Ron Paul is to Jews, and I say this as a Jew who likes Buchanan and Brimelow. I also have a ton of respect for Sailer even though I don’t really like him.

        But Ron Paul, I absolutely hate the man.

        Otis the Sweaty

        April 24, 2017 at 12:36 am

      • Otis, your problem is that you take so many of your cues from the Jewish Zeitgeist. Jewish society as a whole is pretty stupid, often in hilarious ways, so that doesn’t work very well. Try thinking for yourself.

        bobbybobbob

        April 24, 2017 at 10:02 pm

      • Otis, why all the hate for RP? Other than he is kind of cuck unlike Buchanon who has and always will be a real man.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 26, 2017 at 3:15 pm

    • Never feel sorry for a man who is worth $100s of millions. Feel sorry for yourself.

      Daniel

      April 23, 2017 at 2:52 pm

  31. If you think Billy O’ is bad, Cuck Tuckerson is worse. At least, Bill isn’t a cuck.

    JS

    April 23, 2017 at 1:36 pm

  32. Limbaugh has always painted O’Reilly as a pompous, self-important, Ted Baxter-like character. Fittingly enough, there’s a connection with another loud-mouthed, cartoon-like character, Gloria Allred. Her daughter, Lisa Bloom, is the attorney representing these women, and I heard her on the radio the other day basically making the point that this isn’t about money. If one listened “between the lines” to what she was saying, Bloom was making the point that this is about driving conservative opinions off the air, and they will use the threat of lawsuits and advertiser boycotts to accomplish this.

    Sgt. Joe Friday

    April 23, 2017 at 2:18 pm

  33. Ann Coulter used to be a lot more obnoxious, more like O’Reilly. She’s mellowed out a lot. I guess it was a winning ratings formula ten years ago. Come to think of it, Tucker was also a lot more obnoxious and is now less trollish and more reasonable on camera.

    bobbybobbob

    April 23, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    • Goes show you how morally degenerate and deranged Americans have become. The right is no more righteous than the left. One group is diagnosed with a superiority complex after being stepped on by the other with bouts of universal delusion.

      JS

      April 24, 2017 at 11:38 am

      • What the fuck are you babbling about?

        Also conservatives tend to be gracious winners so that would partially explain why Coulter has mellowed out. Her guy won.

        She probably also realized how futile it is to try save America, given all the resistance trump has faced at capital hill and is probably now considering how to build a new system.

        Paul Ryan's Sickly Old Lapdog

        April 26, 2017 at 3:17 pm

      • F–ing humans are deranged!

        JS

        April 26, 2017 at 9:22 pm

  34. Search for “bill o’reilly falafel” for top keks.

    Justin Megawarne

    April 27, 2017 at 5:34 am


Comments are closed.

