Lion of the Blogosphere

Eggs also good for making children grow

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/early/2017/06/05/peds.2016-3459?sso=1&sso_redirect_count=2&nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR%3A%20No%20local%20token&nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR%3a+No+local+token

This study was done on poor children in developing countries, but eggs, like milk, are high in fat and protein. If it makes poor kids in developing countries taller, it should also work on kids in the United States.

As with milk, I also suspect that SWPL parents are not giving their kids eggs because they are afraid that the cholesterol is bad for them, or something like that. I’ve never seen my short-for-their-age nephews eat eggs. I was at brunch with them yesterday, and one ate waffles and the other ate a bagel. There isn’t very much protein in foods like that. No wonder why they are short!

* * *

http://erickimphotography.com/blog/2017/05/09/how-i-earn-200000-a-year-from-photography/

Successful blogger Eric Kim (he claims to make $200K per year from his blogging about photography, which sounds pretty successful) likes to eat eggs. "And when I get home in the evening I will cook myself an ‘egg snack’ of 8-10 eggs to satisfy my hunger."

That is such a weird sentence, I never forgot it.

By the way, Eric is a mediocre writer and a mediocre photographer, but obviously he’s an expert at marketing himself on the internet.

Written by Lion of the Blogosphere

June 19, 2017 at EST am

Posted in Uncategorized

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a kid I ate pretty much whatever I wanted, including a couple of large glasses of milk everyday and a couple of eggs every weekend, and had a big family dinner every night, but sometimes I wonder if I ate even more dairy would I have grown taller and filled out. I hit 6-feet and 145 lbs at age 16, never grew any taller and today, 35 years later, I’m only ten pounds heavier.

    8-10 eggs Seems quite excessive.

    Rocky ate, actually drank, raw eggs. I eat egg beaters.

    E. Rekshun

    June 19, 2017 at EST am

    • You’re pretty thin. I’m 5’9, and when I was a kid I weighed about 140. Now I’m 180, and the most ever was 200.

      My dad is hypertensive, and I probably will be too. I’m guessing that’s not going to be a problem for you.

      Also I drank tons of milk as a kid. My parents gave it to us every night until we were teens. It apparently didn’t help me grow beyond average size.

      I think that 8 to 10 eggs in one sitting sounds bad for you. That guy sounds crazy, and he’s probably going to develop health problems.

      Lowe

      June 19, 2017 at EST pm

    • You seem very healthy. You’re thin, especially for your age. Most guys chronically pack the pounds gradually every year after they stop growing and by the time they reach your age are pretty fat and stuck there and struggle to lose weight.

      Tom

      June 19, 2017 at EST pm

  2. Eggs are a health food, but 8-10 eggs is indeed excessive. Eggs in very large quantities cause insomnia among other problems.

    Return of Shawn

    June 19, 2017 at EST am

  3. Eric makes some smart points there about free versus expensive content. That’s essentially the same approach that Rip at Starting Strength uses: lots of free text and video content, and then he charges $1k for weekend seminars and a couple hundred a month for online coaching.

    Dave Pinsen

    June 19, 2017 at EST am

  4. Not a mention of eggs and bacon, eggs and ham, eggs and a potato knish. Poor sap Kim, can’t even make himself a simple meal.

    The guys talks about heaps of money buying him freedom on his blog. What freedom? The air is free, people watching is free and so forth.

    JS

    June 19, 2017 at EST am

  5. “This study was done on poor children in developing countries, but eggs, like milk, are high in fat and protein. If it makes poor kids in developing countries taller, it should also work on kids in the United States.”

    Poor kids in developing countries are probably malnourished. especially when it comes to meat. I doubt it would have the same affect in a developed country where kids get plenty of meat. Unless, of course, it’s the child of a swpl who feeds their kid soy milk and tofu because they care ore about their ideology than their children.

    destructure

    June 19, 2017 at EST pm

    • PS: Stupid liberals.

      destructure

      June 19, 2017 at EST pm

  6. My Dad told me that they took me to a doctor when I was about 7 (and by far the tallest in my class) and the doctor projected, based on my bones or something, that I would grow to be over 6’7″. But I ended up topping out at about 6’2″. Maybe crappy nutrition in my teenaged years had something to do with it (I don’t remember it being particularly crappy, but it was the 80s…)

    Now my son is 7, and also the tallest in his class. The question is: is 6’2″ enough? (I actually find it a good height. Tall enough to have a commanding presence, but you still fit in airplane seats) Or should I push for NBA height for him by trying to optimize his nutrition?

    jimbo

    June 19, 2017 at EST pm

    • Beyond 6’2 men generally start looking too lanky (unless they are very muscular).

      Panther of the Blogocube

      June 19, 2017 at EST pm

    • 6’2″ is plenty.

      MEH 0910

      June 19, 2017 at EST pm

    • @ jimbo

      I imagine it’s more likely that the doctor was just wrong, about your potential height. Unless your father was almost 6’7 of course.

      Lowe

      June 20, 2017 at EST am

  7. What about SWPL eggs? Cage free, organic, farm fresh, bought at a farmer’s market, raised by SWPLs, distributed by SWPLs, certified brown eggs?

    Ronald McDonald

    June 19, 2017 at EST pm


Comments are closed.

